VOGONS

First post, by Taylor235

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi all
New here and on this scene so excuse me if I’m missing the blatantly obvious somewhere!
My first time attempting to put a nice old school rig together. Have picked up a socket 7 board - an MSI MS-5158 TX5. Came with a pentium 166 MMX and 32MB of EDO RAM. Seller showed the board tested and working prior to purchase. I’m no expert but I know enough about more modern systems so when I plugged everything in and got no output to the display and no POST beep, I did the normal troubleshooting - reseated the CPU, RAM, resetting the CMOS, replacing the battery but still not booting. Tried running without any expansion cards, without RAM, without the CPU in all different combinations but I am completely lost on this one.

When powered on the CPU fan does spin up, and the light on the SATA-IDE adapter I’m using turns on. Seller suggested that some boards require a -5v rail to work but I didn’t think that was usually the case? Also mentioned an issue they’d noticed where it would occasionally boot with the wrong clock speed recognised and they had to “jiggle” the dip switches - I’ve confirmed that both the jumpers and dip switches are set correctly, even tried underclocking but still to no avail… and I can’t even get as far as the POST to see that anyway! So really stumped here! Any advice would be appreciated.

Reply 2 of 17, by Taylor235

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
supercordo wrote on 2024-01-05, 23:57:

Might want to get a diagnostic card. Is anything getting warm?

I’ve got one of those on the way from amazon tomorrow so hopefully gives a better idea.

Nothing feels warm to the touch even after left on for a while that I can tell - but I could just be missing something again

Reply 3 of 17, by Repo Man11

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie