VOGONS


First post, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

can someone tell me what this 60pin IDE Connector is for?

Attachments

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 1 of 13, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

No one ???

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 2 of 13, by eisapc

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

From the location it is most probably a kind of proprietary memory expansion slot.
I might have to look in the manual of my PAC 286 for confirmation.
The board looks pretty similar.

Reply 3 of 13, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Here are some other pictures of my motherboard if it would help

Thank you

Attachments

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 4 of 13, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I made a research through the internet and now I Know it must be the Tandon Targa 40+

Here is my retrobrighted friend 😀

Attachments

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 5 of 13, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I managed to get a Trident Tvga9000 512k to connect a vga 15pin monitor because I have no monitor for the 9pin MDA graphics card but it only does show VGA bios and seems to restart. What is wrong?
https://youtu.be/klV2OidLHVY

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 6 of 13, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
eisapc wrote on 2020-08-04, 07:53:

From the location it is most probably a kind of proprietary memory expansion slot.
I might have to look in the manual of my PAC 286 for confirmation.
The board looks pretty similar.

Do I have to switch something too to get a vga card running?
In a previous post i posted a video with my actual problem.

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 7 of 13, by hwh

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
GuillermoXT wrote on 2020-08-14, 19:36:

Do I have to switch something too to get a vga card running?
In a previous post i posted a video with my actual problem.

Possibly. You do have a nice switch set there.

Knowing what to switch is the issue. I don't know if you can damage something by setting the wrong switches.

If you don't care, I would move one switch at a time to see if video appears, and of course set it back and move to the next one if not.

Reply 8 of 13, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
hwh wrote on 2020-08-14, 21:11:
Possibly. You do have a nice switch set there. […]
Show full quote
GuillermoXT wrote on 2020-08-14, 19:36:

Do I have to switch something too to get a vga card running?
In a previous post i posted a video with my actual problem.

Possibly. You do have a nice switch set there.

Knowing what to switch is the issue. I don't know if you can damage something by setting the wrong switches.

If you don't care, I would move one switch at a time to see if video appears, and of course set it back and move to the next one if not.

May you have an idea what it means when the mfm hdd led is blinking 3 times?

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 10 of 13, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
pentiumspeed wrote on 2020-08-15, 14:09:

I bet this is the horrid Miniscribe hard drive?

Cheers,

No the Tandon Tm 262 40mb hdd

Cheers

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 11 of 13, by pentiumspeed

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

SOS morse signal means hard drive cannot initialize usually the seeking to zero track and did not get zero track signal via switch or optical interrupter at right time. (error found or certain tests is not expected) into readiness before hard drive MFM controller can query the hard drive during the POST startup process.

Many MFM hard drives has own internal start up tests/ recalibrate seeking to make sure it's good before releasing itself to the hard drive controller.

Cheers,

Great Northern aka Canada.

Reply 12 of 13, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
pentiumspeed wrote on 2020-08-30, 23:40:

SOS morse signal means hard drive cannot initialize usually the seeking to zero track and did not get zero track signal via switch or optical interrupter at right time. (error found or certain tests is not expected) into readiness before hard drive MFM controller can query the hard drive during the POST startup process.

Many MFM hard drives has own internal start up tests/ recalibrate seeking to make sure it's good before releasing itself to the hard drive controller.

Cheers,

Thanks

Sometimes I can get the mfm running but it still doesn't Post....any ideas ?

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 13 of 13, by Vynix

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Could try putting a few drops of oil in the stepper motor (the black square thingy on the side of the drive), it could be that it's gummed up and can't spin freely.

Proud owner of a Shuttle HOT-555A 430VX motherboard and two wonderful retro laptops, namely a Compaq Armada 1700 [nonfunctional] and a HP Omnibook XE3-GC [fully working :p]