VOGONS

First post, by chrisNova777

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

just wondering if theres any recent/moden developments in hardware that will accept the use of SF2 files
if not; whats the most recent sf2 capable sound cards? the only thing im thinking of is the old SBLIVE! pci cards
but i havent held a sblive! card in my hand since about 2004-2005 probably. (those cards were like everywhere back then)

i just realized as im typing this the old audigy 2, X-Fi cards by creative labs are most likely compatible but i have zero experience with those cards
i actually have an external audigy USB2.0 that i bought from a thrift shop with the idea of repairing its broken USB port; need to invest in a soldering setup.

Last edited by chrisNova777 on 2020-11-03, 19:53. Edited 1 time in total.

http://www.oldschooldaw.com | vintage PC/MAC MIDI/DAW | Asus mobo archive | Sound Modules | Vintage MIDI Interfaces
AM386DX40 | Asus VL/I-486SV2GX4 (486DX2-80) | GA586VX (p75) + r7000PCI | ABIT Be6 (pII-233) matroxG400 AGP

Reply 1 of 4, by Wanderer

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello chrisNova777.

The most recent hardware soundfont-capable cards would be X-Fi PCI and PCIe cards. I vaguely remember that there were performance differences between PCI (EMU20K1) and PCIe (EMU20K2) versions: the former could play more voices but caused BSOD sometimes, and the latter loaded large sample banks faster but some notes were cut off in dense MIDI files. Although, this behaviour could as well be caused by different drivers, host hardware and OS used when conducting the tests.