Common searches

Old computers for daily tasks?

Topic actions

First post, by senrew

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Been awhile since I've been around but I couldn't find anything like this recently.

Does anyone use a retro machine for everyday computing tasks (aside from gaming)?

Everytime an old-school author comes up in the news saying they use some ancient program for writing (GRRM most recently) it makes me wonder if anyone here uses something old for random tasks?

I have a period-correct version of Office installed on all of my retro machines, just in case I need to do something while I'm working on them. My old Macs all have productivity software. However, I have an Office365 subscription so I've got the most up to date and modern version of Office available on any of my modern machines.

I've been thinking of doing a personal "30 days with an old machine" experiment and see if I can get by with an old non-internet-connected machine for all of my other everyday tasks.

Anyone else?

Halcyon: PC Chips M525, P100, 64MB, Millenium 1, Voodoo1, AWE64, DVD, Win95B

Reply 1 of 56, by obobskivich

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

These two threads are the most recent/active on this topic that I've seen:
Know anyone that does high value work on old machines?
Anecdotal accounts of Windows 7 on dual Tualatin rigs for everyday computing

In general I don't think there'd be any problems with using an older machine offline for whatever it can do - for example using an old Mac 6500 for word processing (it's not like Word 95 or Lotus Notes magically stopped being functional with age). No different than using such a machine for gaming methinks. It gets tricky when you want to bring the Internet, modern networking, etc into the equation. It may also be problematic if you have to deal with newer filetypes, like for example newer XML-enabled Office documents tend to be a problem for very old versions of Office.

Reply 4 of 56, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++