VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by Gemini000

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I think a few of you may already know where this is going...

A game recently launched on Steam after passing through the Greenlight process called "Vector".

I've been working on a game called "Vectorzone" which I announced in April of 2012.

...yeah...

Speaking as a game designer, I have a REAL problem with people who name their games after a single, real word, because it shows no creativity and blankets that word, making it difficult for other people to use it in the names of their games without it seeming like it's supposed to be a similar game, or that the game is derriving from the name in order to try and steal some of its popularity.

This has left me in a very frustrating position. "Vectorzone" is not a name I chose lightly and indeed, I spent the better part of an entire day trying to come up with it once I realized I couldn't go with "Vectorscape", which is what the project was initially called, since that name was already used by some other games out there.

The thing is though, Vector was originally a mobile game released in November of 2012. I can't find any evidence it was announced before then so technically, I have the date advantage when push comes to shove.

But then, do I fight this name fiasco, or do I just rename my game to something that won't adequately describe it and wouldn't realistically be used in context of the game's universe? I've already sent a message to Steam, asking them if having a similar name to something they've greenlit would be detremental to going through the Greenlight process, and I'm considering sending a polite (not an angry) eMail to Nekki Gmbh, asking if they would be willing to allow both games to exist together without causing a fuss over it.