dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Glurak » 2018-2-08 @ 05:12

Did somone try Age of Empires ? Videos dont play for me with dgvoodoo :< and the game is really broken :x

without less problems.
Glurak
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2015-1-06 @ 15:51

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-2-09 @ 21:38

Sardoc wrote:
Dege wrote:Thanx! Issue fixed.
I hope this one also fixes flashing lights in Kings Of The Road.


Oh cool. Is the patch available somewhere?


Not yet, only in the next WIP.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby IMeganElisabeth » 2018-2-10 @ 14:28

Through a google search I was directed here by the post made regarding older Nancy Drew games by Ithilin. It feels miraculously lucky to have this be such an extremely recent post and response since they aren't too popular and posts are pretty rare if not nonexistent outside of the official site. Im receiving the same error: 'InitDirectDraw(), pSDestSurface() - DDERR_SURFACEBUSY - Access to this surface is being refused because the surface is already locked by another thread.' Im also using the latest released version of dgvoodoo2. This is my first time ever trying the truly incredible dgvoodoo and unfortunately wish I wouldn't have encountered incompatibility right away, darn it. Anyways, I saw that this bug would be fixed in the next update (WIP41) and am wondering if I should hold off playing them if it won't be too long. Am just wondering if there's any sort of ETA for the release of WIP41 since through looking at previous releases the timeframes are kind of all over the place. So just didn't know if there was any sort of update of this one coming soon or not. (: Thank you so much in advance.
Last edited by IMeganElisabeth on 2018-2-10 @ 16:17, edited 2 times in total.
IMeganElisabeth
Newbie
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2018-2-10 @ 14:10

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Stiletto » 2018-2-10 @ 15:57

IMeganElisabeth wrote:Anyways, I saw that this bug would be fixed in the next update (WIP41) and am wondering if I should hold off playing them if it won't be too long. Am just wondering if there's any sort of ETA for the release of WIP41 since through looking at previous releases the timeframes are kind of all over the place. So just didn't know if there was any sort of update of this one coming soon or not. (: Thank you so much in advance.


Current WIP version is WIP42: viewtopic.php?p=647030#p647030
Please note that like all WIP versions, it is NOT a release version and there may be additional bugs.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 4083
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby IMeganElisabeth » 2018-2-10 @ 16:15

Stiletto wrote:
IMeganElisabeth wrote:Anyways, I saw that this bug would be fixed in the next update (WIP41) and am wondering if I should hold off playing them if it won't be too long. Am just wondering if there's any sort of ETA for the release of WIP41 since through looking at previous releases the timeframes are kind of all over the place. So just didn't know if there was any sort of update of this one coming soon or not. (: Thank you so much in advance.


Current WIP version is WIP42: viewtopic.php?p=647030#p647030
Please note that like all WIP versions, it is NOT a release version and there may be additional bugs.


I had no idea you were able to download WIP versions like this! It was stated this specific bug was already fixed and added to WIP41 so hopefully it will work now! I think I'll just use WIP141. Do I just download the zip and the files are the same as the official releases that I add to the game or is it different? Thank you again SO very much! It's amazing to be able to have it now when I didn't think it was possible until another release!
IMeganElisabeth
Newbie
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2018-2-10 @ 14:10

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-2-10 @ 18:09

Yes, the files are the same as the ones included in an official release.
The difference between official and WIP releases is WIP versions aren't extensively tested, so they may break something that works with official ones.

Nancy Drew games should work with the latest WIP, I already fixed the bug you mentioned.

BTW, I should release new official version. 2.54 feels a bit outdated.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby IMeganElisabeth » 2018-2-11 @ 03:04

Thank you so so very much for all of your incredible work! This is truly an incredible surprise as I thought I would have to wait for the next official release which I've seen can be many many many months. I greatly appreciate you updated my and keeping on top of bugs like this so quickly!! Also making WIP's available to download!!! Am so shocked and grateful for this. I can't wait to try it and hope I get lucky with it working with ReShade without any bugs. I just have to say It's truly amazing what you are able to do and I'm so grateful for your talents and hard work. You're a genius in my book and bring an inexplicable amount of happiness to me being able to get my nostalgia fix with my childhood games. Truly cannot thank you enough.
IMeganElisabeth
Newbie
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2018-2-10 @ 14:10

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Sardoc » 2018-2-11 @ 14:12

Dege wrote:BTW, I should release new official version. 2.54 feels a bit outdated.


Yes please, if it fixes my TR4 light flickering bug :)
User avatar
Sardoc
Newbie
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 2012-9-21 @ 13:11

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby stranno » 2018-2-11 @ 22:55

Dege, can you take a look at 3D Blitz (not the programming language lol)?

https://drive.google.com/open?id=15yz3l ... Q0lTVzK85e

I couldnt get any log so it is probably not hooked at all. It is supposed to be a Direct3D 7 game. It crash when you execute it. Same behaviour with DXWnd.

The download is the trial version, there are no registry entries and blitz.cfg is encripted so i'm not sure if it has any kind of renderer line or something.
User avatar
stranno
Newbie
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 2016-2-28 @ 19:55

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Waltc » 2018-2-13 @ 00:16

DosFreak wrote:Now that it matters since those who rant rarely see reason and this is the Internet but:

don't get me started on the all the *crap* being circulated about the "Spectre" and "Meltdown" vulnerabilities that no software has yet been able to exploit


https://www.zdnet.com/article/meltdown- ... attackers/


Yes, I imagine that is true as thoroughly announced and publicized as it has been..;) However, unless the specifics of the vulnerabilities are released in such a way as to enable a hack to actually write software exploiting it, if I were you I wouldn't hold my breath waiting to see such malware materialize. Simply calling it "Spectre" and saying "It's a vulnerability" tells no one anything about how to go about creating such malware, does it? Still, unless you can point me to a piece of malware that actually exploits Spectre (I would say "Meltdown," too, but my CPU doesn't have that vulnerability at all), I would only advise: don't believe everything you read on the Internet...;) Possibly you are yet young enough not to thoroughly understand the concept of web sites publishing unsupportable, speculative, and sensational articles for "page hits", but there it is...;) Happens every single day. Caveat Emptor. BTW, I didn't say the "vulnerabilities" might not be real--as they might well be. What I said was that the way that they were *handled* publicly, in the absence of even one single piece of malware exploiting such vulnerabilities, was horrific. No rant--just fact.

Speaking of "sensational," why would you call a theoretical, proof-of-concept vulnerability "Meltdown," when (a) no such malware exploiting that vulnerability exists, and (b) if it did exist it could "melt down" absolutely nothing? That's what I mean about sensational--when I found out that Google was directly involved in the public release of these proof-of-concept theoretical vulnerabilities, suddenly these wildly exaggerated nicknames were understandable. The *real* name for the vulnerabilities is a quite mundane and sedate series of identifying letters and numbers--the names "Meltdown" and "Spectre" were adopted and published to create panic--and that's about all that's resulted so far--aside from a few bricked Intel boxes, that is...;) Usually, stuff like "Meltdown" and Spectre" are nicknames reserved for worms that have been seen in the wild and encountered by a good number of people--"proof-of-concept" stuff--compared with real malware--is in a much-less "alarmist" class altogether--*because* there is no actual malware existing to exploit the so-called "proof."
User avatar
Waltc
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2013-4-27 @ 19:00

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby DosFreak » 2018-2-13 @ 01:42

Yes it's obviously not an issue and should be ignored like all malware with sensational names. Ignore it all it's just fake news.

Now back to dgvoodoo discussion.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9783
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-2-14 @ 12:37

stranno wrote:Dege, can you take a look at 3D Blitz (not the programming language lol)?

https://drive.google.com/open?id=15yz3l ... Q0lTVzK85e

I couldnt get any log so it is probably not hooked at all. It is supposed to be a Direct3D 7 game. It crash when you execute it. Same behaviour with DXWnd.

The download is the trial version, there are no registry entries and blitz.cfg is encripted so i'm not sure if it has any kind of renderer line or something.


There is a division by zero in the executable. If I comment that out then it works... :D:D
I mean, natively, with some flashing polygons.
This game is also written to choose the 1. enumerated d3d device which must be a hardware one. So, I removed 'Emulated MMX' from D3D7 in dgVoodoo to keep compatibility with old DX. It works that way with dgVoodoo too.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Captainfalcon » 2018-2-17 @ 22:38

What is the VRAM option ? Does it use gpu vram or RAM ?
Captainfalcon
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-9-16 @ 02:36

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby stranno » 2018-2-18 @ 01:38

SODA Offroad Racing. Wrong colors in some bitmaps.

Left: dgVoodoo. Right: MS D3D.

Image Image


Image Image

Image Image

Image

WIP43.
User avatar
stranno
Newbie
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 2016-2-28 @ 19:55

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-2-18 @ 18:54

This is a plain 8-bit paletted DDraw game.
Set 'Reduced color mode' to 8 bit in the app compatibility options and it works fine. Game palette somehow conflicts with dgVoodoo's 32 bit display mode (the same case as with Sanitarium cutscenes).
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Johnylyr » 2018-2-19 @ 00:55

Dege wrote:
tgomola wrote:I've tested dgVoodoo with International Rally Championship, here are the results:
- game works without any major glitches, but the frame rate is quite low (~25 fps)
- when I press Esc, the game stops but the pause menu doesn't show up

The game runs in Windows 95 compatibility mode (otherwise it crashes when it starts).


I found a glitch and fixed that. Other than that this game works perfectly for me at 60 fps, it's a DX5 game not demanding too much resources.

Lego Island doesn't render any 3d elements and hotspot positions appear to be slightly higher than they're supposed to. Results using d3drm.dll from DirectX 6 (same result with the one from XP), game crashes using the d3drm.dll the game comes with (directx 5).


Is there a demo for this game? I couldn't find so far but I won't give up. :)

Don't know how to do a crash dump

I don't know an easier way than installing Visual Studio Express and attaching to the game when it crashes. Then you could see the crashing point.


How did you fix the ingame pause menu?
User avatar
Johnylyr
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2003-11-30 @ 05:38

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Devil Master » 2018-2-20 @ 03:40

Last year I wanted to play Sentinel Returns in stereoscopy, so I used dgVoodoo to wrap the Glide calls of that game to DirectX 11, and ReShade with the SuperDepth3D.fx shader to read the depth buffer and create two stereoscopic views. However, I noticed that doing so provided no 3D effect at all, everything was flat. Looking at the depth map confirmed that the depth buffer wasn't being read: it was all black, as opposed to a grayscale scene where the objects are lighter the farther away they are from the POV.
Remembering that I could play Sentinel Returns in stereoscopy with Windows XP and dgVoodoo v1.40+, I downloaded that version and attempted another strategy: dgVoodoo v1.40+ would translate Glide calls to DirectX 7, while dgVoodoo 2 would translate DirectX 7 calls to DirectX 11. However, that didn't work either, and the scene remained flat.

What I want to know is: will dgVoodoo ever allow other programs like ReShade to access the depth buffer, so that Glide games can be played in stereoscopy on modern systems too?
User avatar
Devil Master
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2006-6-01 @ 20:00

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Truth Unknown » 2018-2-20 @ 05:42

I know ReShade can be touchy with some games, but do make sure Anti-Aliasing is OFF. As AA interrupts ReShade from accessing Depth information.
User avatar
Truth Unknown
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2014-7-09 @ 02:15

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Dege » 2018-2-21 @ 14:28

I guess ReShade only hooks the final stage of the rendering, when presenting the output to the rendering window, and process that image.
(But if depth buffer reading works without MSAA then I'm wrong.)

In dgVoodoo however there is no z-buffer attached at that point. The final image can be scaled, postprocessed by dgVoodoo, so even its size may differ from the z-buffer used by the game.
I have some ideas what to do, though.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Postby Truth Unknown » 2018-2-22 @ 04:23

ReShade on it's own can't use the depth-buffer if Anti-Aliasing is enabled at all, something to do with how Anti-Aliasing works and where ReShade is trying to inject into or something. I can't remember where I came across this information, it was a long time ago when SweetFX and ReShade were new and people complained about it. Anyway, ReShade does work if scaling (forgot that can stop ReShade from working with depth) isn't changed and anti-aliasing disabled (in-game, driver or DgVoodoo), and it works well. Used it with SW Rogue Squadron, Phantasy Star Online: Blue Burst (on a private server, also weird Depth Buffer behavior that I should test with ReShade's D3D8 to D3D9 support) and House of the Dead PC, enabling Ambient Occlusion, SMAA, Bloom, Depth of Field and Reflective Bump-mapping. Would be nice if you can figure something for the scaling thing, but playing in native windowed mode or full-screen is fine for me.
User avatar
Truth Unknown
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2014-7-09 @ 02:15

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests