VOGONS

Common searches

DOS game programming

Topic actions

First post, by dada

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hi there. I didn't really know where to put this, so I hope this is in the right place.

Basically I'm interested in programming a DOS game. I just absolutely love DOS games from the early to mid-90s era, and even though there are much easier ways to make games, the whole process of figuring out how stuff works under the hood is very interesting to me.

So I'm wondering: do any of you know good resources for how to get started? Maybe sites or forums where I can ask questions? I'm a somewhat experienced web programmer and I've made games before in ActionScript 3, so I'm fine with documents that require some technical knowledge. I've started doing some work in TurboPascal (mainly because I read Tyrian 2000 was originally made in it) but any other language is fine too.

Thanks 😀

Reply 1 of 33, by gerwin

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Well I have fond memories of programming in Turbo Pascal for DOS. As there is not much multimedia in there by default you kind a look for graphics+soundblaster libraries and maybe end up writing your own set of libraries. Like writing a procedure to read bmp files, then pcx files. too much work but somehow fun.

There used to be something like SWAG if I remember correctly.
Maybe this is it: http://www.bsdg.org/swag/
I still have some of the more interesting code snippets stored somewhere.

Do think beforehand about how many memory you are gonna use, e.g. real-mode vs. protected-mode programming. Real-mode is the default but when you want to use bigger/truecolor bitmaps it easily falls short.

--> ISA Soundcard Overview // Doom MBF 2.04 // SetMul

Reply 3 of 33, by Gemini000

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Well, there's a couple ways you can go about this, and it's important to figure out right from the start if you want to work within the 640K limit, or go for something that uses more.