VOGONS


Reply 60 of 117, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
andunn wrote on 2021-12-02, 13:53:
Model 30 still has the blank screen issue, wierdly the image corruption on next program launch does not appear every time. Model […]
Show full quote
Mumak wrote on 2021-12-02, 10:30:

Posting v1.61 in a attempt to fix the PS/2 issues you've seen (except the hang at GUS check).

Model 30 still has the blank screen issue, wierdly the image corruption on next program launch does not appear every time.
Model 30-286 memory amounts are fixed and everything else seems to be OK too.
Model 50 MCA bus info is still not working, when I hit "Enter" an empty "MCA Slots Configuration" screen appears for a fraction of a second and then goes back to the "Bus Info" screen.

Thanks for the report!
Posting v1.62 to hopefully fix both issues:
[version pulled as there's a newer one]
Please let me know the results.

Last edited by Mumak on 2021-12-04, 11:04. Edited 2 times in total.

Reply 61 of 117, by andunn

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Mumak wrote on 2021-12-02, 18:42:

Posting v1.62 to hopefully fix both issues:

Video issues on the Model 30 seem to be solved and everything else looks OK too.
The MCA slots configuration screen now shows up on the Model 50. However, the adapters listed are incorrect - see attached picture of IBM's config utility.

Attachments

  • m30_vid2.jpg
    Filename
    m30_vid2.jpg
    File size
    150.82 KiB
    Views
    684 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • m50_mca2.jpg
    Filename
    m50_mca2.jpg
    File size
    123.08 KiB
    Views
    684 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • m50_conf1.jpg
    Filename
    m50_conf1.jpg
    File size
    137.98 KiB
    Views
    684 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • m50_conf2.jpg
    Filename
    m50_conf2.jpg
    File size
    135.95 KiB
    Views
    684 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    reports_162.zip
    File size
    6.11 KiB
    Downloads
    11 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 62 of 117, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
andunn wrote on 2021-12-02, 21:52:
Mumak wrote on 2021-12-02, 18:42:

Posting v1.62 to hopefully fix both issues:

Video issues on the Model 30 seem to be solved and everything else looks OK too.
The MCA slots configuration screen now shows up on the Model 50. However, the adapters listed are incorrect - see attached picture of IBM's config utility.

Thanks!
Here's v1.63 to fix the MCA details:
[version pulled as there's a newer one]

Last edited by Mumak on 2021-12-04, 11:04. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 63 of 117, by andunn

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Mumak wrote on 2021-12-02, 22:26:

Here's v1.63 to fix the MCA details:

I have good news, everything works now!
Thanks!

Attachments

  • m50_mca3.jpg
    Filename
    m50_mca3.jpg
    File size
    123.24 KiB
    Views
    658 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    ps2_m50.zip
    File size
    2.38 KiB
    Downloads
    7 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 66 of 117, by PC@LIVE

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I think it will be very useful on the old-MB that I have on the bench, I will try to try it on the Siemens D1107 with PII 350, it is a slot1 with 440BX chipset, 128MB of ram, I have to add a sound card and see to connect an HD, currently I use the usual IDE-CF adapter, the memory card is 256MB with DOS (it was for a 386 or 486).
I have already downloaded the file, for the HWI16 version I will see in these days to fix the faulty power supply of the 286, I hope to be able to fix it, but this cannot be said if I do not start working on it.

AMD 286-16 287-10 4MB HD 45MB VGA 256KB
AMD 386DX-40 Intel 387 8MB HD 81MB VGA 256KB
Cyrix 486DLC-40 IIT387-40 8MB VGA 512KB
AMD 5X86-133 16MB VGA VLB CL5428 2MB and many others
AMD K62+ 550 SOYO 5EMA+ and many others
AST Pentium Pro 200 MHz L2 256KB

Reply 67 of 117, by douglar

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have a 12Mhz Packard Bell 286.

Thje system has a 1MB Trident 8900c

HWinfo16 v1.7 says:

                             HWiNFO16 v1.7
┌─────────────────────────────Video Information─────────────────────────┐
│ Video Chipset: Trident 9000i A/B/C │
│ Video Card: Unknown │
│ Video Memory Size: 1,536 KBytes of DRAM │
│ Video Card Bus: Unknown │
│ Video RAMDAC: Unknown or Standard VGA │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ Video BIOS Manufacturer: Quadtel, TRIDENT │
│ Video BIOS Version: C3.0 │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ VESA Support: Present (VBE 1.2) │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤

Reply 68 of 117, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
douglar wrote on 2021-12-26, 19:49:
I have a 12Mhz Packard Bell 286. […]
Show full quote

I have a 12Mhz Packard Bell 286.

