WIP versions

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: WIP versions

Postby juyao » 2018-12-03 @ 10:54

AMD Ryzen7 1700
RTX 470 8G
Win10 pro 1803
dgVoodooWIP44——dgVoodooWIP53
all games like this
nfs5
Image
mm8
Image
...
juyao
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-12-03 @ 10:44

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-12-03 @ 10:56

Guessing it's related to this:
viewtopic.php?f=59&t=63292
Which seems to be a bug affecting newer versions of dgVoodoo on AMD systems. I was sort of curious if that was fixed in the latest WIPs.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby RJ8 » 2018-12-03 @ 11:46

Rise of Legends Realtime Strategy / 2006

Not shure which shader model the game has, but works with wip53 (Shadows look weird, turning them OFF solves the problem)
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 79
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-12-03 @ 21:24

Sacred 2
Lots of rendering problems. Also sort of bad performance.
sacred2 2018-12-03 22-14-36-94.jpg
sacred2 2018-12-03 22-16-41-75.jpg
sacred2 2018-12-03 22-17-11-82.jpg
dgVoodoo debug version seems to have less problems but might be just my imagination.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby luigi-master » 2018-12-04 @ 02:36

I posted something but it's gone.

TMNT 2003:

https://i.imgur.com/RJFMpCi.png

Just like the demo version, the retail version has texture issues. The game world looks fine.

Total Overdose:

https://i.imgur.com/CYAJKEQ.png
https://i.imgur.com/mpogarD.png

The world is green.

Does anyone know how to get thirteenag's widescreen to fix with Total Overdose? I'm using the retail version but dragging and dropping things doesn't seem to work, the game refuses to boot.
User avatar
luigi-master
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-11-28 @ 02:37

Re: WIP versions

Postby RJ8 » 2018-12-04 @ 11:40

Surfs Up Cartoon surfing game (Unreal X? Engine) working good with the DX9 wrapper, including force resolution. Tested on Win7/64
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 79
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: WIP versions

Postby The Master » 2018-12-04 @ 21:02

Dungeon Siege 1 is working with lates Build. BUT DONT USE MSAA this breaks the ingame light :)
The Master
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2015-6-23 @ 11:12

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-12-05 @ 21:08

Alias: The Game
Works, but complains that it can't create VMR9 instance whenever it tries to play videos (native is fine) and requires some weird modes added to ExtraEnumeratedResolutions, playing at 1280x720 i had to check the log to find this:

ERROR: Direct3D9 (0BC2E7B8): Validation of D3D9 swapchain presentation parameters failed. Reason: display mode "1276x716, 60Hz" is required but not supported by output device: 0, DeviceType : D3DDEVTYPE_HAL

Like it somehow ended up trying to compensate for window borders while setting display mode. Adding that as a supported resolution and:
Clipboard01.jpg
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-12-06 @ 18:19

Tested F.E.A.R some more, graphic glitches was misconfiguration by me, but I thought I'd show you the performance I'm getting:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UuphvZ8dfc
The game shouldn't freeze when he breaks that door open.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-12-07 @ 09:16

Yeah, that seems to be more than a single 'lag'.
I've put a lot of effort into avoiding lagging/stuttering caused by shader compositing.
It's not perfect because not every case can be handled well, but games like FEAR, Lego Star Wars, etc. are now running pretty smooth. So, we'll see.

BTW, an other thing is tending to be needed for more and more games: float textures and rendertargets. I think I'm going to implement them.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby RJ8 » 2018-12-07 @ 11:45

Reporting The Void (2009) to run with WIP53
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 79
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-12-07 @ 18:34

OK, I've made sure I'm using a stock config for F.E.A.R now and found a glitch.

Native:
FEAR 2018-12-07 19-30-12-37.jpg

dgVoodoo2:
FEAR 2018-12-07 19-30-48-24.jpg

Think it happens with all walls.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby syhlif32 » 2018-12-07 @ 18:49

Works great in the race sim games I care most about GTR2 and GTL. Reflection are better sky and lights looks better only the rain fog is missing so kind of clear while raning.
Race 07 got issues due to a shadow Zbuffer but the shaders can be disables.
AMS (Automobilista) kind of works the sky is black. No textures rendered

Any chance to get 2048 and 4096Mb Vram?
Larger tracks slow down quite a lot.
syhlif32
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 10:52

Re: WIP versions

Postby teleguy » 2018-12-07 @ 18:53

syhlif32 wrote:
Any chance to get 2048 and 4096Mb Vram?
Larger tracks slow down quite a lot.


You can type in whatever value you want.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 404
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: WIP versions

Postby syhlif32 » 2018-12-07 @ 22:01

teleguy wrote:
syhlif32 wrote:
Any chance to get 2048 and 4096Mb Vram?
Larger tracks slow down quite a lot.


You can type in whatever value you want.


Thanks didn't know that.
Can't get it to accept higher than 2048Mb. Got 8192Mb
Not even sure it helped but have left it at 2048Mb anyway.
syhlif32
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 10:52

Re: WIP versions

Postby RJ8 » 2018-12-07 @ 22:06

Armed Forces Corp City Interactive shooter , working with WIP53 ( Many City Interactive Game crash with a black screen, if you run into that follow this
Attachments
armed_Forces_Corp_DG.jpg
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 79
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2018-12-08 @ 00:22

It's always the FEAR engine.....
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Expack3 » 2018-12-11 @ 02:06

World of Goo (Humble Bundle version 1.30), a DX7/9 game, works flawlessly with WIP53, though it doesn't truly benefit from resolution scaling.

The game uses a mix of DX9 and DX7; running without the DX7 DLLs results in a fatal error, and running with just the DX7 DLLs prevents dgVoodoo2 from hooking.

EDIT: Forgot to mention the "FreeMouse" variable must be true in either the global or local dgVoodoo2 config file; otherwise, the mouse is locked to the pre-scaled resolution.
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2018-12-11 @ 08:47

Expack3 wrote:EDIT: Forgot to mention the "FreeMouse" variable must be true in either the global or local dgVoodoo2 config file; otherwise, the mouse is locked to the pre-scaled resolution.

Good catch! But why?
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Expack3 » 2018-12-11 @ 14:01

lowenz wrote:
Expack3 wrote:EDIT: Forgot to mention the "FreeMouse" variable must be true in either the global or local dgVoodoo2 config file; otherwise, the mouse is locked to the pre-scaled resolution.

Good catch! But why?

The FreeMouse variable has to be set somewhere. If the user hasn't setup a dgVoodoo2 config file in the game's directory, then the global dgVoodoo2 config file has to be edited. The latter is woefully inefficient (what if the user has more than one game dgVoodoo2 hooks?), but I thought I'd mention it for completeness.
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests