VOGONS


WIP versions

Topic actions

  • This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

Reply 640 of 1111, by FlyingSlig

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Just tested the latest WIP build on Scarface: The World is Yours, looks like the "polygon hell" bug is fixed! 😁

Before:

Scarface 2018.11.21 - 00.47.53.03.mp4_snapshot_00.04_[2018.11.21_00.58.10].png
Filename
Scarface 2018.11.21 - 00.47.53.03.mp4_snapshot_00.04_[2018.11.21_00.58.10].png
File size
935.03 KiB
Views
1007 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

After:

Scarface 2018.11.21 - 00.31.11.02.mp4_snapshot_00.20_[2018.11.21_00.58.46].png
Filename
Scarface 2018.11.21 - 00.31.11.02.mp4_snapshot_00.20_[2018.11.21_00.58.46].png
File size
1.97 MiB
Views
1007 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 641 of 1111, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I tested Sins of a Solar Empire on a different computer and it did not have the same resolution enumeration issue. I'm thinking this is another issue with too many resolutions/refresh rates provided by my primary system. That still leaves some confusing questions, but I'll experiment a bit more.

Caesar IV (demo) boots here, so it was crashing because of that issue. I need to find the full retail version to test the game though. The demo has issues rendering some 2D assets in the menus with dgVoodoo, but I can't make it go ingame, even natively.

F.E.A.R has nasty framerate drops on this computer too, which rules out one of my theories about what's causing that...

Star Wars: Empire at War
Seems to run nicely though I can't comment on performance with this computer. Changing resolution lead to crashes so I didn't want to experiment with resolution forcing. I'm guessing it would work nicely though as you can disable hardware mouse in this game. Pointless though.

sweaw 2018-11-21 17-37-04-47.jpg
Filename
sweaw 2018-11-21 17-37-04-47.jpg
File size
697.97 KiB
Views
863 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 642 of 1111, by Expack3

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
ZellSF wrote:

I tested Sins of a Solar Empire on a different computer and it did not have the same resolution enumeration issue. I'm thinking this is another issue with too many resolutions/refresh rates provided by my primary system. That still leaves some confusing questions, but I'll experiment a bit more.

Have you tried using the config file's

DefaultEnumeratedResolutions

,

ExtraEnumeratedResolutions

, or

EnumeratedResolutionBitdepths

fields? Since this DX we're talking about, trying those may help.

Reply 643 of 1111, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I tried and had no success with it, but as I wrote I have to experiment a bit more.

Beyond Good & Evil (demo)
Settings application doesn't seem to work, so here's the menu in high-res 320x200 (I'm pretty shocked the game supports a so low resolution):

BGE 2018-11-21 18-45-35-44.png
Filename
BGE 2018-11-21 18-45-35-44.png
File size
37.99 KiB
Views
843 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Yeah... It's not supposed to look like that. Using the demo's /singlestream compatiblity parameter:

BGE 2018-11-21 18-46-25-49.png
Filename
BGE 2018-11-21 18-46-25-49.png
File size
83.78 KiB
Views
843 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

New game will just display one frame then crash. I got the game running at 640x480 and it still crashed so it's not that, plus it runs natively.

Reply 644 of 1111, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Ghost Pirates of Vooju Island
Windowed mode works:

main 2018-11-21 19-19-51-82.jpg
Filename
main 2018-11-21 19-19-51-82.jpg
File size
114.45 KiB
Views
828 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Fullscreen does not:

Clipboard01.png
Filename
Clipboard01.png
File size
12.6 KiB
Views
828 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

D3D9, but requires ddraw.dll.

Reply 645 of 1111, by Ithilin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

F.E.A.R has a notorious 'Dinput8' bug that can be fixed by restricting keyboard and mouse through a wrapper DLL.

Recently, I created an open source version (there exists an alternative) that works with the FEAR and its expansions, so if this is the issue here rather than Dege's new D3D9 implementation, this could help sort out what is and what is not causing FPS drops.

https://github.com/nullannos/dinput8-wrapper-fps-fix

For me, using Dege's DLL and my Dinput8 wrapper, the game seems to play great.

Reply 646 of 1111, by syhlif32

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thanks for the great work. Really impressive.
Can't get nether Gtr2 not GT Legends to work in Dx9 despite they are Sm 2.0. They do have a incomplete set of dx8 shaders and they work with wip53 d3d9.dll
Thanks again this really gives new life to older games.

Reply 647 of 1111, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Ithilin wrote:
F.E.A.R has a notorious 'Dinput8' bug that can be fixed by restricting keyboard and mouse through a wrapper DLL. […]
Show full quote

F.E.A.R has a notorious 'Dinput8' bug that can be fixed by restricting keyboard and mouse through a wrapper DLL.

Recently, I created an open source version (there exists an alternative) that works with the FEAR and its expansions, so if this is the issue here rather than Dege's new D3D9 implementation, this could help sort out what is and what is not causing FPS drops.

https://github.com/nullannos/dinput8-wrapper-fps-fix

For me, using Dege's DLL and my Dinput8 wrapper, the game seems to play great.

I was comparing dgVoodoo's performance to native, so it's not that (I'm aware of FEAR's issues with certain input devices). It seems to be specifically to be the first time doing new stuff, like first time turning the flash light on, first time an explosion happens...

Reply 649 of 1111, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ZellSF wrote:

I was comparing dgVoodoo's performance to native, so it's not that (I'm aware of FEAR's issues with certain input devices). It seems to be specifically to be the first time doing new stuff, like first time turning the flash light on, first time an explosion happens...

Then it's the same good old shader creating/prewarming problem (like in Splinter Cell when you first switch to night vision for example). Affects other games too. I'm planning to do optimizations for that but first I'm focusing on bugfixing and correct rendering.
In fact, WIP53 was a new development period, I had to refactor a lot of code for supporting SM2.x and tested only the games that I already had. +FEAR and Reservoir Dogs 😀
(BTW, I didn't measured Reservoir's FPS, it just seemed to be ok for me. Were it more than 20 fps back when it came out? Or it's just some timing problem on modern systems… It may sounds stupid but a fresh Windows restart may worth a try. Games using timeGetTime for their timing can suffer fps drops if Windows is been running for more days. XG-2 was one of them for example.)
And indeed, something is wrong with GF5700 Ultra (as for SM2.x). Don't use it for the time being.

stranno wrote:

Next SM3.0 : One small step for you, a big feature to us.

Yeah, would be nice. The real jump as for new features is between SM 1 and 2, not between 2 and 3 but still, SM3 provides some features that I don't want to deal with for the time being.

lowenz wrote:

Far Cry working great with SM2 and Bumpmapping Quality @3

Yes, it seems to be ok for me too. Except for the shadows: I still get the same. I can't compare to the native because I'm on the official patch 1.4 so reflections renders incorrectly.

Reply 650 of 1111, by roshiahito

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

* ps.2.sw - not supported (designed for sw execution, supported only by the reference D3D9 rasterizer, development purposes)
* vs.2.sw - not supported (designed only for sw execution, development purposes)

I assume this is related to Sims 2? Not sure if this can apply to dgvoodoo, but maybe you could take a look at what Wine does in WineD3D to make the game run:
https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39057
https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8051
I am not an expert, but I believe it just passes on what is supposed to be processed through software to hardware? It's a dirty hack, but hey it works!

Reply 651 of 1111, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Sims2 doesn't yet work with dgVoodoo. I don't yet know the solution.
This game is interesting: it does all its vertex processing through D3D9 (even for rendering its quads for movie playback), I mean it forces sw execution of its vertex shaders and then renders its polygons in sw, on its own. At least, that's what I get when run the game. 😀
Most of the old games do quite the opposite: do their own vertex calcs on their own and renders the polygons through D3D.

Reply 653 of 1111, by roshiahito

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Sims 3 (supports SM 2.0) seems to launch, but nothing except cursor renders.
Attaching debug log.
You can use this apitrace to reproduce the issue without having to install the game:
https://yadi.sk/d/d9i2oJ163YQ9Um

Attachments

  • Filename
    sims3.log
    File size
    62.1 KiB
    Downloads
    9 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 654 of 1111, by lowenz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Dege wrote:

Yes, it seems to be ok for me too. Except for the shadows: I still get the same. I can't compare to the native because I'm on the official patch 1.4 so reflections renders incorrectly.

Shadows are MORE rich (i got the shadow of a palm on the hut roof when exiting the warehouse@start) now BUT not the same level of SM3 path!

Reply 655 of 1111, by RJ8

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Shader 2.X - PHANTASTIC NEWS !

- Overlord - Raising Hell
- Overlord 2

both games crashing, the WIP53 Debug doesnt show any errors but the following lines

[3112] Error -
[3112] RtlWerpReportException failed with status code :-1073741823. Will try to launch the process directly
[3112]
[844]
[844] APISVR_INFO : 2
[844]
[844] APISVR_INFO : 2
[3112] [dgVoodoo] WARNING: Leaked D3D9 objects detected at unloading D3D9 (probably process exit)!

i assume the copy protection makes the trouble.

VorpXGames on Twitter

Reply 657 of 1111, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (demo)
Now with less reading:

DemoGame 2018-11-21 22-37-44-96.jpg
Filename
DemoGame 2018-11-21 22-37-44-96.jpg
File size
118.86 KiB
Views
767 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Yeah none of the text renders correctly. 3D rendering looks sort of OK, but there are some issues I need to get comparison screenshots later:

DemoGame 2018-11-21 22-38-07-55.jpg
Filename
DemoGame 2018-11-21 22-38-07-55.jpg
File size
311.05 KiB
Views
767 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Will crash at start if antialiasing is set to on in in-game settings.

The Settlers II: 10th Anniversary (demo)
Shader quality high:

S2DNG 2018-11-21 22-52-00-30.jpg
Filename
S2DNG 2018-11-21 22-52-00-30.jpg
File size
417.04 KiB
Views
767 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Obviously wrong, but shader quality low looks pretty good:

S2DNG 2018-11-21 22-52-15-27.jpg
Filename
S2DNG 2018-11-21 22-52-15-27.jpg
File size
405.71 KiB
Views
767 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Unfortunately, resolution forcing creates too many mouse issues. With or without hardware mouse enabled.

Reply 658 of 1111, by CoolGamer

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
ZellSF wrote:
I tried and had no success with it, but as I wrote I have to experiment a bit more. […]
Show full quote

I tried and had no success with it, but as I wrote I have to experiment a bit more.

Beyond Good & Evil (demo)
Settings application doesn't seem to work, so here's the menu in high-res 320x200 (I'm pretty shocked the game supports a so low resolution):

BGE 2018-11-21 18-45-35-44.png

Yeah... It's not supposed to look like that. Using the demo's /singlestream compatiblity parameter:

BGE 2018-11-21 18-46-25-49.png

New game will just display one frame then crash. I got the game running at 640x480 and it still crashed so it's not that, plus it runs natively.

I tested Beyond Good & Evil full version GOG (GOG version 2.1.0.9) and the full version does NOT work via dgVoodoo WIP53 either. SettingsApplication.exe also does NOT work (crashes) via dgVoodoo WIP53.

Beyond Good & Evil does have some compatibility problems and flickering on modern systems when some options (such as Hardware vertex processing) are enabled. Currently the only solution is to turn off HW vertex processing.

It would be nice to have this game running via dgVoodoo to eliminate all compatibility issues. A long time ago, when I first requested DX9 support in dgVoodoo, Beyond Good & Evil was the first DX9 game that I mentioned that had compatibility issues on modern systems.

Reply 659 of 1111, by batterymandark

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
syhlif32 wrote:

Thanks for the great work. Really impressive.
Can't get nether Gtr2 not GT Legends to work in Dx9 despite they are Sm 2.0. They do have a incomplete set of dx8 shaders and they work with wip53 d3d9.dll
Thanks again this really gives new life to older games.

GTR2 works fine on my side , the steam version, but i run the virtual 3d card on 1024 mb vram.
Lower ram causes the game to randomly crash or lag , and make sure you re-run config after dropping the d3d9 file inside the game folder, but I guess you already did.