dgVoodoo 1 announcement thread

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby g-whiz » 2004-3-16 @ 16:26

Does Carmageddon 1 work with dgvoodoo(or any other glide wrapper besides glidos)? So far every version of glidos I've tried have had some problems...
User avatar
g-whiz
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2004-3-16 @ 15:17

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby Kaminari » 2004-3-24 @ 07:13

I have tremendous expectations about dgVoodoo, as soon as it will support Win2K... :happy:

Have a look here in the meantime: viewtopic.php?t=1708
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 768
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby sroper » 2004-3-24 @ 14:28

I've been trying to run Redguard in XP with dgVoodoo with no success. ntvdm.exe always crashes. I don't have a problem with Glidos, so I'm not sure what's wrong.
-S. Roper
sroper
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-3-23 @ 20:57

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby sroper » 2004-3-24 @ 18:26

Nevermind, I got it working. I was trying to run it from the spash screen, but when I just run rdfx.exe it works. Now I just have to figure out how to get sound working...
-S. Roper
sroper
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-3-23 @ 20:57

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby nali » 2004-3-25 @ 02:33

Hello . It work for me with Win98 and W2k ( multiboot ) for Tomb Raider 1 .No sound in Win98 , I didn t take time to fix this . Works in W2k , even in VDD mode .
Problem : When I use VDM for sound , even with 'DeviceName = No Sound Card'
the screen size does not fit ..
Screen shoots here : http://antichan.net/users/nali/jeux/gdv ... doo-01.jpg and http://antichan.net/users/nali/jeux/gdv ... doo-02.jpg .
Any idea please ?
Y a pas que la taille qui compte , et ca m arrange .
User avatar
nali
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2004-3-25 @ 02:16
Location: Quebec / France

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby Norbert » 2004-3-26 @ 22:32

I got Redguard working too,and it looks very, very nice. But I can't open the main menue via ESC nor can I save via F2 - Redguard closed at once. The sound is also missing. Can you save or have access to the main menue, Sroper?
Norbert
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2004-3-26 @ 22:14

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby sroper » 2004-3-28 @ 18:23

Norbert, I can save and access the menu with both dgVoodoo and Glidos. My problem is I can't get sapucdex working with Glidos and I can't get VDMSound working with dgVoodoo.
-S. Roper
sroper
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2004-3-23 @ 20:57

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby Kaminari » 2004-3-28 @ 21:24

sroper wrote:My problem is I can't get sapucdex working with Glidos


Glidos uses its own CD handler. You can disable it by using this version of the glide2x.ovl library. Beware, it's an old release (1.22) and has some compatibility quirks with the latest Glidos version.

Btw Paul, what about a feature to optionally disable the built-in CD support in Glidos? I seem to recall we discussed this possibility some months ago :)
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 768
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

dgVoodoo

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2004-4-07 @ 00:31

dgVoodoo 1.21 appears to have been released a few days ago: http://www.freeweb.hu/dege/

I see he's been testing a some games I mentioned (e.g. Test Drive Off-Road 2!).

From readme:
What's new in v1.21
-------------------
This version is mainly intended to be a bugfix version of 1.20:

- IRQ-problem coming out using WinXp for DOS programs is fixed
- LFB can be locked for reading and writing simultaneously when fast writing is used
- Backface culling bugs fixed
- Handling properly YIQ-tables (9 bit)
- Bugs in the vertex converters
- Alpha based colorkeying can provide colorkeying at a cretain degree if alpha testing is enabled
- Refresh frequency can be selected for each resolution

Ice
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 841
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby DoomGaZer » 2004-4-08 @ 05:52

has anyone tested dgvoodoo with Blood 3D or Shadow Warrior and their respective 3dfx patches/versions? If so, what settings do you use? I get an error under win98 about "Could not open 3Dfx context. Exiting...". It then gives a DOS/4GW Professional error (2001): exception 0Eh (page fault) at 207:84494916. I am running a Geforce 2 GTS. Thanks.
User avatar
DoomGaZer
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2004-4-08 @ 01:44
Location: matrix space

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby DoomGaZer » 2004-4-08 @ 06:27

Please excuse my last error message. I had to run the dgvoodoo server to get past it. However, I still have a problem running SW and it occurs in both win98 and winxp. dgvoodoo attempts to download the 3dfx textures to the HD and it hangs at some point in time and eventually has a page fault error. This happens no matter the OS and it usually hangs with exactly 1.28MB of textures donloaded to the HD each time.
User avatar
DoomGaZer
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2004-4-08 @ 01:44
Location: matrix space

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby teleguy » 2004-4-08 @ 12:40

Just to give a feedback :
Version 1.21 fixed the missing textures (see below) I had in Tomb Raider with 1.20, however the game still is like slow motion.



Image
http://home.t-online.de/home/teleguy/TOMB3DFX004.bmp
http://home.t-online.de/home/teleguy/TOMB3DFX005.bmp
http://home.t-online.de/home/teleguy/x.bmp
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 353
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby Kaminari » 2004-4-08 @ 15:10

Have you tried disabling the LFB in the wrapper setup? You will probably get a black background instead of transparency in the Inventory screen, but the slowdowns should be fixed.
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 768
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby teleguy » 2004-4-08 @ 16:57

It's still slow with stuttering/echoing sound. Strange, when I run in the same direction for I while the game is running fluently but when I change direction it slows down again.
teleguy
Member
 
Posts: 353
Joined: 2004-2-28 @ 18:54

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby Kaminari » 2004-4-09 @ 16:07

Croc demo works like a charm with dgVoodoo 1.21 on my P3@667! I couldn't make it work with OpenGlide or GlideWrapper, it freezed on the loading screen with the music looping in the background (not sure if it's the same with the full version, I remember CraigG being able to run Croc through OpenGlide).

Image

http://namida.com/kaminarimon/tmp/croc1demo_01.jpg
http://namida.com/kaminarimon/tmp/croc1demo_02.jpg
http://namida.com/kaminarimon/tmp/croc1demo_03.jpg
http://namida.com/kaminarimon/tmp/croc1demo_04.jpg
http://namida.com/kaminarimon/tmp/croc1demo_05.jpg
http://namida.com/kaminarimon/tmp/croc1demo_06.jpg
http://namida.com/kaminarimon/tmp/croc1demo_07.jpg
http://namida.com/kaminarimon/tmp/croc1demo_08.jpg

I tested the DOS support on my Win2K SP4 setup. I could run TR1 to some extent, but I have the same problem as Nali (in VDD and Server mode). The point of view is completely offset. I also gave a try to Redguard but it crashes after the loading screen (VDD and Server).

Finally I tried the dgVoodoo Glide2x.dll with Glidos + TR1. That's really food for another thread, but yes, it works! Though I had to disable the LFB (the Inventory screen is awfully slow otherwise) and the framerate is slightly below OpenGlide. Transparency works ok, which is not the case with GlideWrapper 0.76 (too bad because it's still the fastest Glide wrapper around, especially with Redguard).
User avatar
Kaminari
Oldbie
 
Posts: 768
Joined: 2002-12-06 @ 01:54

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby Dege » 2004-4-10 @ 08:31

About the point of view problem: even the glide version of TR1 tries to set mode 640x480 via VESA at startup. If it fails, TR thinks it will fail for glide too, for some reason. Anyhow, it's a messy thing: coordinate transformations go to 320x200 while clipping is applied to the 640x480 extent. If I know right, VESA isn't supported by the OS under Win2K (just like in NT), only the standard modes from 00h to 13h.

You should try to run glide TR1 with a VESA emulator.
Last edited by Dege on 2004-4-10 @ 09:09, edited 1 time in total.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 951
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby Dege » 2004-4-10 @ 09:08

DoomGazer: dgVoodoo never writes out textures to the HD. It's the game itself that converts textures to a glide-compatible format in a way it writes them out as .3DF files and read them in by the wrapper.
Have you tried to make SW convert textures in memory? You can do that setting BUILD_CONVTEXTURES=1 environment variable.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 951
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby DoomGaZer » 2004-4-11 @ 04:15

Ok. I believe that. I can just barely remember something about it when I used to run a voodoo rush back in the day. Do I place that in sw3dfx.cf2? I tried placing it there and running it with dgVoodoo. However, the game still hangs after it loads into the dgVoodoo window. I am keeping dgVoodoo at the defaults so I assume there is some switch in it that needs to be set to get SW (and presumeably any other build game with a 3dfx patch) to work properly. Any pointers would be appreciated.


Ok, an update. Still not running the game in 3dfx mode. However, I think the textures ARE converting properly but the execution of the program is where I am hanging. I get the screen resolution change to whatever I set in set3dfx.exe but I am also getting 5 orangish lines at the top of the screen when it hangs. I think that used to signify a compatibility problem when I ran the game a few years back after I switched from a voodoo rush to voodoo 2. I also used to get similar errors when a game crashed on my Geforce 2 due to a driver issue. I don't think that is the case now but I believe it must be some setting with dgVoodoo. I'll try a few more settings and let you know if anything starts working.
Last edited by DoomGaZer on 2004-4-11 @ 06:33, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DoomGaZer
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2004-4-08 @ 01:44
Location: matrix space

Re: A glide wrapper for DOS programs

Postby Dege » 2004-4-12 @ 15:05

Well, the bug is in dgVoodoo.
Once I downloaded and tried SW with this wrapper, and it worked when I used the built-in VESA support. Now I've downloaded and tried it again, and it worked in no way.
When glide is active the wrapper keep a fake VESA driver installed to prevent DOS programs from communicating with the real VESA driver to keep the console window in text mode (it's important). When built-in VESA is used, no fake one is used, because it takes care of this. However there is a bug in 1.21, causing that always the fake one gets installed. I fixed it, and also make the fake driver enhanced (since the wrapper has no VESA support for XP for the time being), SW works with it.
However there is a thing that's not clear for me: the palette of SW is messed up under XP, while it is good under 98 for me. I don't know the source of the problem, but I don't have more time to deal with it now. Anyway, I attached the patched file, maybe you can use it.
I found other bugs (in spite of 1.21 is a bugfix version :oops: )
p.s.: type "set BUILD_CONVTEXTURES=1" in the command line and start the game.
Attachments
glide2xovl.zip
(9.11 KiB) Downloaded 205 times
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 951
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

NFS2SE

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2004-4-12 @ 22:03

Hi Dege,

Just had a quick look at dgVoodoo 1.21 and it appears that the two effects shown before on this thread still affect NFS2SE, but if you use Emulate W-Buffer as well as having flickery road lines you also get all the textures near the car warping left and right like a PlayStation game (looks like no perspective correct).

Is there any particular setting I need or is it just a bug?

Ice
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 841
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests