VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by ncmark

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I need some advice...

I have been stalling for at least six months on getting a copy of Windows XP. It can still be had, but it is getting scarce.

I am still running windows98 on most computers, and PCLinux on an internet computer.

My primary concern is running Canon Digital Photo Studio - which requires XP. I am currently running it at work. I will soon be forced to upgrade computers (again) which will come with windows 7 I am sure. The software may or may not work with windows 7.

The computer I would be running it on is an Athlon XP2400+ - the board will support up to 3 gigs of ram - so I think hardware is okay.

I kinda hate to spend the money right now, but something is telling me to grab XP while I still can.............

Reply 1 of 14, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
ncmark wrote:
I need some advice... […]
Show full quote

I need some advice...

I have been stalling for at least six months on getting a copy of Windows XP. It can still be had, but it is getting scarce.

I am still running windows98 on most computers, and PCLinux on an internet computer.

My primary concern is running Canon Digital Photo Studio - which requires XP. I am currently running it at work. I will soon be forced to upgrade computers (again) which will come with windows 7 I am sure. The software may or may not work with windows 7.

The computer I would be running it on is an Athlon XP2400+ - the board will support up to 3 gigs of ram - so I think hardware is okay.

I kinda hate to spend the money right now, but something is telling me to grab XP while I still can.............

Usually Socket A boards will work with 3GB of RAM, but will underclock the memory if theres more then 4 banks used (for instance, 2 bars of 1GB double sided memory will be 4 banks).

It shouldn't be too hard to get XP second hand though.