Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Announcements, advice, random banter, unrelated discussion, et cetera.

Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby leileilol » 2014-3-25 @ 22:34

Here's an edited Q3A with paletted texture support, among other minor things (forcing nearest in software GL, hor+ widescreen, etc). Edited source files included.
Because of those two benchmark threads, i've decided to get this out sooner.

To use palettes, set r_textureBits 8. r_ext_paletted_texture must also be 1 if you want to use the extension provided by your card. It defaults to 1 anyway.

I've only tested this on a 3dfx Voodoo2, and testing was definitely successful. r_picmip 0 is playable :) I have not yet tested it on any other Voodoo card.

There are some unfinished things like paletted mips (right now they're simply resized without resampling) and bugs like some walls appearing pink, I really should get some alpha detection methods in there to force the channel off for some of them.

Some drivers do actually freak out - so far, don't try native paletted textures on:
- Microsoft GDI Generic
- SGI OpenGL for Windows
- nGlide wrapper + 3dfxvgl.dll
- DOSBox 3dfx-supporting build with Kekko's software driver and 3dfx Voodoo Graphics drivers


How paletted texturing usually looks, expect some vibrant colors to be banded.... but the performance!!!
Image





NOTE: THIS DOES NOT WORK PROPERLY ON VOODOO1
Attachments
goodpalette.pk3.zip
A palette to use for better color reproduction - rename this file to the PK3 extension, then place it in baseq3
(980 Bytes) Downloaded 142 times
q3vog1.zip
V1 Release with source
(539.48 KiB) Downloaded 152 times
Last edited by leileilol on 2015-7-07 @ 19:52, edited 1 time in total.
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9738
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby keropi » 2014-3-26 @ 07:31

wow thanks for this!
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 7140
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby d1stortion » 2014-3-26 @ 08:45

Thought the game was Hor+ in the first place...
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby Jarvik7 » 2014-3-26 @ 10:01

I've actually been playing around with Quake 3 lately too.

Though I'm going in the opposite direction by writing a totally new Q3 renderer in C++ (from scratch - no game libraries like unity/ogre) with GL3 + glsl.
I'm trying to implement everything in modern techniques, so I'm actually throwing out a lot of the baked in Q3 data:
-Global illumination instead of vertex illumination and lightmaps
-Occlusion culling instead of PVS
-GLSL instead of the q3 shader system

I'm also not using any code (or even referring to) from the Q3 source release. Already have the level itself rendering done in a pretty nice state in 56KB of code.

It's just a way to teach myself OpenGL though. I actually REALLY hated Quake3 for being multiplayer-only. As such no one will probably ever be interested in my releasing this since I won't be adding networking or even bots for local play (unless at some point I become interested in AI programming).
Jarvik7
Newbie
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 2013-12-13 @ 07:43
Location: Nagoya, Japan

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby F2bnp » 2014-3-26 @ 11:19

I will give this a try in the coming weeks :)
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby Davros » 2014-3-26 @ 15:17

"rename this file to the PK3 extension"
so
goodpalette.pk3.pk3 ?
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2618
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby leileilol » 2014-3-26 @ 20:50

Just chop off the .zip extension. .pk3 isn't allowed on Vogons :(

Jarvik7 wrote:-GLSL instead of the q3 shader system

That would be fine if you parsed the old shaders just to layer textures or find tcGens and substitute other effects for it like cubemapping reflecting the current scene in GLSL. At least have two stages supported because of certain effects like the crossblended fires :)

Also doing it from scratch reminds me of this old noble effort - which I wonder is portable enough to be a renderer module...

d1stortion wrote:Thought the game was Hor+ in the first place...


Nope. Default behavior is Vert-, and often the "wide screen fix's" are just raising the cg_fov value to compensate, though this also introduces vertical distortion and the weapon being pushed down - and r_customPixelAspect doesn't seem to actually work as intended.
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9738
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby d1stortion » 2014-3-27 @ 05:21

I pulled that from here, the screenshots look ok to me (aside from the obviously stretched hud, but it's an old game anyway). There is something going on with the crosshair though, but the circular objects in the background still appear circular in widescreen.
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby mr_bigmouth_502 » 2014-3-28 @ 04:51

I've been wanting proper widescreen support for Quake III for such a long time. I hope this engine delivers. :)

EDIT: Just played a few minutes of it with this engine, then with the original quake3.exe, the Hor+ support makes a whole world of difference. Hopefully this won't be considered cheating online. XD

Amazingly, Unreal Tournament and even Quake II had proper support for widescreen resolutions afaik, and both games used engines that predated Quake III. I don't know what method of widescreen correction they used, but whatever the case was, in Quake II selecting a widescreen resolution was as easy as choosing any other resolution, and for UT, all it took was one console command, and no meddling with configuration files or anything.
My NEW(ish) desktop:
Image
User avatar
mr_bigmouth_502
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: 2009-5-16 @ 19:43
Location: Canada

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby leileilol » 2014-3-30 @ 22:33

It shouldn't be cheating since even Quake Live has hor+, IIRC.

