VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by simbin

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

I'm new to ordering retro computer parts overseas and wanted to ask for some advice. I'm wanting to purchase a bare OEM socket 7 chip from a UK seller. The chip itself is only $20 but shipping would be almost $25. Does that seem right or are they overcharging? It doesn't seem like a tiny bare chip should cost that much but I've no experience ordering retro computer parts overseas. Any advice on negotiating a better shipping rate, if it is overpriced? Thanks

WIP: 486DX2/66, 16MB FastPage RAM, TsengLabs ET4000 VLB
Check out my Retro-Ghetto build (2016 Update) 😀
Commodore 128D, iBook G3 "Clamshell"
3DO M2, Genesis, Saturn, Dreamcast, NES, SNES, N64, GBC

Reply 1 of 5, by Skyscraper

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
simbin wrote:

I'm new to ordering retro computer parts overseas and wanted to ask for some advice. I'm wanting to purchase a bare OEM socket 7 chip from a UK seller. The chip itself is only $20 but shipping would be almost $25. Does that seem right or are they overcharging? It doesn't seem like a tiny bare chip should cost that much but I've no experience ordering retro computer parts overseas. Any advice on negotiating a better shipping rate, if it is overpriced? Thanks

I paid $45 for shipping two Pentium Pro Overdrive CPUs with FedEx from the US to Sweden. The package got stuck in customs so I also had to pay Swedish VAT (25%) on both the cost for the CPUs and the shipping and also a ~$20 administrative fee.

The CPUs ended up beeing very expensive.

From what I have heard US buyers dont have to worry about customs fees for small things like old CPUs though. Cheaper shipping in this case would probably be with Royal Mail, a bare Socket 7 CPU sent as an untracked letter should cost less than £5 to ship... I think.

New PC: i9 12900K @5GHz all cores @1.2v. MSI PRO Z690-A. 32GB DDR4 3600 CL14. 3070Ti.