VOGONS

First post, by Adriaan

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I don’t know if this has been discussed before since the search isn’t working (on my iPad…)
Since a few weeks I work as a volunteer (I’m retired…) at the Historic Study Collection of the University of Twente, the Netherlands.
We have a huge collection of old electronic gear amongst which are a great number of old computers, like a PDP11, PET, PC’s, several types of Commodores etc. and some have been switched of for over 30 years!

My question: is there a scientific valid way to power up these old devices, or just switch them on and watch for magic smoke?
I would appreciate some guidance in the matter…

Thanks in advance and for those who would like a peek in our collection, here is our website (in Dutch)
https://studieverzameling.utwente.nl/
And for those who want to visit us, you are most welcome.

Reply 3 of 18, by Disruptor

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Consult your electrician.
You should check what happens when a RCD triggers.
Perhaps you sit in the dark then.
To add, use a separate AC circuit with RCD/FI protection and perhaps a smaller and quicker FUSE like B6 or B10 (6 or 10 A) for the devices on your testing table.

Reply 4 of 18, by mkarcher

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

In case you do a visual inspection on the power supply, watch out for metallized paper filter capacitors. Many of them are contained in plastic cases, and if that case breaks (which it does on its own as the plasticizer evaporates...), moisture might get inside them. Connecting moist capacitor to line voltage will usually make them fail violently. These capacitors are common in equipiment produced up to the late 1980s.