*START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Forum for discussion of bugs, code, and other aspects of SoftMPU.

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby theelf » 2015-7-30 @ 20:01

bjwil1991 wrote:The only memory managers that work with the SoftMPU program are only emm386 and qemm at the moment.

Since Jemm386 is part of FreeDOS, the memory manager doesn't work with the software quite yet since the SoftMPU program needs sets of instructions or commands to allow Jemm386 to work with the SoftMPU program itself.


Thanks for answer, well no choice, dual boot for now

I love to find alternatives to the "reset" button :happy:

thanks
User avatar
theelf
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2011-9-25 @ 19:39

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby theelf » 2015-8-02 @ 02:56

Hi guys,

sorry double post, but I will answer my question myself, about how to load emm386 from command line

This software DEVICE works great with emm386 and softmpu

http://www.drdos.net/tools.htm

load device drivers at the prompt: device.com (1.5 KB)


Just need to do a batch, for every game, very simple

device emm386.exe noems
softmpu /Sb:5.. etc
game.exe



Works great!


And softmpu can be removed too

ftp://ftp.radiomaryja.pl.eu.org/vol/rzm1/simtelnet/msdos/tsrutil/tsr-rem1.zip

In this case the batch can be

device emm386.exe noems
mark
softmpu /Sb:5.. etc
game.exe
tsr-rem
User avatar
theelf
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2011-9-25 @ 19:39

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby Cloudschatze » 2015-8-10 @ 17:14

Figured I'd mention that SoftMPU's "/RA50" switch should also be useful if happen to own an Aztech Sound Galaxy Wave Power DB, which likewise ignores the All Notes Off MIDI message (thanks, Ensoniq!).
User avatar
Cloudschatze
Oldbie
 
Posts: 892
Joined: 2005-6-16 @ 14:32

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-2-01 @ 19:29

Call me stupid, but my Celeron433 is not so fast for ScummVM, I tried to run SoftMPU in Fullscreen-Dos under running Win98se.
It does not work because it does not detect the started emm386.exe memory-manger. Is there any chance to run softmpu
under started Win98se?

Thx
Doc
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 748
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2016-2-02 @ 09:50

Not at the moment. Someone would need to rewrite SoftMPU as a VxD.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-2-02 @ 12:11

Thx. I would have tried Qemm9, but it reduces the 512MB to 256MB main memory.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 748
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjwil1991 » 2016-2-12 @ 15:36

Question: how does one simply make a VxD file for Windows 9x? On top of that, when I run my K6-2/300 PC at full throttle, NHL Hockey 95 seems to have bad or incorrect notes, while underclocking the CPU from 300MHz to 166MHz, the notes are correct, however, the game doesn't seem to like Pure DOS or DOS Mode in Windows 98SE, except for running it in command prompt or just opening the file itself. In Windows 98SE, the notes are correct and everything works ok, except the music slows down a little bit until I hit a key and then it goes back to normal speed.

The reason why I use 300MHz is because DOOM gets 20FPS on average when clocked @ 166MHz, and I get about 95FPS on average between MS-DOS and Windows 98SE at full throttle (300MHz). I tried to use the slowdown program, but that didn't do a dent in MS-DOS, but Windows seems to be getting there. I hate to use a slowdown program in Windows because it can cause my system to freeze up constantly.

Programs for the MPU401 used in between Windows 98SE and MS-DOS:

MS-DOS
- Sound Blaster Drivers
- SoftMPU v1.9

Windows 98SE
- Sound Blaster Drivers (in the autoexec.bat file)
- Sound Blaster MPU401 Fix (sbmpu401.exe)

Hell, in Windows 3.11, NHL Hockey 95 ran like a champ without issues, especially in full speed @ 300MHz.
Old PC Specs:
64MB RAM, AMD K6/2-300, 200GB HDD, CD Burner; CD ROM, Yamaha TG100, SoftMPU v1.9, SB Vibra16XV ISA, STB VooDoo2 & S3 PCI, IBM 15"CRT, Compaq Keyboard, Logitech Cordless Mouse, SC-55/Munt, MS-DOS 7.10; 98SE, Abit AB-TX5
bjwil1991
Member
 
Posts: 102
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-2-12 @ 16:41

I do not have a native MPU401i Card in my PII, therefore I need softmpu to run games that require the i-mode.
Does "Sbmpu401.exe" fix something for the i-mode I require?
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 748
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2016-3-01 @ 16:43

No, I believe that is a fix for certain games with earlier Sound Blaster cards. It disables MPU interrupts.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-3-08 @ 11:33

Thx, beside the "overpowered" Dos/Win-Machine, I have another problem with a low-end one.

Current-Setup:
A2K A2286/8
ISA16 - VGA ET4K
ISA16 - CT2910
ISA16 - MPU401i

Currently no efficient HDD-Storage available. Perhaps changing the Soundcard could help (ESS with prim. HDD Interface non PNP)

Softmpu requires EMM386. I have a A2386 arriving soon.

I will change the setup to:

A2K A2386/25
ISA16 - VGA ET4K
ISA16 - CT2910 or other Soundcard
ISA16 - MULTI/IO IDE (LTP/COM)

Is it possible to connect the MT32 to the Soundcard (should go for one with hanging notes bug) or with a serial connection with the Multi/IO ?
Has the A2386/sx25 enough power to run the softmpu? What sould be better, connection to the soundcard or to the serial-port of the multi/io?
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 748
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2016-3-08 @ 14:32

It should be OK. SoftMPU only slows the host significantly when in IRQ generation mode, and the games that enable that mode are not demanding.

Definitely better to connect to the the soundcard, if you can find one without hanging notes.
An early SB16 would be ideal, or alternatively a YMF card or similar.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-3-08 @ 15:32

Thx! What Soundcard whould You go for? (386-sx25, no hanging notes, no pnp, perhaps sbpro, dss?)

EDIT:
Does this one change anything? http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/1997_ar ... de64x.html
I bought it, because I have some machines that I would like to connect to the mt32 (like PC's, Amigas, Macs, AtariST)
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): Matrox G200 8MB
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 748
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-3-11 @ 14:17

Has SoftMPU been tested with EMM386 from OpenDOS?
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 3061
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby Cadderlik » 2017-3-16 @ 15:35

Has anybody tried softMPU with SB AVE 64 GOLD and Roland MT-32 connected to midi port in that card?
Cadderlik
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-5-27 @ 10:13

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2017-3-23 @ 12:10

gdjacobs wrote:Has SoftMPU been tested with EMM386 from OpenDOS?


No, does it work?

Cadderlik wrote:Has anybody tried softMPU with SB AVE 64 GOLD and Roland MT-32 connected to midi port in that card?


Yes, check out the supported cards list:
https://github.com/bjt42/softmpu/wiki/C ... ound-Cards
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-3-23 @ 14:06

bjt wrote:
gdjacobs wrote:Has SoftMPU been tested with EMM386 from OpenDOS?


No, does it work?


Not sure. I'll try to test it in the next few days.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 3061
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Previous

Return to SoftMPU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests