Common searches

How popular was the MT-32 and GM

Topic actions

First post, by badmojo

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I loved my computer as a kid, and although I had lots of different hobbies I'd say computer games were #1 both in terms of the level of interest, and longevity (I'm still playing them). But as interested as I was in both games and hardware during the late 80's and 90's, I don't recall ever wanting an MT-32 or GM device, because I don't think I even knew they existed. I didn't know anyone with anything more than a bog standard sound card, and I only got my first sound card in '94 or so - I started playing DOOM with PC speaker!

I spent plenty of time lurking in computer shops so maybe it's a region thing, but I'm under the impression that the MT-32, SCC1, etc were just not that common. I suppose cards like the AWE32, etc brought GM to the masses, but they were expensive back in the day, and again, no-one I knew had one.

Were they common? Was I living under a rock? (very possible).

Reply 1 of 21, by mr_bigmouth_502

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Whenever I talk to people around here who used to play DOS games back in the day, they only ever seem to mention either using a Soundblaster card, or the PC speaker. I never really even knew that GM was a big thing until I started posting here.

Reply 2 of 21, by bloodbat

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I *wanted* an MT-32 and couldn't afford one. Some time later I had a Yamaha XG device (it supported General MIDI too)...I loved its sound.
As for GM devices...MIDI is a specification for sending and interpreting messages, not a sound per se, what General MIDI entails is a standard numbering for programs (patches) (i.e an acoustic grand piano should always be first in a GM device) it is NOT limited to sound cards and is still in use today, from making music to controlling light rigs.
So...there.