Q2 and UT were vert-.
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9738
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby mr_bigmouth_502 » 2014-3-31 @ 08:08

leileilol wrote:It shouldn't be cheating since even Quake Live has hor+, IIRC.

Q2 and UT were vert-.


So by playing Q2 and UT at my monitor's full resolution, I'm actually putting myself at a disadvantage? Dang. :P
My NEW(ish) desktop:
Image
User avatar
mr_bigmouth_502
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: 2009-5-16 @ 19:43
Location: Canada

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby d1stortion » 2014-3-31 @ 08:56

UT allows for a custom FOV to compensate...
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby F2bnp » 2014-4-02 @ 00:58

Pleased to announce that this does indeed work on my Voodoo 3 3000 with 3Dfx's OpenGL ICD. It also does indeed give a slight performance boost :). Cool stuff leilei, keep it coming!
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby mr_bigmouth_502 » 2014-4-02 @ 04:13

d1stortion wrote:UT allows for a custom FOV to compensate...


I never actually knew that UT allowed you to set your FOV. What would be a good FOV for a 16:10 monitor?
My NEW(ish) desktop:
Image
User avatar
mr_bigmouth_502
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: 2009-5-16 @ 19:43
Location: Canada

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby subhuman@xgtx » 2014-4-02 @ 07:19

The engine will instantly crash for me with a gray/white screen on a Pentium 3 with an Obsidian2 200sbi and win98se. I have already tried placing official 3dfx icds on rhe game's directory without results. Can this be because of using non-reference, custom drivers for the sli card?
Image

Image
User avatar
subhuman@xgtx
Oldbie
 
Posts: 559
Joined: 2011-12-04 @ 16:52
Location: Deserted Chateau

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby F2bnp » 2014-4-02 @ 10:41

subhuman@xgtx wrote:The engine will instantly crash for me with a gray/white screen on a Pentium 3 with an Obsidian2 200sbi and win98se. I have already tried placing official 3dfx icds on rhe game's directory without results. Can this be because of using non-reference, custom drivers for the sli card?


Try switching from 3dfxvgl.dll to opengl32.dll and vice versa.
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby d1stortion » 2014-4-02 @ 12:39

mr_bigmouth_502 wrote:
d1stortion wrote:UT allows for a custom FOV to compensate...


I never actually knew that UT allowed you to set your FOV. What would be a good FOV for a 16:10 monitor?

100, presumably.
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby Gamecollector » 2014-4-02 @ 19:05

subhuman@xgtx wrote:The engine will instantly crash for me with a gray/white screen on a Pentium 3 with an Obsidian2 200sbi and win98se. I have already tried placing official 3dfx icds on rhe game's directory without results. Can this be because of using non-reference, custom drivers for the sli card?

You must patch Q3A to version 1.32.
P.S. This renderer is slow... P4 3.2 GHz + Voodoo2 12 MB.
Asus P4P800 SE/Pentium4 3.2E/2 Gb DDR400B,
Radeon HD3850 Agp (Sapphire), Catalyst 14.4 (XpProSp3).
Voodoo2 12 MB SLI, Win2k drivers 1.02.00 (XpProSp3).
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby mr_bigmouth_502 » 2014-4-02 @ 19:49

d1stortion wrote:
mr_bigmouth_502 wrote:
d1stortion wrote:UT allows for a custom FOV to compensate...


I never actually knew that UT allowed you to set your FOV. What would be a good FOV for a 16:10 monitor?

100, presumably.


Cool. Would I be able to use this online, like on Quake III, or would it be considered a cheat?
My NEW(ish) desktop:
Image
User avatar
mr_bigmouth_502
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1954
Joined: 2009-5-16 @ 19:43
Location: Canada

Re: Q3V - a Q3A hack-up, just for Vogons!

Postby leileilol » 2014-4-02 @ 22:35

It's not Punkbuster protected.

Gamecollector wrote:P.S. This renderer is slow... P4 3.2 GHz + Voodoo2 12 MB.

And what ICD are you using? I'd imagine those "fast" Mesa3D-based ones might not implement paletted textures... remember to enable paletted, r_textureBits 8 and r_ext_paletted_texture 1. If paletted texture isn't natively supported, then you'll see smooth and clean mipmaps (since I didn't implement that function for true paletted), and the console should have a warning message about that extension.

I've only tested this in a January 2000 3dfx GL ICD and it's definitely faster on that.
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9738
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Next

Return to Milliways

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests