*START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Forum for discussion of bugs, code, and other aspects of SoftMPU.

Re: SoftMPU 1.8 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby carlostex » 2014-6-15 @ 01:08

Wow this is great news!!!!

Amazing work ripsaw8080!!!

EDIT: I suggest that the discussion should continue on the folowing thread, as we are deviating from SoftMPU development:

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=39709
User avatar
carlostex
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: 2010-4-03 @ 21:39
Location: Portugal

Re: SoftMPU 1.8 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2014-6-15 @ 22:46

Great work ripsaw. I'll release a SoftMPU 1.9 with support for sysex >1024 bytes.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2014-6-18 @ 13:27

OK 1.9 is out now.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby vetz » 2014-9-18 @ 21:24

Roland S-MPU/AT can be added to the compatibility list I guess, but there seems to be an issue with the MPU interrupts. Requires Soundblaster to work with it as with the other MIDI cards.

I got Gateway working by typing GATE MT32 5 330, but the music stops (notes hangs continuously for 10 seconds, then the whole device turns off) after 30 seconds? Same happens to Laser Squad, but only after a few seconds (don't even make it to the main menu). I've also tried to configure the SB card for IRQ 2/9, but that gave the same result. Tried to disable cache to slow the Pentium 100 down, but that did not work. After the problem have been experienced both Gateway and Laser Squad do not play music at all. Have to restart the system. Police Quest 2 starts straight up with no issues, even after failing on Gateway/Laser Squad.


UART also works (tested with ROTT)
User avatar
vetz
l33t
 
Posts: 3122
Joined: 2012-4-23 @ 17:13

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2014-9-21 @ 10:53

Hmm. What's your SB card?
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby vetz » 2014-9-21 @ 11:07

bjt wrote:Hmm. What's your SB card?


Soundblaster 16 CT2230
User avatar
vetz
l33t
 
Posts: 3122
Joined: 2012-4-23 @ 17:13

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby DataPro » 2014-11-06 @ 09:29

I've tried SoftMPU 1.9 under Win98SE pure DOS mode.

I wrote in Autoexec.bat :
LH C:\DOSDRV\SOFTMPU.EXE /SB:220 /IRQ:5 /MPU:330

and it says something like :
EMM386 4.46+ (MS-DOS 6.2) or QEMM 7.03+ not found

But EMM386.exe is loaded...
(with noems novcpi highscan parameters)
What is my mistake ?
HP Vectra 562 P166Mhz/256Ko L2 cache - 112Mo RAM - 2x4Go SSD - Matrox Mystique 2Mo - SB AWE64 ISA (PnP) + Roland MT-32 + Roland M-GS64 -5 USB 2.0 ports - multicard reader
DataPro
Newbie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2014-10-14 @ 08:50
Location: France

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby DataPro » 2014-11-07 @ 09:05

Any Idea please ?
HP Vectra 562 P166Mhz/256Ko L2 cache - 112Mo RAM - 2x4Go SSD - Matrox Mystique 2Mo - SB AWE64 ISA (PnP) + Roland MT-32 + Roland M-GS64 -5 USB 2.0 ports - multicard reader
DataPro
Newbie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2014-10-14 @ 08:50
Location: France

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2014-11-07 @ 09:48

Remove NOEMS maybe?
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2014-11-07 @ 10:42

I haven't had a chance to check this yet but I would definitely try it again with a minimal autoexec.bat/config.sys and without the novcpi/highscan params on EMM386.EXE.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby DataPro » 2014-11-07 @ 11:03

Ok I will check this and then I will write if it solve the problem or not.
Thanks !

an other stupid question : How do I know it's working ? I should see it as resident program in MEM /C, shouldn't I ?
HP Vectra 562 P166Mhz/256Ko L2 cache - 112Mo RAM - 2x4Go SSD - Matrox Mystique 2Mo - SB AWE64 ISA (PnP) + Roland MT-32 + Roland M-GS64 -5 USB 2.0 ports - multicard reader
DataPro
Newbie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2014-10-14 @ 08:50
Location: France

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2014-11-07 @ 11:17

Yes, it'll show up in mem/c. It only goes resident if initialisation succeeds. Another way to tell is that it'll refuse to go resident a second time.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby elianda » 2014-11-07 @ 12:35

I think the problem is the NOVCPI switch which disables the VCPI API.
I am not even sure, why you require this.
Retronn.de - Vintage Hardware Gallery, Drivers, Guides, HQ Videos.
Youtube Channel
FTP Server - Driver Archive and more
DVI2PCIe alignment and 2D image quality measurement tool
User avatar
elianda
l33t
 
Posts: 2169
Joined: 2006-4-21 @ 16:56
Location: Halle / Germany

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby DataPro » 2014-11-07 @ 12:54

OK I would try and check tomorrow.
I read microsoft's documentation about EMM386 and I think, on my PC, NOVCPI is useless and may cause problems...
HP Vectra 562 P166Mhz/256Ko L2 cache - 112Mo RAM - 2x4Go SSD - Matrox Mystique 2Mo - SB AWE64 ISA (PnP) + Roland MT-32 + Roland M-GS64 -5 USB 2.0 ports - multicard reader
DataPro
Newbie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2014-10-14 @ 08:50
Location: France

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby DataPro » 2014-11-09 @ 13:24

I am back.
I changed EMM386 settings by deleting the NOVCPI flag and now SoftMPU is working !!

Thanks to elianda for the suggestion and big thanks to bjt for his great work on SoftMPU. This utility is great. King Quest V, VI, Dune and Oil's Well are working with MT-32 and M-GS64.

I have to do some more testing with other games and then I will show my config files with working games'list.
HP Vectra 562 P166Mhz/256Ko L2 cache - 112Mo RAM - 2x4Go SSD - Matrox Mystique 2Mo - SB AWE64 ISA (PnP) + Roland MT-32 + Roland M-GS64 -5 USB 2.0 ports - multicard reader
DataPro
Newbie
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 2014-10-14 @ 08:50
Location: France

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby vetz » 2015-5-09 @ 11:29

I'm testing the Aztech Sound Galaxy NX 16 PRO with SoftMPU. It requires the SB MIDI output to be loaded (as it doesnt have a hardare MPU 401 interface).

I have problems detecting it in later UART games like Doom and Descent. Seems to work better in the early games. Any ideas?

EDIT: Nvm, found this post that explains it:

bjt wrote:Bump - new release, see first post for details.

The new support for SB-MIDI allows SoftMPU to be used with older Creative cards like the Sound Blaster Pro. Games send MIDI data to SoftMPU's virtual MPU port to be piped though the Sound Blaster via SB-MIDI.

There are a couple of gotchas:

- Only real-mode games work (no DOS extenders etc.)
- Games that use MPU interrupts (a handful of intelligent-mode games) are currently not supported

Nevertheless this allows a lot of classic games (Lucasarts adventures etc) to work with a MT-32 connected to a Sound Blaster or SB Pro, something that's not been possible before.
User avatar
vetz
l33t
 
Posts: 3122
Joined: 2012-4-23 @ 17:13

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2015-5-11 @ 12:29

I've just tried SoftMPU 1.9 with a Sound Blaster 1.5 and it works great :)

I observed the same as vetz, older games from Sierra or Lucasarts work fine, newer games that use General MIDI not so much. But a SB 1.5 is better suited for older games anyway.
Last edited by PhilsComputerLab on 2015-5-12 @ 14:27, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6180
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2015-5-11 @ 13:58

Thanks for the feedback guys. Have added SG NX Pro 16 to the compatibility list.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby theelf » 2015-7-30 @ 02:00

Hi guys, gretings. Great software softmpu, thqanks very much for the work

Question, anyone knows a alternative to emm386 or qemm that can be loaded in the command line, like jemm386, and works with softmpu?

I use UMBPCI, and totally forget about emm386 for long time...until today when I test softmpu :happy:

for now, i just have a dual boot

thanks
User avatar
theelf
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2011-9-25 @ 19:39

Re: SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjwil1991 » 2015-7-30 @ 02:41

The only memory managers that work with the SoftMPU program are only emm386 and qemm at the moment.

Since Jemm386 is part of FreeDOS, the memory manager doesn't work with the software quite yet since the SoftMPU program needs sets of instructions or commands to allow Jemm386 to work with the SoftMPU program itself.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 562
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

PreviousNext

Return to SoftMPU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest