VOGONS

First post, by Woody72

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi All, I'm Guy, 48, from the north of England. I recently abandoned a PII build because a weird mobo meant Win 98SE drivers were a nightmare. I nearly gave up on getting a late 90's gaming computer up and running when I scored a free computer from work (I work in IT in the nuclear industry). It's a Pentium 166MHz MMX with 256MB of EDO memory and a small GForce 2 PCI card. The issue I'm having is identifying the motherboard. I think it's a Supermicro, the logo is the word Super followed by a filled in circle. It says P5-XTRA on it but Googling isn't really finding anything. I want to upgrade the CPU to the 200MHz Pentium MMX or AMD K6 from my CPU collection but will obviously need to set some jumpers. Any ideas?

ptr.jpg

Modern PC: i7-9700KF, 16GB memory, RTX 3060. Proper PC: Pentium 200 MMX, 128MB EDO memory, GeForce2 MX(200).

Reply 2 of 13, by Woody72

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Thanks PARKE, These are the labels up close but still not finding much. Can we confirm if this logo is even supermicro?

oznor-COQR.jpg

Modern PC: i7-9700KF, 16GB memory, RTX 3060. Proper PC: Pentium 200 MMX, 128MB EDO memory, GeForce2 MX(200).

Reply 3 of 13, by PARKE

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

It's indeed a Supermicro.
Here general info:
http://www.motherboard.cz/mb/supermicro/SUPER%20P5XTRA.htm

Here an ovevview of jumper settings:
ftp://retronn.de/mirrors/www.elhvb.com_moboki … 30HX_Jumper.htm
(scroll down)

Reply 5 of 13, by PARKE

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

One remark: it seems that this board is quite early and does not support MMX cpu's. If so you need a non-MMX cpu like this one:

Attachments

• p54.jpg
    Filename
    p54.jpg
    File size
    241.83 KiB
    Views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 6 of 13, by weedeewee

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
PARKE wrote on 2021-03-15, 14:21: