VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by Malik

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I'm not a programmer (but used to play around with QBasic/BASIC) and would love to create the installation GUI screens for certain DOS games, which only came with basic BATCH installation program or those that only use the command line interface to complete the installation process.

I like those colourful ones used by Interplay (Descent, Mechwarrior 2), Mindscape (4D Boxing), Access (Countdown), Sierra etc.

And I would also love to have the progress bar which coincides with the file transfer status. (I always wondered how they managed that. 😁)

Are there any guides to program such screens?

I guess it will call the ANSI-like parameters to produce the colour boxes and backgrounds?

And I hope QBasic would be sufficient?

Thanks for any information.

5476332566_7480a12517_t.jpgSB Dos Drivers

Reply 1 of 26, by SquallStrife

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

The traditional way would be to use conio.h, but I don't know how you'd go about that in QBasic.

VogonsDrivers.com | Link | News Thread

Reply 2 of 26, by leileilol

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I'd like to know too, since I liked them.

I remember one scriptable install program I forgot the name of, but it was for DOS and Windows 3.1, it parsed the same syntaxes in their scripts, and was used by quite a few companies. No, it isn't Wise or InstallShield. I'll post screenshots of it later.

apsosig.png
long live PCem

Reply 3 of 26, by VileR

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

QBasic would probably be sufficient, I doubt you'd need anything like ANSI since there are dedicated routines for drawing to the screen in text mode.
Progress bars shouldn't be that hard in principle (get total number of bytes to be copied, periodically calculate the % copied so far and output desired number of ASCII #219 block characters)...