VOGONS

Common searches


Bought this (Modern) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 1160 of 1266, by NyLan

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Today I received these lovely 100mn CDR ( 900MB ! )

IMG-20200730-210609.jpg

Already burned 2 for games that requires a little bit more than 800MB. Really usefull 😀

My Intel SE440BX-2 Intel's website Mirror : Modified to include docs, refs and BIOSes.

Reply 1161 of 1266, by Bruninho

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

It's 2020, and someone is still using CDs? Amazing

"Design isn't just what it looks like and feels like. Design is how it works."
JOBS, Steve.

Reply 1163 of 1266, by NyLan

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I don't want to "crack" a game that needs a CD. ( like Carmageddon, GTA, GP2, etc.. ) and I will not use a DVD player on my WIndows98 Rig. I'll even replace the 48x CD player I have by a slower one when I'll find a 4 or 8x 😀

My Intel SE440BX-2 Intel's website Mirror : Modified to include docs, refs and BIOSes.

Reply 1164 of 1266, by Salient

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
NyLan wrote on 2020-07-30, 19:12:

Today I received these lovely 100mn CDR ( 900MB ! )
Already burned 2 for games that requires a little bit more than 800MB. Really usefull 😀

These are nice for Sega Saturn ISO's too.

MIDI comparison website: << Wavetable.nl >>
(Always) looking for: Any Wavetable daughterboard, MIDI Module (GM/GS/XG)

Reply 1165 of 1266, by martinot

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
imi wrote on 2020-07-27, 20:35:

just thinking... I'd have the chance to buy a 200Mhz 2ch scope locally, do I need 200Mhz or 4channels more in retro computer repairs? ^^

It is always a trade off (and nice to have both), but given the choice, I would personally go for a 2 ch 200 MHz scope for repairing an old retro PC.

As rule of thumb you need at least five times (5x) the bandwidth that you would like to measure *1. If you want to do a complete check up of an old 40 MHz machine your generally better off with a 200 MHz scope.

Ref 1: https://siglentna.com/operating-tip/determine … re-application/

Reply 1166 of 1266, by martinot

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
NyLan wrote on 2020-07-29, 12:02:
I bought 2 IDE/Sata Adapters. Works the same on ATA33 (22MB/s Read and 32MB/s Write) but I just tested on another ATA100 Mobo a […]
Show full quote

I bought 2 IDE/Sata Adapters. Works the same on ATA33 (22MB/s Read and 32MB/s Write) but I just tested on another ATA100 Mobo and Startech is slightly faster :

( With an Intel SSD )
Startech : Read 109MB/s and Write 81MB/s
Digitus : Read 96MB/s and Write 78MB/s

Digitus
IMG-20200729-131616.jpg
IMG-20200729-131645.jpg

Startech
IMG-20200729-131602.jpg
IMG-20200729-131713.jpg

Nice!

Where did you buy the Startech one?

Reply 1168 of 1266, by buckeye

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Made some recent purchases for a new build. Went cheap on the case, after looking it over
major pain awaits. Cable management is not my "forte", stay tuned elsewhere for my
"ahem" progress.

Attachments

Foxconn Q45M E8400 Core2 Duo 3GB DDR2 800 BFG Geforce 7950GT 512MB X-Fi Xtreme Music 500W XP SP3
Intel SE440BX P3 450 256MB 40GB Voodoo 3000 16MB SB 32pnp 350W 98SE
MSI x570 Gaming Pro Carbon Ryzen 3700x 16GB DDR4 Zotac RTX 3070 8GB WD Black 1TB 650W

Reply 1169 of 1266, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
luckybob wrote on 2020-07-30, 20:35:

thats great and all, but at that point wouldn't it be easier to us a DVD? Or am I missing something?

You need these for old 386 and 486 computers that only have CDR’s.
DVD player requires a pentium CPU.

lots of local stores no longer sell CDR disks so better buy them up as long as they are still making them.

Reply 1170 of 1266, by Shagittarius

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Intel486dx33 wrote on 2020-08-03, 21:32:
You need these for old 386 and 486 computers that only have CDR’s. DVD player requires a pentium CPU. […]
Show full quote
luckybob wrote on 2020-07-30, 20:35:

thats great and all, but at that point wouldn't it be easier to us a DVD? Or am I missing something?

You need these for old 386 and 486 computers that only have CDR’s.
DVD player requires a pentium CPU.

lots of local stores no longer sell CDR disks so better buy them up as long as they are still making them.

I run a DVD drive on my IBM AT. That's an 8Mhz 80286, I don't know what you are talking about.

Reply 1171 of 1266, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Well, mosts DVD drive minimal system requirements list a Pentium II class CPU or better. And the CDR’s are more compatible than the DVD as the CDR will work in any drive. I tried a Sony DVD drive in a Sony Pentium 150MHz computer once and it did not work well.

Attachments

Reply 1172 of 1266, by bestemor

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I would assume those requirements are included because of the DVD part, burning and playing movies etc in particular.
So perhaps just reading a simple CD would be just fine even on a 386 or 486 ? Not sure about burning a CD though, but...

But then again, you have had bad experiences with a DVD drive on Pentium 150mhz, so who knows...
(not sure if that was with just a CD or a DVD ?)

Reply 1173 of 1266, by Shagittarius

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Intel486dx33 wrote on 2020-08-06, 06:29:

Well, mosts DVD drive minimal system requirements list a Pentium II class CPU or better. And the CDR’s are more compatible than the DVD as the CDR will work in any drive. I tried a Sony DVD drive in a Sony Pentium 150MHz computer once and it did not work well.

Those are requirements to use the software, not for the DVD drive to work. Of course any kind of software suite you use is going to have to work with your hardware.

Reply 1174 of 1266, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
NyLan wrote on 2020-07-30, 19:12:
Today I received these lovely 100mn CDR ( 900MB ! ) […]
Show full quote

Today I received these lovely 100mn CDR ( 900MB ! )

IMG-20200730-210609.jpg

Already burned 2 for games that requires a little bit more than 800MB. Really usefull 😀

I have never seen 900mb disks. How do they do that ? Does it require a special CDR drive ?

Reply 1175 of 1266, by NyLan

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Intel486dx33 wrote on 2020-08-06, 18:15:
NyLan wrote on 2020-07-30, 19:12:
Today I received these lovely 100mn CDR ( 900MB ! ) […]
Show full quote

Today I received these lovely 100mn CDR ( 900MB ! )

IMG-20200730-210609.jpg

Already burned 2 for games that requires a little bit more than 800MB. Really usefull 😀

I have never seen 900mb disks. How do they do that ? Does it require a special CDR drive ?

Hi,
Nothing special, I'm using a Lenovo USB Burner on my Windows 10 computer to burn them ( using Nero + Overburn )
On my old P3 / P4 Rigs I have a regular IDE CD player. It sees them correctly, no issues.

My Intel SE440BX-2 Intel's website Mirror : Modified to include docs, refs and BIOSes.

Reply 1176 of 1266, by martinot

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Intel486dx33 wrote on 2020-08-06, 06:29:

Well, mosts DVD drive minimal system requirements list a Pentium II class CPU or better. And the CDR’s are more compatible than the DVD as the CDR will work in any drive. I tried a Sony DVD drive in a Sony Pentium 150MHz computer once and it did not work well.

As as others already has (at least partly) pointed out, those requirements or for all of the software/apps bundle included with the DVD drive. Usually for the movie codecs while playing and watching DVD films, etc.

If you just want to read data (for example copy normal files) from a disc, those do not generally apply. It is (more or less) comparable to simply adding another IDE drive (like hard drive, SSD, etc.) to the machine.

Reply 1177 of 1266, by GuillermoXT

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Does anyone own a Kworld DVBS 100 and could tell me the specs of the missing capacitor on the left?

Attachments

GA-586TX-3 Mainboard
K6-2 400 CPU AFQ (6x66mhz)
128MB Ram
Matrox Mystique 4MB + Voodoo 1 4MB
4x USB 2.0 hub PCI
Fastrack Ultra 100 PCI
80gb HDD
Sound Blaster Pro 2 ISA

Reply 1178 of 1266, by Standard Def Steve

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I finally bought a new fight stick today.
rJ6e5w7.jpg

And here she is, all ready for action. Let me tell you guys, I'm just chuffed to bits with this thing. And I know Goldilocks would approve because ahhh...this fight stick feels just right baby! I've already spent half the evening playing the hell out of Dariusburst with it and couldn't be happier.
oRgvp1x.jpg

Standard Def Rigs
Super P3: PIII-S @ 1.63 GHz/FSB155 | 2GB DDR-310 | 6800GT AGP | 500GB 7200 RPM
Super G4: 2x PowerPC 7455 @ 1.5 GHz | 2GB DDR-333 | 7800GS AGP | 300GB 10k RPM
Super G5: 4x PowerPC 970 @ 2.5 GHz | 16GB DDR2-533 | x1950XT PCIe | 512GB SSD

Reply 1179 of 1266, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Stumbled on a used BenQ BL2711-8 (BL2711-U) today, 27" 4K @ 60Hz, paid $29.95 at a local thrift store. Works great at 3840x2160 except has one dark spot as seen near the mouse pointer in first picture. The second pic is 1920x1080 mode, quite sharp ! Even though I have 14 days to return it, I do not think I will, can live with one little dark spot 😀

Attachments

  • Img_1278s.jpg
    Filename
    Img_1278s.jpg
    File size
    418.52 KiB
    Views
    177 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Img_1279s.jpg
    Filename
    Img_1279s.jpg
    File size
    550.97 KiB
    Views
    177 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣 Second computer a 286 12Mhz with real IDE drive ! After that came 386, 486, Pentium, P.Pro and everything after....