VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by Great Hierophant

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I am interested in knowing if any person on these forums regularly plays a multiplayer PC game, DOS or Windows on vintage hardware, and if what games are they playing and how do they do it.

Specifically, I am interested in people using systems primarily built with hardware released in the year 1999 or earlier. This means that the best graphics cards would be ones like Voodoo 2 SLI, Voodoo 3, Riva TNT2, Matrox G400 and ATi Rage 128 graphics, CPUs like Pentium IIs, Mendocino Celerons, Katmai Pentium IIIs, Classic Athlons & K6-2s & IIIs. Operating system is also important, as that hardware was usually run on Windows 98.

I believe that people today would have little difficulty in using Battle.net to run a game of Diablo, Diablo II, Warcraft II or Starcraft on a system of such vintage. Beyond that, I have little experience.

http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/ - Nerdly Pleasures - My Retro Gaming, Computing & Tech Blog

Reply 1 of 23, by Mau1wurf1977

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Hmm not really. Multiplayer is one area were I DO like to play modern games like BF3 or Black Ops 2. But with vintage games it's much more an individual hobby of mine 😀

My website with reviews, demos, drivers, tutorials and more...
My YouTube channel

Reply 3 of 23, by elianda

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Year 1999 and Mutliplayer?
Well there were tons of games at this time already supporting multiplayer.

For DOS worthwhile games can be Duke3D, Doom2, OMF, Death Rally and Warlords 2 Deluxe.
Windows9x probably Micro Machines V3, Diablo, Starcraft, Warcraft 2, CivNet, Earth 2140, 2150 as well as the early CnC games, Freespace, Freespace 2, Dethkarz, Unreal, Unreal Tournament, Alpha Centauri, DungeonKeeper, Forsaken, Revolt, Worms Armageddon.