VOGONS

First post, by shellshock404

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello,

I am a novice to all of this so bare with me, but have enough basic knowledge to get by. I have a 486 PC all setup, all the hardware has been set in the BIOS with all the correct specs and settings, i don't get any other errors. So the next step I go to boot up the DOS install disk and I keep getting "Non system disk or disk error". I've tried about everything under the sun to troubleshoot this, used different floppy drives, cables, different boot disks, even an original DOS disk, keep getting the error. I have no idea what to do, I'm concerned the onboard motherboard FDD controller is broken. I have a ISA multi I/O card but I'm not sure how I get the BIOS to detect it or set it, I plugged it all in and I get nothing. Also to mention I have the boot order A: C: and the 3.5" is on the IDE A connector.

Let me know if you have any insight, I would appreciate it immensely.

Thanks.

Reply 1 of 8, by jakethompson1

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

That error is generated by the boot sector on a disk, never by the BIOS itself, so it's at least able to read the first sector. Make sure it's coming from the floppy and not the hard drive, e.g., by clearing out the hard drive settings in the BIOS. You'd need to disable the onboard floppy controller in order for the one on an I/O card to work. You're sure your floppy is bootable? You can format /s another floppy from another machine to check?

Reply 2 of 8, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
shellshock404 wrote on 2022-08-29, 04:05:

Also to mention I have the boot order A: C: and the 3.5" is on the IDE A connector.

Huh ? You have a floppy drive connected to an IDE connector ?
Ok. First thing first. What motherboard is it ? can you take a picture and attach it ?
The onboard floppy port should be just one connector, 34 pin. The onboard IDE usually has two 40 pin ports.