VOGONS

First post, by AlessandroB

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Work has slowed down a little and I have some time to spend on my retrocomputers, if I had much more time I could probably do it myself, but since I don't have much I would need your advice so as not to finish after Christmas.

1)The computer is a PS/1 386sx and comes standard with a 1.44 floppy disk. I also installed a 1.2Mb floppy disk, I connected it to the same original cable as the computer because it already had the connector set up, but when I try in DOS to exceed any of the two drives it gives me the typical error when the drive is not configured correctly asking me abort, retry etc... The 5.25 drive is original IBM and I think it is the standard one of an IBM 5170, I have no experience, could there be jumpers to select? I attach the photo of the drive.

2)2) I tried to connect a parallel Iomega Zip 250 in the same way I connect it to Pentium computers. At the DOS prompt I usually use the "Guest.exe" program provided by Iomega itself which is used to install the drives on the fly, but the computer immediately writes to me that it cannot find the drive letter. I attach photo of the bios with the address of the parallel port. Note: I also have a sound blaster pro2 installed but I don't think it could be a conflict.