VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by ncmark

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have yet to activate my new XP box because I know once I do I am "stuck" with that configuration.

One my my last issues is the.......hard drive. It currently has a ST340016A (40-gigabute). Old reliable - I probably have 10-12 of these drives and have bot had one fail. But a tad small.

The MB is an Asus a7v600 which DOES have SATA support. Now I have ZERO experience with SATA.
(1) Would a newer drive work with it? I have heard different things about that.
(2) Would the computer be able to recognize it without loading drivers? I have heard stories about people having to boot on an IDE and install drivers to get the SATA recognized. Like I say, I have no experience with SATA.

My gut tells me it works, leave it alone, and save SATA for the next build. This is kind of an "in-between board," The small drive size can be compensated for with external drives.

I am also dubious as to the reliability of these newer drives. Seems when you start reading reviews they are all VERY mixed - regardless of which brand you are talking about.

Any feedbck will be appreciated.

Reply 1 of 11, by obobskivich

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

It should work; worst case you will need a diskette that you insert during the XP installation (where it holds up to let you install disk drivers) to have the SATA controller (not the drive) drivers available during install. Newer versions of XP (SP2/3) have more drivers in their builds than "base" or SP1 builds though, and it may not be an issue at all. If the board has "SATA Emulation" options in the BIOS that may eliminate the problem as well (just set it to IDE and it should work). As far as new drives and whatnot, I think the reliability thing is somewhat overblown anymore - WD and Seagate still make good drives, but there will be a fail rate with anything; anymore I think all you hear about with "user reviews" is the bad experiences though.