VOGONS

First post, by manalog

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi all, I am new to Vogons. I am a 23 years old guy really passionate about retrocomputers, especially the ones of 1990s. I got several of them, but now I’d like to ask you some suggestions about one of those, a Pentium 100 build.

Specs: Highscreen branded, PA-2000 motherboard, Pentium 100, 16 MB 72 pin DIMM, 1GB Quantum hard drive, S3 video card, Windows 95. It is a devilishly fast computer, really, it surprises all of my friends for how much it is fast. Soon (today perhaps) I’ll try to install a Creative CT3990 I found in the garage (was I lucky? Is it a good card?) and an Ethernet board. I am planning to order on ebay two 16mb modules, a 256kb cache dip module and a cf2ide adapter (planning to test other operating systems). Perhaps also a MPEG2 video decoder board.

Unfortunately this computer has a very weird problem, a problem for which I am doubtful if it has sense to plan all these upgrades or not. I remember when I was a kid (it was my granma’s computer) I played with it and I connected a PS/2 keyboard to it, a keyboard provided with a PS/2 to AT converter that was used at the time by my uncle on a very similar computer. That keyboard worked but, after that, a disaster has happened: this computer recognizes only that keyboard! I tried several working AT keyboards with no success, then a couple of PS/2 keyboards using that adapter and different adapters: nothing at all. I really cannot explain this thing. Now it is very problematic because I can use only that keyboard. The keyboard is an anonymous grey keyboard from early 2000s, it has no brand, only “Office Keyboard” on the top and “Smart keyboard” behind, “Made in China”, “Model No:Ez-9910”.
I have found in that same garage a mechanical IBM keyboard (perhaps the famous Model M, code is 1391404) with ps/2 connector: I tried it with several adapters on that computer but there is no way to get it working.