Rank
l33t++

anyone got oled display?
It looks they got pretty cheap and pushing away traditional ones

Reply 2 of 18, by tpowell.ca

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

I think burn-in is still a real problem as is the case with plasma.
I would not use it for gaming.

• Merlin: MS-4144, AMD5x86-160 32MB, 16GB CF, ZIP100, Orpheus, GUS, S3 VirgeGX 2MB
    Tesla: GA-6BXC, VIA C3 Ezra-T, 256MB, 120GB SATA, YMF744, GUSpnp, Quadro2
    Newton: K6XV3+/66, AMD K6-III+500, 256MB, 32GB SSD, AWE32, Voodoo3

Reply 3 of 18, by DosFreak

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Still using crappy IPS monitors here which I've been using since 2007. 🙁

Recently bought a refurb Precision 5520 w/4k glossy screen since I'm giving my parents my 5510 w/ matte 1080p screen for Christmas. Was going to do 1080 for the 5520 as well but those screens are shit so went with the 4k at 250% scaling 🙄 . The scaling issues are ridiculous.

Finally looked into peoples complaints about DOSBox with 4K (probly could have tested with DSR before) and as usual it's overblown change to overlay and change windowresolution and no more tiny screen. Think DOSBox needs a 1/2 res setting for window resolution in dosbox.conf tho.

Found this: https://www.rtings.com/tv/learn/permanent-ima … urn-in-lcd-oled

The max I spend on a monitor is $800 which is already way too much so if I went OLED it would have to be $400 (since it degrades) and not even TV screens are that cheap yet.

Supposedly the lastest OLED can last 100,000 hours which is 11+yrs. Unknown what the screen would actually look like by then but supposedly that would be 50% brightness and it won't be uniform so yeah.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Make your games work offline

Reply 4 of 18, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
DosFreak wrote: