Common searches

Retro CG/CGI discussion group?

Topic actions

First post, by snorg

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Maybe this doesn't really merit its own group/subforum, as it is more than a bit outside the scope of Vogons (being first and foremost a gaming forum) but is anyone interested in chatting about old CG (computer graphics) stuff? I know there are one or two other members on here with a more than passing interest but I can't for the life of me remember forum names right now.

Maybe we could just start a forum thread in Milliways and meet up there. Thoughts?

Reply 2 of 38, by snorg

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
leileilol wrote:

I take it you're looking for enthusiasts of shiny realtime toruses and raytraced spheres on checkerboards?

🤣. Kinda sorta but I'm open to expanding that to include 3D game dev stuff. I have zero experience with that but it never hurts to learn something new. I'm not sure if I should include 2D stuff as well because then we've got all the early 2D animation stuff that was done with Deluxe Paint and the like. Not that there is anything wrong with that, I love Deluxe Paint but it is not what immediately leaps to mind when I think of CG, although technically it qualifies. I don't want to get too far off scope though, so mainly 3D related stuff but possibly image processing in general as well. Like, I'm mainly interested in 3D but I'd love to learn more about the other stuff too, or see what other people are doing hobby-wise.

Reply 3 of 38, by vvbee

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

As you say I don't see the vogons userbase being an optimal platform for this, it's generally about building pcs and gaming with emulators. But you might set up a flypaper outlet for people to contribute and discuss their new retro 3d renderings made with old software or methods and have a community around that.

Reply 6 of 38, by xjas

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t