VOGONS

Ideas on my first retro build

Topic actions

First post, by lup31337

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello guys! I'm new to this retro PC build thing and I'm in need of advice. I watched some retro build videos on YouTube and I'm kinda craving my own retro build. Back in the day I had a 166 Mhz Cyrix on which I played DOS and Windows 95/98 games. Pretty cool to play games from that time on a machine of equal age.
Anyway, I need some advice on what parts I should look for. I want to build a machine that can basically run DOS or WIn 95/98 games (just DOS is fine as well). However, I want to pick certain parts that are hard to find and potentially expensive. The idea is to have a retro PC than I can play on, but I will probably get over it pretty soon. When that time comes, it would be interesting to have a collectable piece that appreciates in value over time. I don't know if that is even a thing but let me know if you have any ideas to help me out.

Thanks!
Marius

Reply 1 of 30, by Gmlb256

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Hello and welcome!

You will be probably looking for a Socket 7 build with a Pentium 166-233 MMX CPU, those are quite flexible when slowing it down thru SetMul thanks to the TR12 registers they have. For DOS games, 16-32 MB RAM are the sweetspot.

The most compatible video card would be any S3 starting from the Trio64, just stay away from noname manufacturers. Alternatively, the Cirrus Logic GD-5446 will do the job. A Voodoo card as an add-on will help with early 3D games but those are right now expensive to get.

If you care about the FM synth then get any ESS AudioDrive or YMF-71x sound card which are good enough. You can start saving money from there if you want to add a real MIDI device and/or something better in the future.

VIA C3 Nehemiah 1.2A @ 1.46 GHz | ASUS P2-99 | 256 MB PC133 SDRAM | GeForce3 Ti 200 64 MB | Voodoo2 12 MB | SBLive! | AWE64 | SBPro2 | GUS

Reply 3 of 30, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t