VOGONS

First post, by morrysillusion

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

hello, ive been trying to find some kind of support for this issue as google gives me no results, so i hope this forum will do.
i have an old toshiba portege t3400ct laptop, it works just fine but the issue is that the pointer on the keyboard is broken- its quite roughed up and does no respond at all.

im not an expert by any means so i would like to know if 1) is there a way to fix the pointer? or 2) can a mouse be plugged into any of the ports of this laptop?

here are all the images of this PC to show all possible ports.
https://imgur.com/a/N87MDTL

EDIT 2022: editting this post to state i fixed the keyboard by replacing it entirely and the pointer and all that works fine. there were other issues with the keyboard too so it works fine now.

Last edited by morrysillusion on 2022-05-02, 19:25. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 1 of 11, by aha2940

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

The only option you have to connect an external mouse to that laptop is using the serial port (the 9-pin one) on the back of the laptop. However, there are no optical mice compatible with serial ports, you'd have to get an old ball mouse.

Reply 2 of 11, by MAZter

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

You can connect Serial mouse via serial com port:

Screenshot-1.png

only optional port replicator contain ps/2 and VGA ports: PA2703U

aha2940 wrote on 2020-06-13, 02:48:

However, there are no optical mice compatible with serial ports, you'd have to get an old ball mouse.

Really?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/OPtical-Laser-Serial … in/172255744441

Last edited by MAZter on 2020-06-13, 02:57. Edited 1 time in total.

Doom is what you want (c) MAZter

Reply 3 of 11, by morrysillusion

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
MAZter wrote on 2020-06-13, 02:50:
You can connect Serial mouse via serial com port: […]
Show full quote

Screenshot-1.png