Thje system has a 1MB Trident 8900c

HWinfo16 v1.7 says:

                             HWiNFO16 v1.7
┌─────────────────────────────Video Information─────────────────────────┐
│ Video Chipset: Trident 9000i A/B/C │
│ Video Card: Unknown │
│ Video Memory Size: 1,536 KBytes of DRAM │
│ Video Card Bus: Unknown │
│ Video RAMDAC: Unknown or Standard VGA │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ Video BIOS Manufacturer: Quadtel, TRIDENT │
│ Video BIOS Version: C3.0 │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ VESA Support: Present (VBE 1.2) │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤

Please attach the HWiNFO Debug File (run with -d parameter). I need to check a few details why is this...

Reply 69 of 117, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

This is a Debug file of my Tandon 286
Network : 8019AS
Graphics: TVGA 9000A
System Ram 1024 KB
XMS Card: 3MB
XTIDE-CF Card + 1GB Compact Flash Transcend
CPU: AMD 286 @8mhz
FPU: Intel 10MHZ running 5mhz

Seems to recognize as a compaq?

Attachments

My Retrosystems:
K6-2 400 running Win98SE
P1-133 with Win3.11
Tandon 286-8MHZ Running DOS 5.0 on XT-IDE Card

Reply 70 of 117, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
GuillermoXT wrote on 2021-12-31, 16:34:
This is a Debug file of my Tandon 286 Network : 8019AS Graphics: TVGA 9000A System Ram 1024 KB XMS Card: 3MB XTIDE-CF Card + 1GB […]
Show full quote

This is a Debug file of my Tandon 286
Network : 8019AS
Graphics: TVGA 9000A
System Ram 1024 KB
XMS Card: 3MB
XTIDE-CF Card + 1GB Compact Flash Transcend
CPU: AMD 286 @8mhz
FPU: Intel 10MHZ running 5mhz

Seems to recognize as a compaq?

Thanks, but can you please also either manually walk thru all screens or use -r parameter and generate a new report + debug files?

Reply 71 of 117, by douglar

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Mumak wrote on 2021-12-26, 21:05:
douglar wrote on 2021-12-26, 19:49:
I have a 12Mhz Packard Bell 286. […]
Show full quote

I have a 12Mhz Packard Bell 286.

Thje system has a 1MB Trident 8900c

HWinfo16 v1.7 says:

                             HWiNFO16 v1.7
┌─────────────────────────────Video Information─────────────────────────┐
│ Video Chipset: Trident 9000i A/B/C │
│ Video Card: Unknown │
│ Video Memory Size: 1,536 KBytes of DRAM │
│ Video Card Bus: Unknown │
│ Video RAMDAC: Unknown or Standard VGA │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ Video BIOS Manufacturer: Quadtel, TRIDENT │
│ Video BIOS Version: C3.0 │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ VESA Support: Present (VBE 1.2) │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤

Please attach the HWiNFO Debug File (run with -d parameter). I need to check a few details why is this...

Sorry for the delay. The floppy drive didn't want to work for a while.

Files are attached.

Attachments

  • Filename
    PB286.zip
    File size
    4.44 KiB
    Downloads
    8 downloads
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 72 of 117, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
douglar wrote on 2022-01-05, 22:01:
Mumak wrote on 2021-12-26, 21:05:
douglar wrote on 2021-12-26, 19:49:
I have a 12Mhz Packard Bell 286. […]
Show full quote

I have a 12Mhz Packard Bell 286.

Thje system has a 1MB Trident 8900c

HWinfo16 v1.7 says:

                             HWiNFO16 v1.7
┌─────────────────────────────Video Information─────────────────────────┐
│ Video Chipset: Trident 9000i A/B/C │
│ Video Card: Unknown │
│ Video Memory Size: 1,536 KBytes of DRAM │
│ Video Card Bus: Unknown │
│ Video RAMDAC: Unknown or Standard VGA │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ Video BIOS Manufacturer: Quadtel, TRIDENT │
│ Video BIOS Version: C3.0 │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤
│ VESA Support: Present (VBE 1.2) │
├─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┤

Please attach the HWiNFO Debug File (run with -d parameter). I need to check a few details why is this...

Sorry for the delay. The floppy drive didn't want to work for a while.

Files are attached.

Thank you. This issue will be fixed in the next build.

Reply 73 of 117, by vstrakh

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Is it ok to use this build on a 386 pc, or detection of cpu's above 286 was entirely removed?
I have a 386DX40 board with IIT 3c87 math coprocessor.
This app version does not show the cpu type or frequency, and misidentifies the coprocessor for Intel 8087 @ 122 MHz.
It detects the chipset correctly (UMC 82C491) and shows the audio card in the Peripherals section, but fails to show anything in the System Information->Bus Info section.

