dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2017-12-20 @ 18:09

Commandos 2 (use Destination Paris mod to have all 3 Commandos missions in one package! :D ) + WIP40 = confirmed working

Choose THE LEGACY version folder to install the mod.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 952
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby kahuna0k » 2017-12-21 @ 20:25

lowenz wrote:Commandos 2 (use Destination Paris mod to have all 3 Commandos missions in one package! :D ) + WIP40 = confirmed working

Choose THE LEGACY version folder to install the mod.


Do you have a voodoo.conf file that I could try? Maybe I'm using the wrong options.
kahuna0k
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-19 @ 08:45

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2017-12-21 @ 20:43

Nothing special, really.
The Bilinear Blit Stretch is necessary to smooth the output if you use a custom resolution (I use 1440x1080, directly forced through dgVoodoo2)

Remember to use the LEGACY version in Steam (it's the original CD patched version) if you want to play the Destination Paris (1.45) mod.
In this case put the dgVoodoo2 DLL into the Legacy folder instead of the root folder.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 952
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby kahuna0k » 2017-12-22 @ 10:12

I have the GOG version, maybe that's the problem, will try to find more info about the Legacy version.
kahuna0k
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-19 @ 08:45

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby kahuna0k » 2017-12-22 @ 10:24

Uhmm, I've checked and GOG Comandos 2 version is 1.20 and surprise! it runs without dgVoodoo but crashes as soon as I add the DLLs even without a .conf.
kahuna0k
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-19 @ 08:45

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2017-12-25 @ 16:04

Could you plz try the spec-release version of dgVoodoo and attach the output of the debug layer?
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby daniel_u » 2017-12-27 @ 19:00

In the DX tab of the app if i try to put my max video card memory which is 11GB,save then reopen the the app, the value that appers after is not corect.
It seems there is a bug in the UI. Always wanted to report this but always forgot about it.

So i try to put 11000 MB and after the save and reopen i get something like 1808 MB. Funny in a way.
Is there a limitation?
User avatar
daniel_u
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 2015-1-11 @ 12:19

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2017-12-29 @ 09:16

Yes, the limit is 4GB (32 bit), but even 4GB is an overkill for old DX games.

11000 modulo 4096 = 2808, that's why you see that. :)
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Gagster » 2017-12-30 @ 01:12

I was just about to post a topic regarding the newest Windows 10 Fall Update breaking compatibility with Red Alert Yuri's Revenge using dgVoodoo2. The game returned to desktop while the RA2 main menu soundtrack was still playing in the background, and Alt+Tab didn't work while trying to return to the game.

Vanilla Red Alert 2 worked as it should after the Windows 10 Update (vanilla RA2 starts at 1920x1080 I believe if that's adjusted in your config, with the intro videos, title screen and main menu being small centered images surrounded by black borders, while Yuri's Revenge starts at 640x480 I think). A mod for Tony Hawk's Underground 2 called THUG Pro also got it's full-screen mode broken, making the games image slide a bit down to the right making the upper- and the left part of the Windows desktop visible while playing the game.

It all turned out that I had to use a new compatibility option now to be found in Windows 10, called "Disable full-screen optimisations" that's to be found below the Compatibility mode-slider. That fixed both Red Alert 2 Yuri's Revenge and THUG Pro.
Gagster
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2016-4-09 @ 23:05

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby willow » 2018-1-01 @ 20:08

A dx9 wrapper in dgvoodoo2 could be usefull because amd has introduced bugs in the last drivers with some old dx9 games and dont want solve theses problems
http://www.dsogaming.com/news/amd-will- ... in-driver/
Last edited by willow on 2018-1-02 @ 18:26, edited 1 time in total.
willow
Newbie
 
Posts: 93
Joined: 2012-1-07 @ 22:37

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2018-1-02 @ 17:59

Yes (not an "emulator" BTW), but it's the biggest step ever for dege and dgv development.
First thing first the DX10/11 pass-through.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 952
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2018-1-02 @ 20:22

;)

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 952
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby gdjacobs » 2018-1-03 @ 02:21

I wasn't aware that he's still in the same position at AMD. Dude's been holding down the Radeon driver fort for a long time.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 5261
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-1-03 @ 20:18

DX9 is an api with a too long lifecycle with "millions" of games to be abandoned.
In spite of that, regarding that nothing lasts forever, I expect that it's going to get older and older in time.

I don't know if it'd worth to expose the present implementation behind dgVoodoo DX8 through DX9 interfaces. I mean, DX9.0 with only SM1.x support.
Are there games coded against DX9 but only for SM1.x? The one coming to my mind is Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness, but I'm not sure if SM1.x is only a fallback for cases when 2.x is not available.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2018-1-03 @ 22:10

DX9 SM 1.x eh?

Stalker "DX8" renderer is DX9 SM 1.x
Chaos Theory "DX8" renderer is DX9 SM 1.x
Far Cry 1.4 "low settings" preset is DX9 SM 1.x

And others.....we must unleash our hounds :D
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 952
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-1-06 @ 10:29

So, hmm.... :D
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby VicRattlehead » 2018-1-09 @ 00:46

Motorhead:
Maybe a problem with car shadows with the DirectX renderer?

DirectX
motor.exe_2018-01-09-08-15-40-131.png

motor.exe_2018-01-09-08-15-47-321.png


Glide
motor.exe_2018-01-09-08-14-26-134.png

motor.exe_2018-01-09-08-14-33-807.png


Software
motor.exe_2018-01-09-08-16-14-499.png
VicRattlehead
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2016-11-12 @ 08:08

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Myloch » 2018-1-11 @ 15:40

Raising output resolution only brings benefits to d3d games huh?

I know this is probably a foolish question but is it possible to make something similar to software mode in epsxe where you can raise rendering resolution and have crisper 3d graphics in directdraw too?
"Gamer & collector for passion, I firmly believe in the preservation and the diffusion of old/rare software, against all personal egoisms"
User avatar
Myloch
Member
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 2007-4-18 @ 22:13

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-1-12 @ 11:41

VicRattlehead wrote:Motorhead:
Maybe a problem with car shadows with the DirectX renderer?
Is it the same natively?


Myloch wrote:Raising output resolution only brings benefits to d3d games huh?

Yes...
For anything 2D you only get a blurrier appearance with potentially worse wrapper performance.

Myloch wrote:I know this is probably a foolish question but is it possible to make something similar to software mode in epsxe where you can raise rendering resolution and have crisper 3d graphics in directdraw too?

It turned out to be an issue recently for others too, so I introduced pixel multiplying as a feature in the latest WIPs.
The output image will still be pixelated but since you monitor is driven at a higher physical resolution, you'll get crisper appearance.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby VicRattlehead » 2018-1-12 @ 11:50

Dege wrote:
VicRattlehead wrote:Motorhead:
Maybe a problem with car shadows with the DirectX renderer?
Is it the same natively?


I don't have a contemporary setup. On my modern PC, it has the same problem without dgVoodoo2.
VicRattlehead
Newbie
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 2016-11-12 @ 08:08

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests