VOGONS

First post, by draetheus

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

The motherboard for my overkill 98 SE rig came in yesterday (ECS P4M800PRO-M 2.0). Overall it's in very good condition, but unfortunately 3 of the 4 large VRM caps appear to be bulging slightly. I'm not experienced with this type of thing at all. Is it ok to at least put in a few hours of install and testing before thinking of a recap? Or does this need immediate recap? If the latter, is this simple enough for a soldering beginner or would I need to pay to have this done?

Attachments

Reply 1 of 8, by Cyberdyne

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

NOPE! Recap immediately! Those may burts any time. And your system is not stable.

I am aroused about any X86 motherboard that has full functional ISA slot. I think i have problem. Not really into that original (Turbo) XT,286,386 and CGA/EGA stuff. So just a DOS nut.
PS. If I upload RAR, it is a 16-bit DOS RAR Version 2.50.

Reply 2 of 8, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

As soon as just one cap of a given type shows the slightest sign of bulging, leaking or otherwise physically changing, it needs replacing and so do all other caps of same type on the board. Usually physical symptoms only become visible after significant electrical degradation has already occurred.

That said: will this board explode and set fire to your house if you just briefly plug it in - probably not, although you don't want to have your eyes anywhere near those caps as you might get a corrosive, toxic fountain coming out of them. Depending on what I wanted, I might risk doing some testing, but then again, it doesn't really add anything: if it's not booting, or booting but not stable, the caps are most likely implicated and need swapping. If it is booting and stable, it won't be for much longer with caps in this state, so the caps need swapping... I'd just swap the caps.