VOGONS


dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Topic actions

  • This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

Reply 3721 of 3949, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ZellSF wrote:

Of course I say that having only tested with death/success movies, so I tried copying the story movies and it starts crashing 100% of the time when selecting new game. This seems to be a regression since 2.55 works perfectly. Windowed mode also works perfectly (sort of like Requiem?). Three logs attached if Dege wants to read, Thief 2 running with movies in fullscreen (and crashing), Thief 2 running with movies in windowed mode (and running fine) and Thief 2 running with no movies (except lose/win ones, also runs fine).

I'm not sure but I think I found the reason. BloodRayne2 happens to crash for me all time when skipping from the intro movie to the game.
I did a modification for the sake of DXVK in 2.55.1 and it turned out to be bad.

Reply 3722 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Some more uninteresting (as in they all work perfectly) games tested:

Mangchi The Hammer Boy doesn't like dgVooodoo 2.55.1+, otherwise no problems. Minor graphic glitches with resolution forcing.

HammerBoy 2018-07-30 21-02-19-34.jpg
Filename
HammerBoy 2018-07-30 21-02-19-34.jpg
File size
559.89 KiB
Views
1426 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Room Zoom: Race for Impact doesn't like dgVoodoo 2.55.1+ either, but no other problems.

roomzoom 2018-08-04 12-11-38-78.jpg
Filename
roomzoom 2018-08-04 12-11-38-78.jpg
File size
309.99 KiB
Views
1426 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Kaan: Barbarian's Blade also seems to have a problem with dgVoodoo 2.55.1+, but otherwise has no problems.

Main 2018-08-04 12-03-34-36.jpg
Filename
Main 2018-08-04 12-03-34-36.jpg
File size
278.49 KiB
Views
1426 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Gift seems to share enough similarities with Kaan that I think it runs on the same engine, however it works fine in dgVoodoo2 2.55.1+ and shows black screen instead of FMVs when resolution forcing is on.

Gift 2018-07-30 20-53-33-16.jpg
Filename
Gift 2018-07-30 20-53-33-16.jpg
File size
382.43 KiB
Views
1426 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Whiteout works flawlessly.

Whiteout 2018-07-30 21-34-24-85.jpg
Filename
Whiteout 2018-07-30 21-34-24-85.jpg
File size
570.35 KiB
Views
1426 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3723 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Dead Man's Hand is an Unreal Engine game with no issues. Needs a framerate limiter though.

DMH 2018-08-04 11-59-46-67.jpg
Filename
DMH 2018-08-04 11-59-46-67.jpg
File size
492.9 KiB
Views
1424 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Highland Warriors (demo) has double cursor issue when resolution forcing, though the game has perfect high resolution support and no need for it anyway.

hw 2018-08-03 22-05-56-38.jpg
Filename
hw 2018-08-03 22-05-56-38.jpg
File size
1.05 MiB
Views
1424 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Lords of Everquest works perfectly, but is a bit weird with resolution forcing. It will break menus unless you change resolution to a forced resolution ingame. If you want resolution forcing for UI scaling here you might want to make a script to set the game to desktop resolution before starting it then changing to your desired UI resolution ingame afterwards. Also avoid forced texture filtering and non-integer scales.

Lords 2018-08-03 21-37-37-09.jpg
Filename
Lords 2018-08-03 21-37-37-09.jpg
File size
1022.25 KiB
Views
1424 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3724 of 3949, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ZellSF wrote:

Some more uninteresting (as in they all work perfectly) games tested:

Well, I always like to see your game reports. 😀
Nicely presented with details.

As for the 2.55.1+ issue, plz try the new WIP I just released. I fixed the regression bug.

Reply 3725 of 3949, by willow

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
ZellSF wrote:

Easy way is to just right click the exe, properties than compatibility and then run this program in compatibility mode for Windows 98... Unfortunately, that might introduce more problems, so if possible you want to install Application Compatibility Tools from the ADK: https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/windows … -deployment-kit or Microsoft Application Compatibility Toolkit 5.6 if you're on Windows 7: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/deta … ls.aspx?id=7352

Then you want to run Compatibility Administrator (32-bit), right click on "New Database(1) [Untitled_1]", rename it to something, then right click again "create new > application fix", fill in the three fields, click next two times, you'll find a list, you want to only check "Win98VersionLie", then next and finish. Now click "File > Save as", save the database somewhere, then click "File > Install".

I'm guessing the game starts on a code path intended for NT OSes if it doesn't detect 95/98 😖

Thanks. It works for intro CGI and some CGI but not for others. it doesn't work for CGI like travelling in hulline forest.

Reply 3726 of 3949, by FANTOMAS

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

Reply 3728 of 3949, by lowenz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
FANTOMAS wrote:
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

?

That is NO wrapper, it's a dedicated renderer (Unreal got dx7->11 renderers through unofficial - oldunreal - patches)

dgVoodoo useless? It's perfect as far as an universal wrapper can be.

Reply 3729 of 3949, by daniel_u

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
FANTOMAS wrote:
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

kentie is that you? Not that i care that much.😀 1 post , joined today, looks very...normal

Reply 3730 of 3949, by FANTOMAS

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
lowenz wrote:
? […]
Show full quote
FANTOMAS wrote:
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

?

That is NO wrapper, it's a dedicated renderer (Unreal got dx7->11 renderers through unofficial - oldunreal - patches)

dgVoodoo useless? It's perfect as far as an universal wrapper can be.

You're right ...it's a renderer... I love DGVOODOO but UNREAL has many renderers .....no need of a wrapper...

Reply 3731 of 3949, by FANTOMAS

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
daniel_u wrote:
FANTOMAS wrote:
lowenz wrote:

I'm testing Unreal in D3D wrapped to D3D11 by DGV2 on an i3 8300 and I must say tath the CPU is really important, more than the GPU actually (a 750 Ti beats a 1050 Ti thanks to the quad core vs dual core+hyperthreading).

A D3D11 wrapper is available here : http://kentie.net/article/d3d11drv/index.htm .....dgvoodoo2 is useless.......cpu load is very high with dgvoodoo like the OPEN GL renderer ....

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.191

kentie is that you? Not that i care that much.😀 1 post , joined today, looks very...normal

No.......

Reply 3733 of 3949, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Dege wrote:
Well, I always like to see your game reports. :) Nicely presented with details. […]
Show full quote
ZellSF wrote:

Some more uninteresting (as in they all work perfectly) games tested:

Well, I always like to see your game reports. 😀
Nicely presented with details.

As for the 2.55.1+ issue, plz try the new WIP I just released. I fixed the regression bug.

Those games are all fixed in 2.55.3.

Mouse input for RIM: Battle Planets is also fixed, but just to give you more to look at with this problematic game...:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBcV4TKZdDA&feature=youtu.be
Remember how 3D models didn't show in this game? Well they still disappear too often when moving the camera. Notice how when I move the camera, the 3D models for the units disappear before they've left the camera. This isn't supposed to happen. It does not happen natively. This is the second level of this demo:
https://www.fileplanet.com/59680/download/Rim … le-Planets-Demo

Reply 3734 of 3949, by BMickey

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Need for Speed™ Porsche® 2000
Main menu with bumped up resolution w/o issues with latest dg 2.55.3; full 32 bit color, instead of 16 bit default.

Porsche_menu.jpg
Filename
Porsche_menu.jpg
File size
197.15 KiB
Views
1087 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Unfortunately, there is a problem with lighting heavy flickering (screenshot is not showing this of course, but flickering is very intense); not spotted by me before, due to playing only day levels. 😀

Porsche_lights_not_good.jpg
Filename
Porsche_lights_not_good.jpg
File size
231.96 KiB
Views
1087 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

If lights go off - no issues.

Porsche_lights_off.jpg
Filename
Porsche_lights_off.jpg
File size
216.81 KiB
Views
1087 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Attached log from DebugView.

Filename
nfs5.log.zip
File size
108.08 KiB
Downloads
14 downloads
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3735 of 3949, by Cyrem

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hey Dege,

Like Jessietail a few pages back, I have a similar issue with LEGO Rock Raiders. v2.53 was the last working version(with some lighting issues) of voodoo before the newer versions caused problems running the game. I have a GTX 970, tried the latest version 2.55.3 and the game locks up a few seconds into a level after the mission briefing disappears.

Not sure if it this helps but this is the last error it x32dbg logs. Tried different levels in case it was particular, same error every time.

EXCEPTION_DEBUG_INFO:
dwFirstChance: 1
ExceptionCode: E06D7363 (CPP_EH_EXCEPTION)
ExceptionFlags: 00000001
ExceptionAddress: 75E4DDC2 kernelbase.75E4DDC2
NumberParameters: 3
ExceptionInformation[00]: 19930520
ExceptionInformation[01]: 0019E3AC
ExceptionInformation[02]: 6F8F0570 d3d11.6F8F0570
First chance exception on 75E4DDC2 (E06D7363, CPP_EH_EXCEPTION)!

In the leadup to that (other than Guard page exeptions, the last debug string from voodoo was

DebugString: "[dgVoodoo] INFO: DirectDrawSurface (09881510)::QueryInterface: Aggregated Direct3DTexture (17B65AD8) object is created and initialized.\n"

Thanks mate!

Reply 3736 of 3949, by FulValBot

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

If i try to editing config of dgVoodoo2 i can't see changes in-game... (version 2.55.3)

edit: same problem with 2.55.2 !!

edit2: no problems with 2.55

version 2.55.1 is detected by windows defender...

edit3: with new versions i see that dgVoodoo.conf file is into dgVoodoo2 main folder (because it's already included into archive... it wasn't in 2.55 and all other old versions) and not in C:\Users\yourname\Appdata\Roaming\dgVoodoo folder and this cause that problem... i've moved that file in correct folder and now 2.55.3 version it works fine

Last edited by FulValBot on 2018-08-23, 23:23. Edited 15 times in total.

Reply 3737 of 3949, by taeir

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Cyrem wrote:
Hey Dege, […]
Show full quote

Hey Dege,

Like Jessietail a few pages back, I have a similar issue with LEGO Rock Raiders. v2.53 was the last working version(with some lighting issues) of voodoo before the newer versions caused problems running the game. I have a GTX 970, tried the latest version 2.55.3 and the game locks up a few seconds into a level after the mission briefing disappears.

Not sure if it this helps but this is the last error it x32dbg logs. Tried different levels in case it was particular, same error every time.

EXCEPTION_DEBUG_INFO:
dwFirstChance: 1
ExceptionCode: E06D7363 (CPP_EH_EXCEPTION)
ExceptionFlags: 00000001
ExceptionAddress: 75E4DDC2 kernelbase.75E4DDC2
NumberParameters: 3
ExceptionInformation[00]: 19930520
ExceptionInformation[01]: 0019E3AC
ExceptionInformation[02]: 6F8F0570 d3d11.6F8F0570
First chance exception on 75E4DDC2 (E06D7363, CPP_EH_EXCEPTION)!

In the leadup to that (other than Guard page exeptions, the last debug string from voodoo was

DebugString: "[dgVoodoo] INFO: DirectDrawSurface (09881510)::QueryInterface: Aggregated Direct3DTexture (17B65AD8) object is created and initialized.\n"

Thanks mate!

I also debugged the problem with DebugView++ and the debug version of dgVoodoo 2.55.3

It (sometimes) reports the (game) error

C:\Dev\SourceSafe\gods98_dx6\gods98\src\Files.c(330) : Error in call to File_Open

(Though this might just be the game trying to load a sound file for the item)

But the problems start after the message.

D3D11: Removing Device

Then the following warning is spammed:

[dgVoodoo] WARNING: DirectDrawSurface (09E21B40)::Lock: Failed, HRESULT: DDERR_GENERIC

From that point onwards, all rendering stops (the game looks frozen). However, the game continues to run and you can still perform actions in the game (indicated by the sounds). The game remains fully operational aside from not showing anything.

There are still a lot of DirectDraw calls that do seem to succeed (don't show signs of failing), but these are not reported as dgVoodoo messages.

As Cyrem stated, this error did not occur under version 2.53
(After a while of gameplay (~15 minutes) I do get this same problem. This might have a different cause however)