VOGONS


dgVoodoo 2 for DirectX 11

Topic actions

  • This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

Reply 3760 of 3952, by Cyrem

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote:
Cyrem wrote:

Excellent, looking forward to trying the next version. The lighting issues aren't as much an issue since 2.54... there are a few oddities here and there, I'll post them some other time. Main thing was just getting the game working again on nVidia. 😀

You can already test it with WIP50:
https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f= ... 60#p696238

Tested it and it no-longer freezes! perfect.... but then found another issue that I'm hoping you could test.

I was just playing the level "Driller Night!" upon discovering a new cavern after drilling northward the game camera seems to fly go way out of bounds and the map goes black. Everything else works though.

This is what happens after opening a new cavern: prntscr.com/kuaq7y

Thanks mate!

Reply 3761 of 3952, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds mouse issues was fixed in the latest dgVoodoo2 version. Still crashes when changing resolution, but not sure that is dgVoodoo2's fault (other wrappers don't like it either). Figured out the crash in options menu was because I only gave it one supported resolution. As long as dgVoodoo2 enumerates at least two supported resolutions it will work fine. Which is a bit weird, since at the time the game was released it was possible someone would have a computer that only supported 640x480. Very unlikely, but possible.

Reply 3765 of 3952, by Cyrem

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Cyrem wrote:
Tested it and it no-longer freezes! perfect.... but then found another issue that I'm hoping you could test. […]
Show full quote

Tested it and it no-longer freezes! perfect.... but then found another issue that I'm hoping you could test.

I was just playing the level "Driller Night!" upon discovering a new cavern after drilling northward the game camera seems to fly go way out of bounds and the map goes black. Everything else works though.

This is what happens after opening a new cavern: prntscr.com/kuaq7y

Thanks mate!

Just an update on this, after switching the video card to the 5700 Ultra, this stopped. Even after switching it back to dg's Virtual 3D card it didn't come back. Not sure whats going on, but if it happens again will let you know.

Reply 3766 of 3952, by FANTOMAS

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

0 problem with Hydro Thunder (2001)...........frame rate seems limited to 30.
Dgvoodoo 2.55 @1600x1200 @MSAAX8 enhanced with 8x Sparse Grid Supersampling (nvidia inspector)

Config : ASUS PRIME H270 PRO / CORE i7-7700/ 16 GB DDR2400 / MSI GTX1060 6GT OCV1 @391.01/ Moniteur @1080p ...WINDOWS 10 64 bits V1803 @17134.285

Attachments

  • 04.jpg
    Filename
    04.jpg
    File size
    315.15 KiB
    Views
    1141 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 03.jpg
    Filename
    03.jpg
    File size
    337.7 KiB
    Views
    1141 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 02.jpg
    Filename
    02.jpg
    File size
    288.74 KiB
    Views
    1141 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 01.jpg
    Filename
    01.jpg
    File size
    375.81 KiB
    Views
    1141 views
    File comment
    01
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3767 of 3952, by RJ8

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Hello guys,

Aquanox 1 has been reported working here with DGVoodoo2 and Google was no help at all, so i post this here.

The game works without DGVoodoo2 , tested with WIN7/64 GTX970,
but when running with DGVoodoo2 it crashes with the following error:

D3DUtil::BuildAdpatorInfoArray() num of display modes overflow

any idea what i can do about that ?

UPDATE: Ive just tried Aquanox 2 with the same error on DGVOODOO2 .

RJ

VorpXGames on Twitter

Reply 3769 of 3952, by RJ8

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

@lowenz - I cant confirm that, the cover sais DX8 and when throwing a corrupt DX9 dll into the game folder the game does not crash. I also tried enbs D3D8to9 wrapper. The game crashes with another error which confimes that a its DX8. Not DX9. Thanks though for answering.
I wonder how the other folks got it to work with DGVoodoo2.

VorpXGames on Twitter

Reply 3770 of 3952, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Aquanox 2 is D3D9:

AN2 2018-09-19 17-38-17-98.jpg
Filename
AN2 2018-09-19 17-38-17-98.jpg
File size
107.27 KiB
Views
1052 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Aquanox isn't and works with dgVoodoo2, but since dgVoodoo2 adds some extra resolutions (and maybe orders them differently than Windows?) then it crashes because as the error message says: too many resolutions. To fix either create a dgVoodoo.conf in the game directory (by clicking "Add" in dgVoodooCpl.exe) or edit the global one (in %appdata\dgVoodoo) and find this section:

DefaultEnumeratedResolutions = all
ExtraEnumeratedResolutions =

Set DefaultEnumeratedResolutions to "none" and add your the resolutions you want comma seperated to ExtraEnumeratedResolutiom. For example:

DefaultEnumeratedResolutions = none
ExtraEnumeratedResolutions = 640x480,1600x1200

Aqua 2018-09-19 17-42-48-21.jpg
Filename
Aqua 2018-09-19 17-42-48-21.jpg
File size
67.24 KiB
Views
1052 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3771 of 3952, by RJ8

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

@ZellSF - THAT was helpfull ! Thank you so much.

I finally found out the following that might be interesting.
At least some retail (boxed) versions of AQ2 are DX8 , using the same engine as AQ1.
Ive got them both to work with DGVoodoo2 now after making the conf settings you have described.

There is a patch that updates AQ2 to DX9, probably download- versions are patched to DX9 already.

Thanks again !

RJ

VorpXGames on Twitter

Reply 3772 of 3952, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
RJ8 wrote:

@lowenz - I cant confirm that, the cover sais DX8 and when throwing a corrupt DX9 dll into the game folder the game does not crash.

A tip for such cases: you can always use the spec-release versions of dgVoodoo to see if any of its components is touched by the game. 😉

Reply 3774 of 3952, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Ghost Temple has issues (textures?):

gtx 2018-09-22 16-14-31-52.jpg
Filename
gtx 2018-09-22 16-14-31-52.jpg
File size
89.6 KiB
Views
929 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Natively is fine:

Clipboard01.jpg
Filename
Clipboard01.jpg
File size
89.14 KiB
Views
929 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

One of the few games that need MSD3DDeviceNames = true

Edit: Apparently there's an English demo:
https://www.gamepressure.com/download.asp?ID=1433
But I can't find any evidence the game was actually released in English.

Last edited by ZellSF on 2018-09-23, 10:53. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 3775 of 3952, by UCyborg

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I was messing with the old WON version (1.1.1.0) of Half-Life recently. Direct3D renderer works in windowed mode, but craps out in fullscreen since dgVoodoo requires SetCooperativeLevel to be called with valid (non-null) hWnd. Why is that even allowed natively?

Arthur Schopenhauer wrote:

A man can be himself only so long as he is alone; and if he does not love solitude, he will not love freedom; for it is only when he is alone that he is really free.

Reply 3776 of 3952, by Peixoto

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
UCyborg wrote:

I was messing with the old WON version (1.1.1.0) of Half-Life recently. Direct3D renderer works in windowed mode, but craps out in fullscreen since dgVoodoo requires SetCooperativeLevel to be called with valid (non-null) hWnd. Why is that even allowed natively?

Fullscreen mode also requires a valid window handle on MS DirectDraw. A null handle is only valid on windowed mode. Half-Life is not working for another reazon

Reply 3777 of 3952, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Peixoto wrote:

Fullscreen mode also requires a valid window handle on MS DirectDraw.

MS DDraw only requires valid wnd handle for exclusive cooperative level. A true fullscreen flipping chain can only be created in exclusive mode.
But both DDraw::SetDisplayMode and fake-fullscreen with the blitting model can be implemented in normal cooperative level with a NULL window.

Reply 3779 of 3952, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Asterix and Obelix Take on Caesar black screens (audio and input is responsive). Works natively. Terrible game though. If you want to try it, the installer won't work and you need to copy the game directory to HDD and run the game like "asterix.exe 0 HDD".