dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby UCyborg » 2018-4-02 @ 19:58

Some things regarding Drakan's Lens Flare Effects. They were problematic even on the ancient NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440, sometimes making the game crash. I also remember crashes on ATI Radeon HD 4890. I don't remember whether they were rendered correctly on these cards. Here's a screenshot when they're rendered via dgVoodoo (haven't had crashes so far):

Image

This appears to be rendered correctly. Another bigger screenshot and another smaller (where lag spike is apparent). The lag spikes are more severe at greater resolutions, but even at 800x600 they're distracting. Natively on GeForce GTX 750 Ti, those round light shaped things are absent on my end. On a laptop with Radeon R2, they're absent as well and additional graphical artifacts are produced.

I also noticed the game manual mentions the sun, where Lens Flare Effects should also step in the action. I don't remember ever seeing the sun in the game. Maybe the sun is there in the very first version that was released.

A test saved game with above scene
UCyborg
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 2015-9-04 @ 11:10

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby brad86 » 2018-4-02 @ 23:29

awgamer wrote:
brad86 wrote:( Well, close enough ).


What's off?


Just little things. Nothing game breaking.

Light beams go straight through Sam. You can see this in the vent on the first level. You won't notice it much through the game unless you try to.

EAX emulation is spotty on Realtek onboard audio. It sounds better than without, but it doesn't sound correct like on XBOX.

FMV videos play at their native size in the middle of the screen. They are very small on a 1080p display.

The important thing is that buffer shadows are fixed.
brad86
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2017-12-07 @ 14:44

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby antrad » 2018-4-03 @ 06:34

brad86 wrote:
awgamer wrote:
brad86 wrote:( Well, close enough ).


What's off?


Just little things. Nothing game breaking.

Light beams go straight through Sam. You can see this in the vent on the first level. You won't notice it much through the game unless you try to.

EAX emulation is spotty on Realtek onboard audio. It sounds better than without, but it doesn't sound correct like on XBOX.

FMV videos play at their native size in the middle of the screen. They are very small on a 1080p display.

The important thing is that buffer shadows are fixed.


I think nothing of those things have anything to do with dgVoodoo.

But while we are at it... the worst thing for me in this game and Pandora Tomorrow is the horrible LOD system; people turn into PlayStation 1 characters when they are just few meters away from the camera. In PT the highest quality model loads only when you zoom into someone. And to add salt on the wound... even the inferior PS2 version doesn't have such a LOD system, the highest quality models are rendered all the time. And even worse... the PS3 HD version, which is a port of the PC version, doesn't have that fixed !
User avatar
antrad
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-2-18 @ 22:36

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2018-4-03 @ 18:03

V15UAL K3YS wrote:Hey! I wanted to thank you Dege for making dgvoodoo2 in the first place; I can run Test Drive 6 and Final Drive Nitro with it perfectly; able to override the in-game resolution and achieve much high graphical quality and framerates.

I wanted to report a graphical error it has with one game. I am trying it in one game in question known as Road Wars, a 2001 PC Combat Racing Sim that uses Direct X 7.0. In Windows 10, the gameplay runs fine but the loading menus and such are incredibly slow and choppy, and dgvoodoo fixes this. However, in races, the game shows strange graphical artifacts in the form of white/black dotted lines when using dgvoodoo2. The game uses DirectX 7.0 and requires d3drm.dll to run.

Image


What version of Road Wars do you have? I got a US re-release, but the chrome effect on the cars goes transparent up close. The version is 1.0. There is a demo of version 1.1 with fixed chrome effect, but I have to run it with the chrome disabled.
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 876
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby V15UAL K3YS » 2018-4-04 @ 00:19

VirtuaIceMan wrote:What version of Road Wars do you have? I got a US re-release, but the chrome effect on the cars goes transparent up close. The version is 1.0. There is a demo of version 1.1 with fixed chrome effect, but I have to run it with the chrome disabled.


Version 1.1 (though this version comes with a different chrome map texture than the demo version online). I don't have the chrome effect issue you're having in my version; the game runs fine with it and I don't have any transparency issues with it. Regardless of how the graphics settings are adjusted though, the graphical glitching I am getting doesn't go away. I am using an NVIDIA GTX 1070 GPU if that helps.

Here's another screenshot (running with dgvoodoo2): Image
V15UAL K3YS
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-4-01 @ 18:11

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Squall Leonhart » 2018-4-04 @ 04:39

2.52 broke menu's and textures in FF8, i can't seem to find a configuration that makes them work in this and builds after.

