*START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Forum for discussion of bugs, code, and other aspects of SoftMPU.

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby Hezus » 2019-10-15 @ 13:12

Is it possible to load softmpu into upper memory? I've set up autoexec to load it high, but mem.exe tells me it has been loaded into conventional memory.
Hezus
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2019-5-05 @ 12:48

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby realnc » 2019-10-15 @ 13:25

Hezus wrote:Is it possible to load softmpu into upper memory? I've set up autoexec to load it high, but mem.exe tells me it has been loaded into conventional memory.

Loads into high memory just fine for me, even when loading it manually after DOS has booted with typing "lh legmpu.com". What's the output of "mem /c /p" for you? Do any other TSRs load into high mem?
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 455
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby C0deHunter » 2019-10-28 @ 20:48

Do I only need the SOFTMPU.EXE file to be copied to the root of C:\ ?

Then add this line into my Autoexec.bat:

LH SOFTMPU.EXE /MPU:330 /SB:220 /IRQ:5
PIII-800E | Abit BH-6 | 256MB SD-RAM PC100 | AWE64 Gold | Sound Canvas 55 MKII | SoftMPU | 2X SanDisk (2004) 2GB CF as C:\ (Win98SE OS) and D:\ (DOS Games) | Windows 98SE (using PhilComputerLabs', *pure* DOS option)
User avatar
C0deHunter
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: 2007-3-31 @ 20:57

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby realnc » 2019-10-29 @ 01:04

C0deHunter wrote:Do I only need the SOFTMPU.EXE file to be copied to the root of C:\ ?

Then add this line into my Autoexec.bat:

LH SOFTMPU.EXE /MPU:330 /SB:220 /IRQ:5

You can put it anywhere you want. Directly in C:\ is fine. Usually it's a good idea to have a directory for stuff like that though, like C:\TOOLS. If you put it there, then:

Code: Select all
LH C:\TOOLS\SOFTMPU.EXE /MPU:330 /SB:220 /IRQ:5


This TSR is tiny, so you should probably put this as the last entry in your autoexec to prevent bigger TSRs/drivers from being unable to be loaded into high memory.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 455
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby C0deHunter » 2019-10-29 @ 04:13

Thank you!
PIII-800E | Abit BH-6 | 256MB SD-RAM PC100 | AWE64 Gold | Sound Canvas 55 MKII | SoftMPU | 2X SanDisk (2004) 2GB CF as C:\ (Win98SE OS) and D:\ (DOS Games) | Windows 98SE (using PhilComputerLabs', *pure* DOS option)
User avatar
C0deHunter
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: 2007-3-31 @ 20:57

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby t9999clint » 2019-11-13 @ 16:04

I really don't like emm386, is their any major reason why JEMM386 support can't be added?

If I were to try and add JEMM support myself, where in your code is the call to the MS EMM386 api for redirecting the ports? Is it mostly in one spot/function or is it kind of spread throughout the program?
I figured I'd ask if it's practical to do before I started spending time analyzing code and researching API calls for JEMM386
User avatar
t9999clint
Member
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 2014-10-07 @ 14:08
Location: Edmonton, Canada

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby walterg74 » 2019-11-13 @ 22:33

Hey folks, just wondering...

If softmpu add "intelligent mode", does it also fix/correct the hanging note bug issues found on SB16 cards..?
walterg74
Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: 2018-3-20 @ 16:45

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby dJOS » 2019-11-13 @ 22:42

t9999clint wrote:I really don't like emm386, is their any major reason why JEMM386 support can't be added?

If I were to try and add JEMM support myself, where in your code is the call to the MS EMM386 api for redirecting the ports? Is it mostly in one spot/function or is it kind of spread throughout the program?
I figured I'd ask if it's practical to do before I started spending time analyzing code and researching API calls for JEMM386


Why not use QEMM 386, it works perfectly with SoftMPU.
The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
User avatar
dJOS
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2017-5-10 @ 02:47

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby appiah4 » 2019-11-14 @ 04:42

walterg74 wrote:Hey folks, just wondering...

If softmpu add "intelligent mode", does it also fix/correct the hanging note bug issues found on SB16 cards..?


No.
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|128M|Rage|V2|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4340
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-11-14 @ 12:57

The SB16 cards always had hanging note bugs since DSP 4.06-4.11. DSP 4.05 or less and 4.16 (found on AWE64 and WavEffects CT1470) is the way to go. The ones with the YMF-262M chip from DSP 4.06-4.11 has both level 1 and level 2 hanging note bugs, whereas the ones with the CT1747 bus chip has the level 2 bug, which is a very rare occurrence.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2753
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.91 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby t9999clint » 2019-11-16 @ 22:07

dJOS wrote:
t9999clint wrote:I really don't like emm386, is their any major reason why JEMM386 support can't be added?

If I were to try and add JEMM support myself, where in your code is the call to the MS EMM386 api for redirecting the ports? Is it mostly in one spot/function or is it kind of spread throughout the program?
I figured I'd ask if it's practical to do before I started spending time analyzing code and researching API calls for JEMM386


Why not use QEMM 386, it works perfectly with SoftMPU.


I prefer JEMM as it's Open Source but mostly because it lets you unload it so I don't have to reboot to run games that need real mode.
I will probably use QEMM if I can't find any way around it. EMM386 makes my system unstable.
User avatar
t9999clint
Member
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 2014-10-07 @ 14:08
Location: Edmonton, Canada

Previous

Return to SoftMPU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest