VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by Kerr Avon

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I was asked to recommend a couple of programs (which happens enough to make me wish I had a fiver for every time!), and I didn't know offhand either type of program, but since work is slow ATM, I've tried a few, and UK's Kalender and Free Youtube Download seem to do what was asked for. So I thought that since we've not had a "Useful Windows programs" thread in a while, that I'd create one now.

Please post any Windows programs (not games, but anything else that you find interesting, please), preferably free, but also shareware or professional if they're worth the cash. And if you post something that you think is better than a similar program in someone else's post, then please post why you think it's better.

Here are some programs that I use (except for the first two listed, I'm new to those), and that I put on new/fixed PCs that go through my hands, if needed. All of these are either free or have free versions that contain the functions that you need. Just google for them.

UK's Kalender - displays a calander on boot up (and whenever you want to see it, of course) and can be used to set reminders, even in the form of an event that's every x days (or weeks).

Free Youtube Download - allows you to queue up Youtube videos to download, and then to automatically convert them to different formats.

7Zip - archiver/dearchiver (uses the usual formats, such as zip, 7z, rar, etc).

VLC - Movie player.

WinAMP - Music player (yes, it's ancient, but it does what I want it to, so whay change?).

Irfanview - image viewer.

Format Factory - movie/music converter.

Calibre - ebook viewer and converter.

FileLocator Lite - searches for files on your discs, a better file finder than Windows' own.

Treesize - shows you how much space different folders and files take up on your hard drive.

Unlocker - deletes or moves files that Windows refuses to.

Avast! - anti-virus and anti-malware software.