VOGONS

Amd k6-2+ won't run higher than 66 mhz

Topic actions

First post, by Florian J

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I have a amd k6-2+ that for some reason shows up as a Pentium mmx running at 66 mhz.
I also can't get it to run higher than 66 mhz no matter what multiplier I run it at.

Any help would be appreciated 👍

Motherboard: P5M4-M+

Reply 2 of 62, by Florian J

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Alright I will try that. I also tried changing the bus speed and now the pc won't boot at all, I've set the bus speed to the defaults again yet it still won't boot. Any idea how to fix that?

Sorry if that's a dumb question, I'm pretty new to retro tech. 🙃

Reply 3 of 62, by gerwin

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Failure to run at higher FSB or failure to run at all may be a sign of aging capacitors on the motherboard.
Does the motherboard work properly with other processors?

--> ISA Soundcard Overview // Doom MBF 2.04 // SetMul

Reply 4 of 62, by Repo Man11

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Florian J wrote on 2023-07-26, 14:06:

Alright I will try that. I also tried changing the bus speed and now the pc won't boot at all, I've set the bus speed to the defaults again yet it still won't boot. Any idea how to fix that?

More details would help us help you. What is the history of this build? Was it working prior to your trying a K6-2+ CPU in it? If yes, you should try the original CPU again. It seems the BIOS you have doesn't recognize the K6-2+ CPU, which is why it cannot report the actual speed. That same thing can also cause issues with being able to POST - you may have gotten lucky a couple of times. So I recommend going back to the last known working configuration.

Do you have the latest BIOS? Assuming The Retro Web has the most current BIOS (they usually do) have a look. https://theretroweb.com/motherboards/s/tekram … 4-m-2#downloads

Jan Steunebrink has a patched BIOS for that motherboard here: http://www.steunebrink.info/k6plus.htm