VOGONS


First post, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I have a K6-2 400 AFQ in the GA 586TX.
Searched a few times here but it seems to be impossible to read out the temps of this CPU (Motherboard Monitor hungs up the system trying to click on "sensors" including overheat beeping).
Only Hwinfo for dos runs but also does not show temps

Also I want to know if there is a better heatsink what could fit on that socket.

Here is my current Setup (details in my signature)

Attachments

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 1 of 15, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

1. Remove the lip from the drive cage. If the drive cage doesn't come out of the case then take everything out of the case and then cut that lip off.
2. Move the HDD to a different drive bay.
3. That heatsink is horrible and that little puny fan makes it ever worse. What you want is a thin-fin cooler.... like this one:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Antec-CPU-cooler-wit … ce/202866474876

Yes, it says Socket A and 370 on the front, but the back includes socket 7. I personally use these and like them a lot.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header
Epstein didn't kill himself

Reply 2 of 15, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks for the reply =)
Do you have a picture from your socket?
I have a 90mmx90 Fan what could be used but is it possible for the Heatsink to fit on this socket? I am not sure if the capacitors next to the Socket could touch the Heatsink.

Attachments

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 3 of 15, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
GuillermoXT wrote on 2020-06-30, 14:32:
I have a K6-2 400 AFQ in the GA 586TX. Searched a few times here but it seems to be impossible to read out the temps of this CPU […]
Show full quote

I have a K6-2 400 AFQ in the GA 586TX.
Searched a few times here but it seems to be impossible to read out the temps of this CPU (Motherboard Monitor hungs up the system trying to click on "sensors" including overheat beeping).
Only Hwinfo for dos runs but also does not show temps

Also I want to know if there is a better heatsink what could fit on that socket.

Here is my current Setup (details in my signature)

My guess is your heatsink is either not beefy enough to properly cool your CPU (iirc those particular heatsinks have a relatively this base) or the heatsink is not installed properly (maybe too much TIM etc) or both. Anyway, I'd recommend you get a better CPU HSF especially if overheating seems to be the main issue here.

These boards don't typically have any temp sensors build into..well anything really 😜
So the only way would be to add a temperature sensor of some sorts yourself or to use your fingers and touch the heatsink and feel how hot it gets.

Btw your board is a GA-586TX3 and not a GA-586TX. There was also a GA-586TX2 btw

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 4 of 15, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
GuillermoXT wrote on 2020-06-30, 14:32:

I have a K6-2 400 AFQ

Looking at your pic, have you jumpered your CPU to 2.0v instead of 2.2v?
SW4 to SW7 seems to all be in the OFF position and according to the page on TH99 this would give it 2.0v.
Still wouldn't explain the overheating but this alone could cause instability if this are the settings you are running your rig with.

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 5 of 15, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Voltage shows 2.8v on post....to much?

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 6 of 15, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
GuillermoXT wrote on 2020-06-30, 19:37:

Voltage shows 2.8v on post....to much?

Yep, definitely. The highest voltage ones were 2.4v.

Take the heatsink off and check what the CPU says the voltage should be and then set it to that.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header
Epstein didn't kill himself

Reply 7 of 15, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
GuillermoXT wrote on 2020-06-30, 19:37:

Voltage shows 2.8v on post....to much?

Your CPU is a 2.2v one. You have set it to run at 2.8v? This would increase the probably heat dissipatation by around 60%. Of course it's gonna run very hot then.
This is a case of RTM. Your CPU is this one
You have the manual of your board and decided to set the CPU voltage to 2.8v. I don't get it? 😮

You're lucky that you haven't fried anything yet.
Either set the CPU voltage correctly or replace it with the Pentium class split voltage CPU (judging from the CPU voltage it was set to) that was possibly originally in this system before it got replaced by the K6-2 had it not been for the pic showing the voltage at 2.0v?

Just read the manual. It's not rocket science 😐

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 8 of 15, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I remember setting the voltage on Auto....now I know this wasn't a good idea 😕
Tomorrow I will look how to switch 2-2.2v

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 9 of 15, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

How should I put the switches?

Attachments

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 10 of 15, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

2.2v and either 66*5.5 or 66*2(if the CPU supports 6x, it uses the 2x as 6x).

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header
Epstein didn't kill himself

Reply 11 of 15, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yes the multiplier is set to 2x (6x66mhz)

Here is the current setting:

15935824313237572248750678845389.jpg
Filename
15935824313237572248750678845389.jpg
File size
1.39 MiB
Views
97 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 12 of 15, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I have changed now to 2,2 Volts- no overheating beeps anymore. Thank you!! =)
I don't know why but CPU-Z vintage edition shows now a better performance than before....could the overvoltage cause the performance issue?

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 13 of 15, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Nice,

i have the same Board never run into Heat issues with a small Pentium 1 Cooler.
i even modified it to run 75Mhz FSB 😀

Its a very stable Board so enjoy it!

https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de - under constructing since ever

Co2 - for a endless Summer

Reply 14 of 15, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
GuillermoXT wrote on 2020-06-30, 20:22:

I remember setting the voltage on Auto....now I know this wasn't a good idea 😕
Tomorrow I will look how to switch 2-2.2v

Yes, this was probably the issue.
With hardware of this era, I prefer to set stuff manually at first as back then the auto stuff could be kinda dodgy.
Setting things manually even helped me get certain sA boards running stable 😀

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 15 of 15, by candle_86

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Remember also that the tx chipset is old, while the board may support k6-2 it may not understand the cxt version that mapped 2x to 6x and may default to the p55c split rail voltage instead but work fine with earlier k6-2 series chips.

Phenom II X4 840T @ 4ghz - ASUS M3N72D-SLI - GTX 560 Ti- 4GB DDR2 1066 - 1TB HDD - Windows XP
Pentium 4 3.4C - MSI 865PE NEO2 - x850 XT PE - 2GB DDR 400 - 500GB HDD - Windows XP
Duron 1600 - ASUS A7N8X - 512MB DDR 266 - Radeon 8500 LE