VOGONS

First post, by Alex_03

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

This is a bit of an interesting one, I recently got a couple of old electronic cabinets that were apparently "paging terminals", there were a dozen or so cards labeled with cities. Inside this terminal was a card with an intel 386sx on it, as well as a floppy drive and a scsi hard drive. The neat thing is that the "motherboard" is just a 16-bit isa card, and I was able to get the computer up and running with the original backplane and a power supply, There is a picture attached of the motherboard.

Now I am interested in seeing if the hard drive will work at all. The controller card is detected but returns a "controller failure" message after post, all jumpers are set as I found them. I have no experience with scsi devices, so I came here for some troubleshooting advice. The interface card is a Future Domain TMC-850M (with TMC-950M v8.2 bios?) and the hard drive is an HP(I think) model 2235, which comes up as a 422Mb SCSI drive, here is some documentation: https://stason.org/TULARC/pc/hard-drives-hdd/ … H-SCSI2-SE.html. If somebody could make sense of the jumper settings that would very helpful.

The original power supply was dead and there were shorted tantalums on the Hard drive that I temporarily replaced with electrolytics, so it is entirely possible that the drive is damaged.

Attachments

Reply 3 of 19, by Alex_03

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Well now it is going to make a fool out of me, I reassembled the machine and it just decided to start working. The only thing I really changed was the location of all the cards in the slots, which I didn't think matters, I also re terminated the scsi cable because it had a nasty twist in it, I suppose there could have been a broken wire.

As soon as it gets through post it immediately starts executing a bunch of stuff, is there a way to prevent that? perhaps then I can get just a basic dos prompt or something?

Reply 5 of 19, by Disruptor

User metadata