(Ab)Using SoftMPU - Wireless Serial Multiport MIDI

Forum for discussion of bugs, code, and other aspects of SoftMPU.

(Ab)Using SoftMPU - Wireless Serial Multiport MIDI

Postby Cloudschatze » 2014-6-06 @ 05:56

SoftMPU's serial-port output feature allows for doing cool stuff that most (normal) people probably never think about, such as creating an inexpensive, "wireless MPU-401" link, through the use of commodity RS-232 transceivers and a serial-capable tone-generator/synth. I demonstrate exactly this, as well as the multiport feature common to Yamaha's MU units, in the following craptastic video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GWyzfwwMw-Y

Thanks, bjt!
User avatar
Cloudschatze
Oldbie
 
Posts: 953
Joined: 2005-6-16 @ 14:32

Re: (Ab)Using SoftMPU - Wireless Serial Multiport MIDI

Postby keropi » 2014-6-06 @ 06:04

geeky stuff! :blush: :blush: :blush:
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 5619
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: (Ab)Using SoftMPU - Wireless Serial Multiport MIDI

Postby carlostex » 2014-6-06 @ 09:09

Awesome video Eric!!! I'd feel like a kid in that room!
User avatar
carlostex
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1952
Joined: 2010-4-03 @ 21:39
Location: Portugal

Re: (Ab)Using SoftMPU - Wireless Serial Multiport MIDI

Postby bjt » 2014-6-06 @ 10:49

This is cool, nice self contained approach with the transcievers :-) The serial output stuff could also be used to capture MIDI to a PC and from there the sky's the limit.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: (Ab)Using SoftMPU - Wireless Serial Multiport MIDI

Postby Kamerat » 2015-12-16 @ 07:48

bjt wrote:This is cool, nice self contained approach with the transcievers :-) The serial output stuff could also be used to capture MIDI to a PC and from there the sky's the limit.

Works fine with the "Hairless MIDI<->Serial Bridge" in Windows 7. http://projectgus.github.io/hairless-midiserial/

Noticed that games like Sim City 2000, Doom, Duke Nukem 3D don't send their MIDI data through the serial port, but others like Warcraft II and Transport Tycoon does. All MT-32 games I tried did send it through the serial port.
User avatar
Kamerat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 609
Joined: 2014-3-14 @ 19:09
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: (Ab)Using SoftMPU - Wireless Serial Multiport MIDI

Postby bjt » 2015-12-17 @ 20:27

SoftMPU only works with real-mode games, so anything using a DOS extender is out.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: (Ab)Using SoftMPU - Wireless Serial Multiport MIDI

Postby Kamerat » 2015-12-18 @ 15:29

Weird thing is that Warcraft II also uses a DOS extender, but it's the only game I have that requires EMM loaded.
User avatar
Kamerat
Oldbie
 
Posts: 609
Joined: 2014-3-14 @ 19:09
Location: Oslo, Norway


Return to SoftMPU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests