VOGONS


Reply 40 of 57, by Vlad94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Roman555 wrote on 2024-02-12, 20:22:

BIOS mod for Asus P5GD1-VM. I hope I didn't break it trying to fix the x6-ratio problem 😀

I am in work right now so I can't test it, but what did you changed in bootblock to make it work?

Reply 41 of 57, by Roman555

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Vlad94 wrote on 2024-02-12, 23:08:
Roman555 wrote on 2024-02-12, 20:22:

BIOS mod for Asus P5GD1-VM. I hope I didn't break it trying to fix the x6-ratio problem 😀

I am in work right now so I can't test it, but what did you changed in bootblock to make it work?

The patch programs model-specific registers 1A0H and 199H that are responsible for CPU performance

[ MS6168/PII-350/YMF754/98SE ]
[ 775i65G/E5500/9800Pro/Vortex2/ME ]

Reply 42 of 57, by Vlad94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Roman555 wrote on 2024-02-13, 10:09:

The patch programs model-specific registers 1A0H and 199H that are responsible for CPU performance

I tested it and nothing changed. Multi is still at 6x without throttlestop. Looks like lack of Core 2 code is problem.
I'm still getting uCode load error.

Reply 43 of 57, by Roman555

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Vlad94 wrote on 2024-02-13, 14:22:
Roman555 wrote on 2024-02-13, 10:09:

The patch programs model-specific registers 1A0H and 199H that are responsible for CPU performance

I tested it and nothing changed. Multi is still at 6x without throttlestop. Looks like lack of Core 2 code is problem.
I'm still getting uCode load error.

Are you sure that the bootblock was updated? Only an engineering version of AFUDOS updates bootblock. I forgot to mention it. If it's so then I'm sorry 🙁
But you're lucky that Throttlestop solves the ratio problem. Sometimes it doesn't because "Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology Select Lock" bit had been set before EIST was activated.
A uCode for 1067A (Pentium E5700) is bigger than any for this platform.
Or maybe the BIOS "doesn't understand" that uCode exactly for the installed CPU.

[ MS6168/PII-350/YMF754/98SE ]
[ 775i65G/E5500/9800Pro/Vortex2/ME ]

Reply 44 of 57, by Vlad94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Roman555 wrote on 2024-02-13, 15:06:
Are you sure that the bootblock was updated? Only an engineering version of AFUDOS updates bootblock. I forgot to mention it. If […]
Show full quote

Are you sure that the bootblock was updated? Only an engineering version of AFUDOS updates bootblock. I forgot to mention it. If it's so then I'm sorry 🙁
But you're lucky that Throttlestop solves the ratio problem. Sometimes it doesn't because "Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology Select Lock" bit had been set before EIST was activated.
A uCode for 1067A (Pentium E5700) is bigger than any for this platform.
Or maybe the BIOS "doesn't understand" that uCode exactly for the installed CPU.

Yeah, I used engineering version od afudos.
I think BIOS just does not fully recognize that CPU, so no uCode is loaded for it.

Reply 45 of 57, by Roman555

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Vlad94 wrote on 2024-01-08, 01:30:

Now time for second topic, Conroe and 925X chipset.
I used Core 2 Extreme X6800 (only C2D with unlocked multiplier) and ASRock 775XFire-VSTA board.
...

Vlad, I've made a topic about ASRock 775XFire-VSTA and Radeon HD incompatibility. Maybe it will be useful for you too .
Have you managed to make Pentium D 9xx 65nm (Presler) work on the board? It's really strange that the mainboard supports Cedar Mill which is a half of Presler but not Presler itself.

[ MS6168/PII-350/YMF754/98SE ]
[ 775i65G/E5500/9800Pro/Vortex2/ME ]

Reply 46 of 57, by Vlad94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Roman555 wrote on 2024-03-11, 15:49:
Vlad94 wrote on 2024-01-08, 01:30:

Now time for second topic, Conroe and 925X chipset.
I used Core 2 Extreme X6800 (only C2D with unlocked multiplier) and ASRock 775XFire-VSTA board.
...

Vlad, I've made a topic about ASRock 775XFire-VSTA and Radeon HD incompatibility. Maybe it will be useful for you too .
Have you managed to make Pentium D 9xx 65nm (Presler) work on the board? It's really strange that the mainboard supports Cedar Mill which is a half of Presler but not Presler itself.

Ohh thanks for that! I had same problem with HD5850 on that board (after all i won't use that GPU but Crossfired HD4850's 😁), but BIOS may be still useful for me.

I mean, Pentium D requires SMP, which i915/925 does not have, so Pentium D won't be possible, it is possible to force PD to start in P4 board, but 1 core will be detected anyway.
Core 2 Duo is different story, SMP is not required so it can work with 915/925, and BIOS from that board have code for Conroe (or it seems to have, maybe it starts it by luck like Asus p5gd1-vm?)
Can you check if that BIOS have proper Core 2 code? It works for me with X6800 flawlessly, I just needed to add uCodes 😜

Last edited by Vlad94 on 2024-03-13, 06:10. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 47 of 57, by Roman555

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Vlad94 wrote on 2024-03-12, 07:31:
Ohh thanks for that! I had same problem with HD5850 on that board (after all i won't use that GPU but Crossfired HD4850's :D), b […]
Show full quote
Roman555 wrote on 2024-03-11, 15:49:
Vlad94 wrote on 2024-01-08, 01:30:

Now time for second topic, Conroe and 925X chipset.
I used Core 2 Extreme X6800 (only C2D with unlocked multiplier) and ASRock 775XFire-VSTA board.
...

Vlad, I've made a topic about ASRock 775XFire-VSTA and Radeon HD incompatibility. Maybe it will be useful for you too .
Have you managed to make Pentium D 9xx 65nm (Presler) work on the board? It's really strange that the mainboard supports Cedar Mill which is a half of Presler but not Presler itself.

Ohh thanks for that! I had same problem with HD5850 on that board (after all i won't use that GPU but Crossfired HD4850's 😁), but BIOS may be still useful for me.

I mean, Pentium D requires SMP, which i915/925 does not have, so Pentium D won't be possible, it is possible to force PD to start in P4 board, but 1 core will be detected anyway.
Core 2 is different story, SMP is not required so it can work with 915/925, and BIOS from that board have code for Conroe (or it seems to have, maybe it starts it by luck like Asus p5gd1-vm?)
Can you check if that BIOS have proper Core 2 code? It works for me with X6800 flawlessly, I just needed to add uCodes 😜

Thanks for explanation! I haven't known about this subtle difference. I've always mistaken thinking that they all use SMP.
I've picked inside and it looks like 775XFire-VSTA bios has init code for Conroe but not for Wolfdale. Maybe I'll try to add Wolfdale support later.
Asus p5gd1-vm bios was built on much older source base. ASUS engineers added something but anyway it lacks lots of init procedure for Conroe.

[ MS6168/PII-350/YMF754/98SE ]
[ 775i65G/E5500/9800Pro/Vortex2/ME ]

Reply 48 of 57, by Vlad94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Roman555 wrote on 2024-03-12, 17:29:

Thanks for explanation! I haven't known about this subtle difference. I've always mistaken thinking that they all use SMP.
I've picked inside and it looks like 775XFire-VSTA bios has init code for Conroe but not for Wolfdale. Maybe I'll try to add Wolfdale support later.
Asus p5gd1-vm bios was built on much older source base. ASUS engineers added something but anyway it lacks lots of init procedure for Conroe.

I wanted to say Core 2 Duo oops, Core 2 Quad needs SMP.

I tried Wolfdale with ASRock 775xfire-vsta bios and it was awful, but good to hear it have code for Conroe 😀

I doubt Asus p5gd1-vm have any code for Core 2 ,even version from 2004 acts same with them. This is not only non-core 2 bios that do same thing, ASRock 775s61 and ECS rc410-m2 can initialize Core 2 as well!

That would be good to have Wolfdale support in 775xfire-vsta, that bios (believe or not) "works" on ABit AA8, i tried it for fun and it works but with problems, same with p5gd1-vm bios but less useful 🤣. With that mod i should be able to use E6500K on it.

BTW, can be overclocking options unhidden in Asus p5gd1-vm? I want to try something 😁

Reply 49 of 57, by Roman555

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Vlad94 wrote on 2024-03-12, 22:51:
I wanted to say Core 2 Duo oops, Core 2 Quad needs SMP. […]
Show full quote
Roman555 wrote on 2024-03-12, 17:29:

Thanks for explanation! I haven't known about this subtle difference. I've always mistaken thinking that they all use SMP.
I've picked inside and it looks like 775XFire-VSTA bios has init code for Conroe but not for Wolfdale. Maybe I'll try to add Wolfdale support later.
Asus p5gd1-vm bios was built on much older source base. ASUS engineers added something but anyway it lacks lots of init procedure for Conroe.

I wanted to say Core 2 Duo oops, Core 2 Quad needs SMP.

I tried Wolfdale with ASRock 775xfire-vsta bios and it was awful, but good to hear it have code for Conroe 😀

I doubt Asus p5gd1-vm have any code for Core 2 ,even version from 2004 acts same with them. This is not only non-core 2 bios that do same thing, ASRock 775s61 and ECS rc410-m2 can initialize Core 2 as well!

That would be good to have Wolfdale support in 775xfire-vsta, that bios (believe or not) "works" on ABit AA8, i tried it for fun and it works but with problems, same with p5gd1-vm bios but less useful 🤣. With that mod i should be able to use E6500K on it.

BTW, can be overclocking options unhidden in Asus p5gd1-vm? I want to try something 😁

Yes, reading your answer I had in mind exactly dual-core CPU-s. Anyway I really don't understand how it can be. The both families have two cores inside one package. So almost all signals are the same. But one works, another doesn't (even a little bit, no posts at all). It is not about supporting two CPU sockets on a mainboard where a chipset really must support SMP.

On modern motherboards a "foreign" bios almost always guarantees serious or minor problems (not detecting devices, resource conflicts, wrong sensor readings and so on) .

What about Wolfdale. Any unpredictable hardware problem (wire, voltage, signal) may make system get unstable. Asus P5LD2 rev.1 wasn't meant for Core 2, but using a pin-mod the Conroe can work there. From the other side the same pin-mod doesn't make the Wolfdale run on it even if the bios supports it (the system stops at some early bios procedures).

Asus p5gd1-vm. If some options are hidden maybe they can become visible with help of AmiBCP tool. But I haven't tried this method personally. Sometimes options get visible if some conditions are asserted: a "CPU ratio" option may get visible if a CPU has the unlocked ratio.

[ MS6168/PII-350/YMF754/98SE ]
[ 775i65G/E5500/9800Pro/Vortex2/ME ]

Reply 50 of 57, by Vlad94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

C2D indeed have both cores in one package, Pentium D not, it have two separate P4 Dies under IHS. Cores in C2D communicates with each other internally, Pentium D works just like dual-cpu system, each "core" communites directly with chipset separately. So chipset needs SMP for Pentium D, no POSTing issue is caused by just different pinout (like C2D in P4 board with no mod) 😜

Well, i have same issue with Asus p5wd2-e and BIOS from Asus p5w dh ,Conroe works but Wolfdale not. Different boards just have slightly different socket pinout I think, that's why Asus p5gd1-vm can work with Wolfdale.

I said 775xfire-vsta works awful with Wolfdale, I mean, it just acted random in BIOS ,it POSTed all the time but it required patience to BOOT into OS. So hardware seems to be able to take Wolfdale.

Reply 51 of 57, by lol228777555

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hello everyone! I tried to do everything according to your method on an epox ep-5edai motherboard with a 915p chipset with a core 2 duo e6550, according to the post encoder it hangs on C1 or even on FF (no post codes) can you help me with this, thanks in advance

Reply 52 of 57, by Roman555

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
lol228777555 wrote on 2024-04-28, 00:41:

Hello everyone! I tried to do everything according to your method on an epox ep-5edai motherboard with a 915p chipset with a core 2 duo e6550, according to the post encoder it hangs on C1 or even on FF (no post codes) can you help me with this, thanks in advance

Hello and welcome to Vogons!
1) epox ep-5edai doesn't support even Cedar Mill by its specification. It may be important.
2) core 2 duo e6550 has 1333MHz FSB. So BSEL-mod definitely must have as i915/925 is up to 800MHz by default.
3) Code C1 is about RAM problems. It might be caused by a too high frequency or a wrong init procedure. Try to find a newer or compatible BIOS. But it is really difficult and a hardware programmer tool must be at hand.
Look up Epox EP-5EDAI BIOS here
Good luck!

P.S. I found a proof in Internet that at least Cedar Mill Pentium 4 641 can work with Epox EP-5EDAI

[ MS6168/PII-350/YMF754/98SE ]
[ 775i65G/E5500/9800Pro/Vortex2/ME ]

Reply 53 of 57, by lol228777555

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Roman555 wrote on 2024-04-28, 09:53:
Hello and welcome to Vogons! 1) epox ep-5edai doesn't support even Cedar Mill by its specification. It may be important. 2) core […]
Show full quote
lol228777555 wrote on 2024-04-28, 00:41:

Hello everyone! I tried to do everything according to your method on an epox ep-5edai motherboard with a 915p chipset with a core 2 duo e6550, according to the post encoder it hangs on C1 or even on FF (no post codes) can you help me with this, thanks in advance

Hello and welcome to Vogons!
1) epox ep-5edai doesn't support even Cedar Mill by its specification. It may be important.
2) core 2 duo e6550 has 1333MHz FSB. So BSEL-mod definitely must have as i915/925 is up to 800MHz by default.
3) Code C1 is about RAM problems. It might be caused by a too high frequency or a wrong init procedure. Try to find a newer or compatible BIOS. But it is really difficult and a hardware programmer tool must be at hand.
Look up Epox EP-5EDAI BIOS here
Good luck!

P.S. I found a proof in Internet that at least Cedar Mill Pentium 4 641 can work with Epox EP-5EDAI

I just downloaded the previous version of the bios from there and installed it (since in the newest version the BIOS file weighs 512kb, and the native and penultimate one is 384, + AwardWinFlash also swears at this BIOS image, through which I flashed the motherboard) I would like to add microcodes on the e6550, but when I even changed the header in the system bios through the Award Bios Editor, the motherboard went into emergency mode and asked for a floppy disk or CD with DOS and AWDFLASH with the firmware itself

Reply 54 of 57, by Vlad94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
lol228777555 wrote on 2024-04-28, 00:41:

Hello everyone! I tried to do everything according to your method on an epox ep-5edai motherboard with a 915p chipset with a core 2 duo e6550, according to the post encoder it hangs on C1 or even on FF (no post codes) can you help me with this, thanks in advance

Hello! C1 code in Award BIOS is caused by missing instructions for Core 2 init, to add them you need to reverse engineer BIOS partly (and I don't think anyone managed to do that) 🙁 If you have EEPROM programmer you can try to flash BIOS from Asus P5GD1-VM or ASRock 775XFire-VSTA (only i915 BIOSes with Core 2 code).

Roman555 wrote on 2024-04-28, 09:53:

1) epox ep-5edai doesn't support even Cedar Mill by its specification. It may be important.

Cedar Mill support does not have anything to Core 2 support by modding. BTW. 1 of 3 steppings of Cedar Mill can work basically in every Prescott board, and funny enough it is newest stepping 🤣.

Reply 55 of 57, by PcBytes

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
lol228777555 wrote on 2024-04-28, 14:02:
Roman555 wrote on 2024-04-28, 09:53:
Hello and welcome to Vogons! 1) epox ep-5edai doesn't support even Cedar Mill by its specification. It may be important. 2) core […]
Show full quote
lol228777555 wrote on 2024-04-28, 00:41:

Hello everyone! I tried to do everything according to your method on an epox ep-5edai motherboard with a 915p chipset with a core 2 duo e6550, according to the post encoder it hangs on C1 or even on FF (no post codes) can you help me with this, thanks in advance

Hello and welcome to Vogons!
1) epox ep-5edai doesn't support even Cedar Mill by its specification. It may be important.
2) core 2 duo e6550 has 1333MHz FSB. So BSEL-mod definitely must have as i915/925 is up to 800MHz by default.
3) Code C1 is about RAM problems. It might be caused by a too high frequency or a wrong init procedure. Try to find a newer or compatible BIOS. But it is really difficult and a hardware programmer tool must be at hand.
Look up Epox EP-5EDAI BIOS here
Good luck!

P.S. I found a proof in Internet that at least Cedar Mill Pentium 4 641 can work with Epox EP-5EDAI

I just downloaded the previous version of the bios from there and installed it (since in the newest version the BIOS file weighs 512kb, and the native and penultimate one is 384, + AwardWinFlash also swears at this BIOS image, through which I flashed the motherboard) I would like to add microcodes on the e6550, but when I even changed the header in the system bios through the Award Bios Editor, the motherboard went into emergency mode and asked for a floppy disk or CD with DOS and AWDFLASH with the firmware itself

Award BIOS Editor cannot be used on BIOSes made on 6.00PG core. It will corrupt those, hence why you had the emergency mode appear.

"Enter at your own peril, past the bolted door..."
Main PC: i5 3470, GB B75M-D3H, 16GB RAM, 2x1TB
98SE : P3 650, Soyo SY-6BA+IV, 384MB RAM, 80GB

Reply 56 of 57, by R-998

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi all. Succesfully modded and runned all Core-2 cpus on many P4 only boards in single core mode (including quads) , for 915G here is my own Asus P5GD1-VM modbios - https://theretroweb.com/motherboards/s/asus-p5gd1-vm#bios , and here proofs of work - https://valid.x86.fr/zapj24 , https://hwbot.org/submission/5574748

Reply 57 of 57, by 775Forever478

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
R-998 wrote on 2024-06-15, 23:15:

Hi all. Succesfully modded and runned all Core-2 cpus on many P4 only boards in single core mode (including quads) , for 915G here is my own Asus P5GD1-VM modbios - https://theretroweb.com/motherboards/s/asus-p5gd1-vm#bios , and here proofs of work - https://valid.x86.fr/zapj24 , https://hwbot.org/submission/5574748

Can you make a BIOS mod for EPoX EP-5EDAI? I have a Pentium Dual-Core E5800 processor, I don’t want to be friends with it at all

link to the required bios:
https://theretroweb.com/motherboard/bios/5edi … b2745822298.bin