Reply 74 of 117, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
vstrakh wrote on 2022-01-21, 20:52:
Is it ok to use this build on a 386 pc, or detection of cpu's above 286 was entirely removed? I have a 386DX40 board with IIT 3c […]
Show full quote

Is it ok to use this build on a 386 pc, or detection of cpu's above 286 was entirely removed?
I have a 386DX40 board with IIT 3c87 math coprocessor.
This app version does not show the cpu type or frequency, and misidentifies the coprocessor for Intel 8087 @ 122 MHz.
It detects the chipset correctly (UMC 82C491) and shows the audio card in the Peripherals section, but fails to show anything in the System Information->Bus Info section.

HWiNFO16 is as per thread title only for 8086-286. For 386 and later use HWiNFO for DOS.

Reply 75 of 117, by twix

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I have just ran the latest version of HWINFO16 on a IBM model 30 PS/2 (having replaced the 8086 with a Nec V30). The question that I have is whether the tool is able to report the IRQ assignments correctly. According to the information that I have been able to find, the model 30 8086 only has 8 interrupts (0-7). COM ports are on 3 and 4, HDD on 5, floppy on 6, and LPT1 on 7. HWINFO16 reports 16 IRQ's, but this does not seem right. I tried to run MSD on this machine, but it locks up when probing for the IRQ's. Any thoughts?

Reply 76 of 117, by Mumak

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
twix wrote on 2022-02-12, 14:28:

I have just ran the latest version of HWINFO16 on a IBM model 30 PS/2 (having replaced the 8086 with a Nec V30). The question that I have is whether the tool is able to report the IRQ assignments correctly. According to the information that I have been able to find, the model 30 8086 only has 8 interrupts (0-7). COM ports are on 3 and 4, HDD on 5, floppy on 6, and LPT1 on 7. HWINFO16 reports 16 IRQ's, but this does not seem right. I tried to run MSD on this machine, but it locks up when probing for the IRQ's. Any thoughts?

You're right, this doesn't seem to be reported properly. AFAIR, XTs have only 8 IRQs and this is not properly accounted for in HWiNFO16. I'll try to fix this in the next build.
Can you please post the resulting LOG and DBG files from HWiNFO16? I'd like to see how it worked and whether there's anything else needed to be adjusted.

Reply 77 of 117, by twix

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Mumak wrote on 2022-02-12, 14:33:
twix wrote on 2022-02-12, 14:28:

I have just ran the latest version of HWINFO16 on a IBM model 30 PS/2 (having replaced the 8086 with a Nec V30). The question that I have is whether the tool is able to report the IRQ assignments correctly. According to the information that I have been able to find, the model 30 8086 only has 8 interrupts (0-7). COM ports are on 3 and 4, HDD on 5, floppy on 6, and LPT1 on 7. HWINFO16 reports 16 IRQ's, but this does not seem right. I tried to run MSD on this machine, but it locks up when probing for the IRQ's. Any thoughts?

You're right, this doesn't seem to be reported properly. AFAIR, XTs have only 8 IRQs and this is not properly accounted for in HWiNFO16. I'll try to fix this in the next build.
Can you please post the resulting LOG and DBG files from HWiNFO16? I'd like to see how it worked and whether there's anything else needed to be adjusted.

Here are the debug and log files. They are a bit disappointing maybe. The debug file prints a list of actions, not the results. The log file is not complete, as in the peripheral section the process hangs on the detection of the GUS on port 210. I think that this particular failure has been reported before.

Attachments

  • Filename
    HWINFOD.LOG
    File size
    16.21 KiB
    Downloads
    7 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    HWINFO.LOG
    File size
    12.77 KiB
    Downloads
    8 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 78 of 117, by twix

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
twix wrote on 2022-02-12, 16:24:
Mumak wrote on 2022-02-12, 14:33:
twix wrote on 2022-02-12, 14:28:

I have just ran the latest version of HWINFO16 on a IBM model 30 PS/2 (having replaced the 8086 with a Nec V30). The question that I have is whether the tool is able to report the IRQ assignments correctly. According to the information that I have been able to find, the model 30 8086 only has 8 interrupts (0-7). COM ports are on 3 and 4, HDD on 5, floppy on 6, and LPT1 on 7. HWINFO16 reports 16 IRQ's, but this does not seem right. I tried to run MSD on this machine, but it locks up when probing for the IRQ's. Any thoughts?

You're right, this doesn't seem to be reported properly. AFAIR, XTs have only 8 IRQs and this is not properly accounted for in HWiNFO16. I'll try to fix this in the next build.
Can you please post the resulting LOG and DBG files from HWiNFO16? I'd like to see how it worked and whether there's anything else needed to be adjusted.

Here are the debug and log files. They are a bit disappointing maybe. The debug file prints a list of actions, not the results. The log file is not complete, as in the peripheral section the process hangs on the detection of the GUS on port 210. I think that this particular failure has been reported before.

Ah, I know see that the GUS problem may be caused by the presence of an ethernet card. I have an UMC UM9008F, so I will pull that and redo the check.