VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by Kerr Avon

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

[I know this isn't retro/PC related, but mods please let this thread stand, as I'm trying to do the following, and since this forum has some very knowledgeable people, I'm hoping I can get some help on the matter, since I'm new to iPads and Apple in general]

I've been asked to put some video files onto an iPad (an iPad Mini, I think, 14GB). So what software should I use, and if possible please suggest something other than iTunes, as I'm no fan of that software. I'm using Windows 7.

I only need to transfer across some video files (Mrs Brown's Boys, a very funny British program), so I'm not bothered about anything fancy on the Windows side of the program - I don't care about music meta-data, or album covers, or anything at all except for transferring the video files to the iPad so that a complete iPad novice (i.e the one person on the planet who knows less about the iPad than I do) can view the videos.

Also, the files are currently in .avi format, but I think I read that the iPad needs them in .mp4 format. If so, what's a good program (Handbrake, Format Factory, etc?) to convert them, and what settings should I use?

Thanks for any answers (especially if the answer involves a no-bloatware file transfer function between the PC and the iPad!)

Reply 1 of 3, by obobskivich

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I don't know what formats the iPad can read (I'm not intimately familiar with the iPad) but when you connect it up to Windows, does it show up in "Computer" as a removable device, and can you "open" that device and drop the file there? (there may be a folder tree that you have to explore a bit to find something like \user\media\video or somesuch) I've known that to work on iPods and other mp3/mp4 players in the past.

Reply 2 of 3, by Dominus

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Moderator
Rank
DOSBox Moderator