Edit:
paletted textures screwing up, 8500 swaps the weird colours/texture garbling for black boxes.
Last edited by Squall Leonhart on 2018-4-05 @ 22:10, edited 1 time in total.
Squall Leonhart
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-7-21 @ 06:50

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-4-05 @ 17:57

Thanks for the feedback, Guys!

I'll investigate the reported issues soon, to see if they are easily fixable or not, especially the regressive ones like FF8 (I hate regressive bugs).

But before that, I must get my ducks in a row. :)
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby KainXVIII » 2018-4-05 @ 20:13

KainXVIII wrote:Testing Gabriel Knight 3 with new version - default gamma is too dark (normal without dgvoodoo), also forcing higher resolution cause mouse pointer and other menus to glitch and smear picture. Also something wrong with Gabe's eyes lol.
UPD - seems like glitched mouse cursor and menus fixed by disabling incremental rendering!
UPD1 - or maybe not :dead:

More testing - game plays perfectly fine without forcing higher resolutions! Well, some lines on textures here and there (maybe because of MSAA), but still much better than playing without dgvoodoo (heavy framedrops)
User avatar
KainXVIII
Member
 
Posts: 249
Joined: 2015-5-20 @ 15:04
Location: Yaroslavl

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby CoolGamer » 2018-4-11 @ 22:32

CoolGamer wrote:Dege, please take a look at "Star Wars Rebel Assault 2" windows version when you have the time. There is no installation, just copy the contents of the first CD to a folder on your harddisk. Game executable RA2START.EXE calls DSETUP.DLL which in turn tries to access a missing procedure entry point in Kernel32.dll named SUnMapLS_IP_EBP_12. Apparently this deprecated procedure entry point only existed in windows95/98's kernel32.dll, and no longer exists in Windows 7 and up. As a result, the game crashes before it loads ddraw.dll. If you can patch the game executable, we should be able to enjoy this game through dgVoodoo. Game executable size is only 140kb, so hopefully it shouldn't be a big deal to reverse engineer it for you. :happy:


Dege, did you have the chance to look at "Star Wars Rebel Assault 2"? :happy:
CoolGamer
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2017-1-14 @ 17:22

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby lowenz » 2018-4-15 @ 00:28

There are some issues with the lastest version of ReShade (3.2)

https://reshade.me/forum/releases/4183-3-2#27396

And all Unreal Engine games crash at start (using reshade 3.2 +dgVoodoo2 2.55).
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 922
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-4-15 @ 17:42

I tried ReShade with dgVoodoo + Splinter Cell, and it crashes for me too:

Image

It crashes right at startup, when creating the internal swapchain of the D3D8 device. Referencing NULL ptr.

For more information on the case:

> D3D8.dll!D3D11Root::ApplyRenderTargets(unsigned int adapterID, ID3D11RenderTargetView * rt0, ID3D11RenderTargetView * rt1, ID3D11DepthStencilView * pDepthStencilView) Line 1297 C++

in dgVoodoo this method calls OMSetRenderTargets in the following form:

Code: Select all
ID3D11RenderTargetView* rt[2] = {rt0, rt1};
adapter.pD3D11DeviceContext->OMSetRenderTargets (2, rt, pDepthStencilView);

rt0 and rt1 are both NULL, only pDepthStencilView is non-NULL. My guess is ReShade expects at least one non-NULL rendertarget (this code didn't change in dgVoodoo for ages).

Also, Crosire wrote that dgVoodoo deadlocks for him. Well, for Unreal Engine games it can indeed deadlock: since the engine forces the mouse cursor at the center of the physical window, it can easily go outside of the mouse range expected by dgVoodoo which tries to force it back, and this ping-pong results in deadlock.
For Unreal engine games it's better to set 'FreeMouse = true' in the GeneralExt config section.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-4-15 @ 17:45

CoolGamer wrote:
CoolGamer wrote:Dege, please take a look at "Star Wars Rebel Assault 2" windows version when you have the time. There is no installation, just copy the contents of the first CD to a folder on your harddisk. Game executable RA2START.EXE calls DSETUP.DLL which in turn tries to access a missing procedure entry point in Kernel32.dll named SUnMapLS_IP_EBP_12. Apparently this deprecated procedure entry point only existed in windows95/98's kernel32.dll, and no longer exists in Windows 7 and up. As a result, the game crashes before it loads ddraw.dll. If you can patch the game executable, we should be able to enjoy this game through dgVoodoo. Game executable size is only 140kb, so hopefully it shouldn't be a big deal to reverse engineer it for you. :happy:


Dege, did you have the chance to look at "Star Wars Rebel Assault 2"? :happy:

No, unfortunately didn't. I have got a lot to do again at my workplace, so couldn't work on dgVoodoo (beta period sucks). :D :dead:
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-4-16 @ 19:04

V15UAL K3YS wrote:Hey! I wanted to thank you Dege for making dgvoodoo2 in the first place; I can run Test Drive 6 and Final Drive Nitro with it perfectly; able to override the in-game resolution and achieve much high graphical quality and framerates.

