VOGONS


dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Topic actions

  • This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

Reply 3720 of 3952, by daniel_u

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
kjliew wrote:

Dege, you may also consider how to make dgVoodoo2 not to advertise itself as virus threat. I think the way that you coded dgvoodoo2 make it susceptible of virus threat from heuristic scanners point of view, similar to most EXE packers and self-modifying codes. Today's signature-less scanners are mostly behavioral checkers, if the code behaves like a virus, then it will be quarantined until its true nature can be analyzed. The antivirus industry always has the mindset of "it's better be sorry than to let-go a zero-day outbreak".

I remember you had talked about this before and you did something special to prevent the reliance on flavors of MSVCRT, and that is causing the false positives from virus scanners. Personally, I think not having dgVoodoo2 advertised as virus threat is more critical than MSVCRT dependencies.

He might be using a packer for the exe and dll's.

Reply 3721 of 3952, by LuisMenethil

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hello guys,

First of all, I would like to thank Dege and the community for this fantastic tool. I'm here to ask for help with the game Aliens versus Predator 2. The game is suffering from FPS drops.

My computer (I know it's weak but at the moment I only have it):

Notebook Samsung with:
CPU: AMD APU E-Series E1-1500 Dual Core 1.48Ghz with Radeon HD Graphics 7310 384MB
RAM: 4 GB
OS: Windows 10 64 bits (April 2018 Update)

I can run AVP2 natively on my notebook without dgVoodoo 2, the game seems to run fine with occasional drastic FPS drops. Even with the use of dgVoodoo 2 the game continues to have the same FPS drops.

The same problem presented in these videos:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ltVIrOR50Y

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QbGG4Z_n6jI

Would my notebook be too weak to run this game? I can run Battlefield 1942 and Battlefield Vietnam fine in it. Would it be a game or driver bug? There's any way to fix this?
Sorry for my weak English, I'm Brazilian.

Reply 3722 of 3952, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

LithTech engine (AvP2, NOLF, Shogo, ...) has an implementation for dynamic lighting that doesn't work well through dgVoodoo for some reason, performance even seems to depend on graphics drivers.
It's an old problem, I'll try to do some optimizations or sg like that to make it better. 😖

Reply 3724 of 3952, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ZellSF wrote:

Of course I say that having only tested with death/success movies, so I tried copying the story movies and it starts crashing 100% of the time when selecting new game. This seems to be a regression since 2.55 works perfectly. Windowed mode also works perfectly (sort of like Requiem?). Three logs attached if Dege wants to read, Thief 2 running with movies in fullscreen (and crashing), Thief 2 running with movies in windowed mode (and running fine) and Thief 2 running with no movies (except lose/win ones, also runs fine).

I'm not sure but I think I found the reason. BloodRayne2 happens to crash for me all time when skipping from the intro movie to the game.
I did a modification for the sake of DXVK in 2.55.1 and it turned out to be bad.

Reply 3725 of 3952, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Some more uninteresting (as in they all work perfectly) games tested:

Mangchi The Hammer Boy doesn't like dgVooodoo 2.55.1+, otherwise no problems. Minor graphic glitches with resolution forcing.

HammerBoy 2018-07-30 21-02-19-34.jpg
Filename
HammerBoy 2018-07-30 21-02-19-34.jpg
File size
559.89 KiB
Views
1393 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Room Zoom: Race for Impact doesn't like dgVoodoo 2.55.1+ either, but no other problems.

roomzoom 2018-08-04 12-11-38-78.jpg
Filename
roomzoom 2018-08-04 12-11-38-78.jpg
File size
309.99 KiB
Views
1393 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Kaan: Barbarian's Blade also seems to have a problem with dgVoodoo 2.55.1+, but otherwise has no problems.

Main 2018-08-04 12-03-34-36.jpg
Filename
Main 2018-08-04 12-03-34-36.jpg
File size
278.49 KiB
Views
1393 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Gift seems to share enough similarities with Kaan that I think it runs on the same engine, however it works fine in dgVoodoo2 2.55.1+ and shows black screen instead of FMVs when resolution forcing is on.

Gift 2018-07-30 20-53-33-16.jpg
Filename
Gift 2018-07-30 20-53-33-16.jpg
File size
382.43 KiB
Views
1393 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Whiteout works flawlessly.

Whiteout 2018-07-30 21-34-24-85.jpg
Filename
Whiteout 2018-07-30 21-34-24-85.jpg
File size
570.35 KiB
Views
1393 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3726 of 3952, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Dead Man's Hand is an Unreal Engine game with no issues. Needs a framerate limiter though.

DMH 2018-08-04 11-59-46-67.jpg
Filename
DMH 2018-08-04 11-59-46-67.jpg
File size
492.9 KiB
Views
1391 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Highland Warriors (demo) has double cursor issue when resolution forcing, though the game has perfect high resolution support and no need for it anyway.

hw 2018-08-03 22-05-56-38.jpg
Filename
hw 2018-08-03 22-05-56-38.jpg
File size
1.05 MiB
Views
1391 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Lords of Everquest works perfectly, but is a bit weird with resolution forcing. It will break menus unless you change resolution to a forced resolution ingame. If you want resolution forcing for UI scaling here you might want to make a script to set the game to desktop resolution before starting it then changing to your desired UI resolution ingame afterwards. Also avoid forced texture filtering and non-integer scales.

Lords 2018-08-03 21-37-37-09.jpg
Filename
Lords 2018-08-03 21-37-37-09.jpg
File size
1022.25 KiB
Views
1391 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3727 of 3952, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ZellSF wrote:

Some more uninteresting (as in they all work perfectly) games tested:

Well, I always like to see your game reports. 😀
Nicely presented with details.

As for the 2.55.1+ issue, plz try the new WIP I just released. I fixed the regression bug.

Reply 3728 of 3952, by willow

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
ZellSF wrote:

Easy way is to just right click the exe, properties than compatibility and then run this program in compatibility mode for Windows 98... Unfortunately, that might introduce more problems, so if possible you want to install Application Compatibility Tools from the ADK: https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/windows … -deployment-kit or Microsoft Application Compatibility Toolkit 5.6 if you're on Windows 7: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/deta … ls.aspx?id=7352

Then you want to run Compatibility Administrator (32-bit), right click on "New Database(1) [Untitled_1]", rename it to something, then right click again "create new > application fix", fill in the three fields, click next two times, you'll find a list, you want to only check "Win98VersionLie", then next and finish. Now click "File > Save as", save the database somewhere, then click "File > Install".

I'm guessing the game starts on a code path intended for NT OSes if it doesn't detect 95/98 😖

Thanks. It works for intro CGI and some CGI but not for others. it doesn't work for CGI like travelling in hulline forest.

Reply 3729 of 3952, by FANTOMAS

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

Reply 3731 of 3952, by lowenz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
FANTOMAS wrote:
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

?

That is NO wrapper, it's a dedicated renderer (Unreal got dx7->11 renderers through unofficial - oldunreal - patches)

dgVoodoo useless? It's perfect as far as an universal wrapper can be.

Reply 3732 of 3952, by daniel_u

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
FANTOMAS wrote:
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

kentie is that you? Not that i care that much.😀 1 post , joined today, looks very...normal

Reply 3733 of 3952, by FANTOMAS

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
lowenz wrote:
? […]
Show full quote
FANTOMAS wrote:
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

?

That is NO wrapper, it's a dedicated renderer (Unreal got dx7->11 renderers through unofficial - oldunreal - patches)

dgVoodoo useless? It's perfect as far as an universal wrapper can be.

You're right ...it's a renderer... I love DGVOODOO but UNREAL has many renderers .....no need of a wrapper...

Reply 3734 of 3952, by FANTOMAS

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
daniel_u wrote:
FANTOMAS wrote:
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

kentie is that you? Not that i care that much.😀 1 post , joined today, looks very...normal

No.......

Reply 3736 of 3952, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Dege wrote:
Well, I always like to see your game reports. :) Nicely presented with details. […]
Show full quote
ZellSF wrote:

Some more uninteresting (as in they all work perfectly) games tested:

Well, I always like to see your game reports. 😀
Nicely presented with details.

As for the 2.55.1+ issue, plz try the new WIP I just released. I fixed the regression bug.

Those games are all fixed in 2.55.3.

Mouse input for RIM: Battle Planets is also fixed, but just to give you more to look at with this problematic game...:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBcV4TKZdDA&feature=youtu.be
Remember how 3D models didn't show in this game? Well they still disappear too often when moving the camera. Notice how when I move the camera, the 3D models for the units disappear before they've left the camera. This isn't supposed to happen. It does not happen natively. This is the second level of this demo:
https://www.fileplanet.com/59680/download/Rim … le-Planets-Demo

Reply 3737 of 3952, by BMickey

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Need for Speed™ Porsche® 2000
Main menu with bumped up resolution w/o issues with latest dg 2.55.3; full 32 bit color, instead of 16 bit default.

Porsche_menu.jpg
Filename
Porsche_menu.jpg
File size
197.15 KiB
Views
1054 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Unfortunately, there is a problem with lighting heavy flickering (screenshot is not showing this of course, but flickering is very intense); not spotted by me before, due to playing only day levels. 😀

Porsche_lights_not_good.jpg
Filename
Porsche_lights_not_good.jpg
File size
231.96 KiB
Views
1054 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

If lights go off - no issues.

Porsche_lights_off.jpg
Filename
Porsche_lights_off.jpg
File size
216.81 KiB
Views
1054 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Attached log from DebugView.

Filename
nfs5.log.zip
File size
108.08 KiB
Downloads
12 downloads
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3738 of 3952, by Cyrem

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hey Dege,

Like Jessietail a few pages back, I have a similar issue with LEGO Rock Raiders. v2.53 was the last working version(with some lighting issues) of voodoo before the newer versions caused problems running the game. I have a GTX 970, tried the latest version 2.55.3 and the game locks up a few seconds into a level after the mission briefing disappears.

Not sure if it this helps but this is the last error it x32dbg logs. Tried different levels in case it was particular, same error every time.

EXCEPTION_DEBUG_INFO:
dwFirstChance: 1
ExceptionCode: E06D7363 (CPP_EH_EXCEPTION)
ExceptionFlags: 00000001
ExceptionAddress: 75E4DDC2 kernelbase.75E4DDC2
NumberParameters: 3
ExceptionInformation[00]: 19930520
ExceptionInformation[01]: 0019E3AC
ExceptionInformation[02]: 6F8F0570 d3d11.6F8F0570
First chance exception on 75E4DDC2 (E06D7363, CPP_EH_EXCEPTION)!

In the leadup to that (other than Guard page exeptions, the last debug string from voodoo was

DebugString: "[dgVoodoo] INFO: DirectDrawSurface (09881510)::QueryInterface: Aggregated Direct3DTexture (17B65AD8) object is created and initialized.\n"

Thanks mate!

Reply 3739 of 3952, by FulValBot

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

If i try to editing config of dgVoodoo2 i can't see changes in-game... (version 2.55.3)

edit: same problem with 2.55.2 !!

edit2: no problems with 2.55

version 2.55.1 is detected by windows defender...

edit3: with new versions i see that dgVoodoo.conf file is into dgVoodoo2 main folder (because it's already included into archive... it wasn't in 2.55 and all other old versions) and not in C:\Users\yourname\Appdata\Roaming\dgVoodoo folder and this cause that problem... i've moved that file in correct folder and now 2.55.3 version it works fine

Last edited by FulValBot on 2018-08-23, 23:23. Edited 15 times in total.