VOGONS

First post, by Ribbicipp

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi,
im new to this forum and created an account just for this issue that has been plaguing me for the past days now. After hours and hours of trying to figure out what im missing or doing wrong, I realized that I need help with this. Please bare with me as I am a noob when it comes to working on old PC parts and old operating systems. I can build a new computer just fine, but quickly realized that finding drivers and getting everything to work properly with old hardware is a nightmare.

I recently purchased a generic (Sintechi?) SD to IDE adapter (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/193578823084?hash= … P0AAOSwmlZfEUUF) and a 32GB SD card to go with it, in order to use with my retro builds that i've recently started working on. After watching several videos on YouTube and reading through forums about these adapters I decided to give it a go, since it seemed pretty straight forward getting them to work.

I have two old PCs I dug out from the closet that were my childhood PCs. One "AST Advantage! 623E" (similair model to the one found here: Manual/Info for an AST Advantage! 624) with a Pentium 100mhz + 32mb RAM and a noname mid-tower build with a P3 800mhz and I think a Geforce 4 series card in it.

First i tried getting the old AST computer to run with the SD to IDE adapter, but it didn't even detect the adapter at boot-up. I tried formating and re-formating the SD card in different ways, everything from FAT16 to FAT32, 2GB up to 32GB. I noticed that the BIOS didn't detect any sectors or such, but then again, the computer didn't even detect the adapter at all on boot-up.
I gave up on getting it working and just installed everything on my old HDD instead that came with the PC.

Then i tried again on the P3 800Mhz PC, but with the exact same problem. The PC doesn't even recognize that the adapter is connected. All drives at boot-up just says "None".