I wanted to report a graphical error it has with one game. I am trying it in one game in question known as Road Wars, a 2001 PC Combat Racing Sim that uses Direct X 7.0. In Windows 10, the gameplay runs fine but the loading menus and such are incredibly slow and choppy, and dgvoodoo fixes this. However, in races, the game shows strange graphical artifacts in the form of white/black dotted lines when using dgvoodoo2. The game uses DirectX 7.0 and requires d3drm.dll to run.

Image

Works perfectly for me on AMD and Intel. On nVidia I get the same flashing dotted appearance as you.
I know where the error occurs during rendering but don't know why. I debugged the wrong pixels by the graphics debugger but even debugging the pixel shader yielded what was expected.
Seems to be an nVidia-flaw. :confused:
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby V15UAL K3YS » 2018-4-22 @ 03:59

Dege wrote:Works perfectly for me on AMD and Intel. On nVidia I get the same flashing dotted appearance as you.
I know where the error occurs during rendering but don't know why. I debugged the wrong pixels by the graphics debugger but even debugging the pixel shader yielded what was expected.
Seems to be an nVidia-flaw. :confused:

That's unfortunate; would there be any possible workaround? It normally works fine without dgvoodoo2 other than the menus running slow (such as certain menus running as slow as 2 fps). The beta version of Road Wars that uses DirectX 6.1 doesn't have this problem.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Qo6q0PL-mg
V15UAL K3YS
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-4-01 @ 18:11

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-4-22 @ 20:23

V15UAL K3YS wrote:
Dege wrote:Works perfectly for me on AMD and Intel. On nVidia I get the same flashing dotted appearance as you.
I know where the error occurs during rendering but don't know why. I debugged the wrong pixels by the graphics debugger but even debugging the pixel shader yielded what was expected.
Seems to be an nVidia-flaw. :confused:

That's unfortunate; would there be any possible workaround? It normally works fine without dgvoodoo2 other than the menus running slow (such as certain menus running as slow as 2 fps). The beta version of Road Wars that uses DirectX 6.1 doesn't have this problem.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Qo6q0PL-mg

I have another game suffering from the same or very similar problem, I'll try to figure out something for them.
The problem is, as if pixel shaders didn't run correctly on nVidia for all pixels, for no reasons.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11, GTA 3

Postby batterymandark » 2018-4-23 @ 16:28

Hi , i have been testing GTA 3 with the gta 3 enhanced edition, a.k.a "Makes GTA3 look like ps2 version in HD" and i think GTA3 disslike modern OS
So i did try to fix the problems with running dgvoodoo but..

i know from the past that gta 3 was a bit of a mixed bag to run on the PC,
However later now at the present, when i tried to combine dgvoodoo with GTA3 and enhanced edition, i'v notice 3 things

Nvidia , gives the worse experience, a lot of hiccups and very often frame spikes
AMD, gives the most okey experience, more micro stutter, but its almost perfect, but it also suffers from spikes sometimes
Intel HD, 1920x1080 , because vga... actually gives the best experience .

Now i have uploaded a frame time recording here of an somewhat realistic experience. so i did it with my AMD witch gives the most accurate behavior with or without dgvoodoo

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Agj8jUvjAJjzm1t-54cYJrIS4QVh

Also check your PM , i'v done something that should give the installation a lot easier, so you could test it
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby willow » 2018-4-24 @ 16:08

1) What are the differences between "scaling mode centered" and "scaling mode, centered keep aspect ratio"?
For each resolution selcted (640x480,2560x1440 or above my native resolution or other (my display is 2560x1440)), with "centered", aspect ratio stay 4/3.
With "centered keep aspect ratio", aspect ratio stay 4/3 if I select 4/3 resolution under my native resolution but if I select 16/9 resolution, aspect ratio become 16/9. If I select resolution above my native resolution, it's zoomed.

for example:
my native resolution : 2560x1440 (16/9)
croc "centered keep aspect ratio" at 3840x2880 (4/3 resolution)
Image
image is zoomed

croc "with centered", "stretched keep aspect ratio" or "stretched 4/3 aspect ratio" at 3840x2880 (4/3 resolution)

Image
aspect ratio stay 4/3


croc with "centered", "stretched keep aspect ratio" or "stretched 4/3 aspect ratio" or "centered keep aspect ratio" at 1920x1440

Image
aspect ratio stay 4/3


croc with "centered", at 2560x1440, aspect ratio stay 4/3

croc with "stretched keep aspect ratio" or "stretched 4/3 aspect ratio" or "centered keep aspect ratio" at 2560x1440
aspect ratio is 16/9

croc "centered keep aspect ratio" at 3840x2160 (16/9 resolution)
image is zoomed


croc with "centered", at 3840x2160 , aspect ratio stay 4/3


croc with "stretched keep aspect ratio" or "stretched 4/3 aspect ratio" at 3840x2160
aspect ratio is 16/9
willow
Newbie
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2012-1-07 @ 22:37

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11, GTA 3

Postby Dege » 2018-4-24 @ 18:37

batterymandark wrote:Hi , i have been testing GTA 3 with the gta 3 enhanced edition, a.k.a "Makes GTA3 look like ps2 version in HD" and i think GTA3 disslike modern OS
So i did try to fix the problems with running dgvoodoo but..

i know from the past that gta 3 was a bit of a mixed bag to run on the PC,
However later now at the present, when i tried to combine dgvoodoo with GTA3 and enhanced edition, i'v notice 3 things

Nvidia , gives the worse experience, a lot of hiccups and very often frame spikes
AMD, gives the most okey experience, more micro stutter, but its almost perfect, but it also suffers from spikes sometimes
Intel HD, 1920x1080 , because vga... actually gives the best experience .

Now i have uploaded a frame time recording here of an somewhat realistic experience. so i did it with my AMD witch gives the most accurate behavior with or without dgvoodoo

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Agj8jUvjAJjzm1t-54cYJrIS4QVh

Also check your PM , i'v done something that should give the installation a lot easier, so you could test it

Yeah, I know about GTA3. I have that installed for a long time and tested it frequently.
Me too experienced heavy frame spikes (lagging) on nVidia but worked fine on AMD according to my memory. Exactly this was the situation for Duke Nukem Manhattan Project too.
It's weird because I couldn't explain (Duke) and still can't but since then
- I modified a certain thing in 2.55 that fixed Duke lagging on nVidia, it's smooth now
- I updated my nVidia driver
I don't know which one (or both together) but GTA3 is also super smooth for me now. Didn't check that recently on AMD but just did again on nVidia and Intel and it's working fine.

willow wrote:1) What are the differences between "scaling mode centered" and "scaling mode, centered keep aspect ratio"?
For each resolution selcted (640x480,2560x1440 or above my native resolution or other (my display is 2560x1440)), with "centered", aspect ratio stay 4/3.
With "centered keep aspect ratio", aspect ratio stay 4/3 if I select 4/3 resolution under my native resolution but if I select 16/9 resolution, aspect ratio become 16/9. If I select resolution above my native resolution, it's zoomed.

Ummm... errr... :blush: 'Centered, keep aspect ratio' is an unfortunate name for centered appearance where the scaling is done by dgVoodoo itself. Plain 'centered' is also for centered appearance but scaling is up to the graphics driver.
Of course keeping aspect ratio makes no sense here because it's always kept. It's only for distinguishing between the two.
For the same reason, if you choose larger resolution than your desktop resolution then you'll only see the middle part of the output image because it's centered on (and clipped to) a smaller area.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1124
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11, GTA 3

Postby batterymandark » 2018-4-24 @ 19:38

Dege wrote:
Dege wrote:Yeah, I know about GTA3. I have that installed for a long time and tested it frequently.
Me too experienced heavy frame spikes (lagging) on nVidia but worked fine on AMD according to my memory. Exactly this was the situation for Duke Nukem Manhattan Project too.
It's weird because I couldn't explain (Duke) and still can't but since then
- I modified a certain thing in 2.55 that fixed Duke lagging on nVidia, it's smooth now
- I updated my nVidia driver
I don't know which one (or both together) but GTA3 is also super smooth for me now. Didn't check that recently on AMD but just did again on nVidia and Intel and it's working fine.



that's awesome. did you trye'd my GT3 build? on your PM, because there is a specific slow down , when hitting pause to menu, it can make my nvidia 1080 crawl to 2 fps after a few sec.
Also my GTA3 build , makes the player skin not appearing in the intro, so hes just a white model in the opening sequence. when Claude get shot by hes Girlfriend after the
bank robbery. Maybe thats a mipmap issue ??
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Previous

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest