Nvidia "G-Sync" announced

Topic actions

First post, by d1stortion

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/int … ter-free-gaming

Looks very promising! Screen tearing is certainly the most annoying issue today with games and this has the potential to eliminate it without causing atrocious VSync lag. Too bad this requires a new monitor though. Hopefully they will put out IPS panels with this even if it means only 60 Hz.

Reply 1 of 35, by Gemini000

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

As a programmer, I've been wondering for a long time when this would finally happen. The moment I read the name "G-Sync" I didn't even have to really read the article to know what was going on, then read the article and yup, exactly what I thought it was: Dynamic syncing of the monitor to the graphics device instead of syncing the graphics device to the monitor. :)

So long as nVidia makes sure this standard can be easily adopted, screen tearing and response issues will become a thing of the past before too long. ;)

--- Kris Asick (Gemini)
--- Pixelmusement Website: www.pixelships.com
--- Ancient DOS Games Webshow: www.pixelships.com/adg

Reply 2 of 35, by j7n

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I've never been bothered by screen tearing in games. If a game couldn't be played at smooth smooth framerate above 40-ish fps with V-sync, that's a game that was out of reach for me at the moment. I scanned the article for movie playback but didn't see it mentioned. Stuttering and/or tearing of "old tech" videos in a wide range of framerates is where the issue occurs most often.

If this G-sync is to become a standard, would one day normal v-sync become unsupported much like 16-bit color is today, reducing legacy games to youtube-like slideshow? I'm thinking of those kinds where the entire screen or large sections of it scroll or pan smoothly.

the biggest leap forward in gaming monitors since we went from standard definition to high-def