VOGONS

Common searches


First post, by wirerogue

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

i recently saw that folding @ home has taken on covid-19.
it's been a while since i've done any folding@home.
for some reason, my main gaming rig sits idle most the time. i blame you guys.
since i am now home full time with pay, i decided to fire up the gtx1080 and fold away.
is anyone else here folding?
does vogons have a folding@home team?

AEAVEwk.png

Reply 1 of 9, by Errius

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Does their client support Windows NT and Windows 2000? I could unleash the power of my Pentium Pro and Pentium II Xeon servers.

“Your mission is to attack and destroy the Apple Computer manufacturing plant. You are allotted 35 bombs and 60 lasers."

Reply 2 of 9, by wirerogue

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

https://foldingathome.org/support/faq/install … s/requirements/

all of the covid-19 work units i've done so far have been gpu only.

Last edited by wirerogue on 2020-03-23, 22:25. Edited 1 time in total.

AEAVEwk.png

Reply 3 of 9, by vmr_

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

yup, rx570 and gtx 1060 on the job

Retro builds & sandbox
IBM XT 5160 | 286 | 386 | 486 | S4 SI5PI AIO + P60 SX828
S8 & Pentium Pro 200 | SS7 Asus P5A + AOpen AX59 & AMD K6III+ 550MHz
Slot A Asus K7M Athlon 1Ghz GDF | Slot 1 Pentium III 1GHz SL4KL

Reply 4 of 9, by wirerogue

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
vmr_ wrote on 2020-03-23, 22:25:

yup, rx570 and gtx 1060 on the job

have you received any new work units today? i haven't received any since late last night.

AEAVEwk.png

Reply 5 of 9, by vmr_

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I checked once during the day and saw one job being progressed, so I assume it does work

Retro builds & sandbox
IBM XT 5160 | 286 | 386 | 486 | S4 SI5PI AIO + P60 SX828
S8 & Pentium Pro 200 | SS7 Asus P5A + AOpen AX59 & AMD K6III+ 550MHz
Slot A Asus K7M Athlon 1Ghz GDF | Slot 1 Pentium III 1GHz SL4KL

Reply 6 of 9, by vmr_

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

again, more work inits done today, so it works

Retro builds & sandbox
IBM XT 5160 | 286 | 386 | 486 | S4 SI5PI AIO + P60 SX828
S8 & Pentium Pro 200 | SS7 Asus P5A + AOpen AX59 & AMD K6III+ 550MHz
Slot A Asus K7M Athlon 1Ghz GDF | Slot 1 Pentium III 1GHz SL4KL

Reply 7 of 9, by matze79

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
wirerogue wrote on 2020-03-23, 03:43:
i recently saw that folding @ home has taken on covid-19. it's been a while since i've done any folding@home. for some reason, m […]
Show full quote

i recently saw that folding @ home has taken on covid-19.
it's been a while since i've done any folding@home.
for some reason, my main gaming rig sits idle most the time. i blame you guys.
since i am now home full time with pay, i decided to fire up the gtx1080 and fold away.
is anyone else here folding?
does vogons have a folding@home team?

they don`t have enough data to feed all machines anyway, thats why your machine is idling.

https://dosreloaded.de - The German Retro DOS PC Community
https://www.retroianer.de - under constructing since ever

Co2 - for a endless Summer

Reply 8 of 9, by xjas

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

How much grunt to I need to throw at this to do anything useful? Would something like a C2D / Athlon 64 x2 with a GeForce 605 or a Radeon HD4670 1GB be able to get anything done? That's about all I have around here for "spare" hardware. I'm pretty close to the new distribution server LTT are setting up so at least that won't be a bottleneck.

I understand F@H has been going on since the Pentium 4 was hot beans, but times do change...

twitch.tv/oldskooljay - playing the obscure, forgotten & weird - most Tuesdays & Thursdays @ 6:30 PM PDT. Bonus streams elsewhen!

Reply 9 of 9, by ynari

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Just a note to say that Folding@home has had plenty of work units recently - my CPUs and main GPU are constantly occupied. I did need to tell it not to use the Quadro 6000, though, it's far too slow compared to the Vega 56.

Speaking of Vega, if you have one ensure the latest bleeding edge driver is in use. There's a nasty black screen bug if F@H is run at the same time as playing accelerated video (i.e. Youtube), that managed to corrupt my Windows 10 installation beyond recoverability.