WIP versions

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: WIP versions

Postby Firtasik » 2017-11-30 @ 11:30

RC Cars is working again. :cool:
11 1 111 11 1 1 1 1 1 11 1 1 111 1 111 1 1 1 1 111
User avatar
Firtasik
Member
 
Posts: 380
Joined: 2013-7-21 @ 19:07

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-11-30 @ 13:17

Raven Shield still has a problem (the old problem) loading a level in fullscreen mode :(
Last edited by lowenz on 2017-11-30 @ 14:24, edited 1 time in total.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 815
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-11-30 @ 14:22

lowenz wrote:Raven Shied still has a problem (the old problem) loading a level in fullscreen mode :(

And about RS, dege, take a look at this strange surface problem (simply rotating the viewport with the mouse):

Image

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 815
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2017-11-30 @ 15:57

Using the new DisableDefaultResolutions to tell Lands of Lore II the only supported resolution on my system is 640x400 is interesting. It just crashes whenever the Direct3D renderer is initialized. Which sort of confirms my suspicions that 640x400 wasn't implemented for the Direct3D renderer. Despite it being the native resolution of the game. Can you think of any reason that would be the case?

At any rate, arbitrary resolution support now? What if we run at 1920x1700 centered on a 1920x1440 display?:
LOLG95_2017_11_30_16_05_07_348.jpg
There we're running at the correct aspect ratio. A bit of a hack but when the game isn't actually able to run at its own native resolution by itself...

You might have noticed the rendering errors I wrote about for this game earlier are not present. The seams at the top of the cave below the vegetation look correct now (but wrong when set to GeForce). No clue if something changed or I just had the wrong GPU set last time I tested it. There are still ugly seams in 3D rendering present in a lot of places though, but now it looks fairly identical to DXGL. Need to test it against an emulated Voodoo card (I'm waiting to re-setup an emulated Windows 95 environment until PCem v13).


Also tried Command & Conquer 95 again. The maximum integer scaling I could do without running into scaling artifacts was 2x:
C&C95_2017_11_30_15_11_09_684.jpg
I tried telling dgVoodoo2 to render at 5x/6x and downscale, but for some reason I got more scaling errors doing this than I get with Nvidia DSR downscaling from the same resolution, but dgVoodoo2 is also sharper so I guess it makes sense. Wish I had a 5K display for these games :-S.

The game actually runs at correct speed with vsync disabled now and in windowed mode. I'm sure I tried both those before... In my defense changing between sync modes is horribly buggy with g-sync monitors. Have you thought more about borderless window mode?


Army Men RTS running natively at 2560x1440:
amrts 2017-11-30 16-45-32-36.jpg
Not sure I see the point since I much rather would have the game render at 1280x720 and dgVoodoo2 force resolution to 2560x1440 so I get a larger UI size, but at least it's possible now. Should also be possible for Dark Reign 2 (though you would have to figure out the address to patch out the resolution limit yourself). This wasn't possible without the DisableDefaultResolutions feature.


RIM: Battle Planets still has no 3D rendering. Nelson Piquet's Gran Prix Evolution still complains about some error in D3D rendering. Mech Commander 2 still broken with newer Windows 10 Nvidia drivers.. Revenant now works great, but it's incompatible with AA and forced rendering resolution.
Last edited by ZellSF on 2017-12-01 @ 01:36, edited 2 times in total.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-11-30 @ 17:16

Unreal 227i DDraw 1920x1080 (all maxed out):

*dgVoodoo 2 wrapper WIP39: 269 FPS
*Narzoul "light" wrapper / passthrough: 375 FPS

Good! :)
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 815
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2017-11-30 @ 17:20

Massive Assault - Phantom Renaissance does not crash when my monitor refresh rate is set to 120hz if enable DisableDefaultResolutions in dgVoodoo.conf, so that was definitely a resolution enumeration issue.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby emperorsfist » 2017-11-30 @ 17:29

The fog in The Chosen: Well of Souls indeed works! Thank you very much!
User avatar
emperorsfist
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2017-11-23 @ 16:46

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2017-12-01 @ 14:28

Not that you've said you fixed any of them, but the following are still broken:

End of Twilight
Europa 1400: The Guild
Hogs of War
Paradise Cracked
Stratosphere
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby DerTodIstEinDandy » 2017-12-02 @ 17:47

Thanks for the fixes for Blade of Darkness! It works pretty much flawless now.
There's one fast video memory access crash I managed to catch consistently, but it only happens when 800x600 mode is selected in the game's own launcher, any other resolution works fine, forcing resolution in the wrapper doesn't seem to cause any trouble as well.

Is there a possibility to add custom fps cap feature by the way? I'm currently using RivaTuner for that purpose, but having this setting in the wrapper itself would be quite handy.
DerTodIstEinDandy
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-5-09 @ 20:50

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-12-02 @ 19:53

The feature is ALREADY present (virtual Vsync) but not working :p
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 815
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby DerTodIstEinDandy » 2017-12-03 @ 11:47

lowenz wrote:The feature is ALREADY present (virtual Vsync) but not working :p


That's interesting. Is it going to be usable with force real vsync option? Are these two settings going to be independent?
DerTodIstEinDandy
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-5-09 @ 20:50

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2017-12-03 @ 21:22

Not WIP related but I tried Lands of Lore II in PCem and got the same glitches. So Lands of Lore II's Direct3D renderer is just sort of bad.

Your options are dealing with the Windows version (seams in 3D rendering edges, random bugs introduced by modern CPUs), the DOS version (have to deal with messy DOSBox/Glide wrapper integration, wonky performance) or some other emulator that can emulate a Voodoo card (but then you'll be limited to 640x400 and 16-bit color).

If you select ATI Radeon as graphic card you also get some other new glitches, but they're similar to DXGL. I'm starting to think this is just another result of a flawed Direct3D renderer:
LOLG95 2017-12-03 22-07-10-34.jpg
While setting dgVoodoo2 to GeForce gets rid of that glitch, it's not so nice with other things. GeForce:
LOLG95 2017-12-03 22-14-01-09.jpg
Radeon:
LOLG95 2017-12-03 22-06-19-14.jpg
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2017-12-04 @ 17:35

I didn't notice the MSD3DDeviceNames option earlier. Hundred Swords actually works with this option and resolution forcing works (and looks pretty great) too:
H_SWORDS 2017-12-04 18-18-04-10.jpg
Also don't know if you keep a list of problem games, but Shadow Watch was fixed in 2.53 (broken text in 2.52).

Micro Machines V3 no longer hard freezes if I tell dgVoodoo2 to only allow it to enumerate 640x480, sadly it will just crash now. See attached log. Any chance you can look at this? I can't find any way to get this playable with hardware acceleration on a modern PC at all. I would recommend getting a ripped version, the installer on the CD doesn't work well on 64-bit OSes.

RIM - Battle Planets spams this:
Code: Select all
[6544] [dgVoodoo] ERROR: Direct3DVertexBuffer (25796478)::ProcessVertices: Invalid parameters.
And Grand Prix Evolution's log is pretty short:
Code: Select all
00000001   0.00000000   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: Reading config from file D:\GPe\dgVoodoo.conf.   
00000002   0.00013670   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: INI file based version of config file is successfully read.   
00000003   0.00018304   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: DDraw is successfully loaded: D:\GPe\DDRAW.DLL   
00000004   0.00021939   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: Reading config from file D:\GPe\dgVoodoo.conf.   
00000005   0.00032410   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: INI file based version of config file is successfully read.   
00000006   0.00209741   [6308] [dgVoodoo] ERROR: DirectDrawEnumerateA: Enumerating primary device has failed.
Attachments
mmv3.LOG
(6.59 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby Myloch » 2017-12-05 @ 13:50

ABout the debug version, does it Always save a log file for a game even when no errors are detected? Because I cannot find a log file or I don't know where it saves it. I put the 3 ms dlls and dgvoodoo.conf file in the game directory.
"Gamer & collector for passion, I firmly believe in the preservation and the diffusion of old/rare software, against all personal egoisms"
User avatar
Myloch
Member
 
Posts: 391
Joined: 2007-4-18 @ 22:13

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2017-12-05 @ 13:51

Myloch wrote:ABout the debug version, does it Always save a log file for a game even when no errors are detected? Because I cannot find a log file or I don't know where it saves it. I put the 3 ms dlls and dgvoodoo.conf file in the game directory.

You need to run DebugView (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysint ... /debugview) while running the application you want to log messages for.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2017-12-06 @ 19:07

Another game that needs MSD3DDeviceNames, Gunlok works perfectly with it. Resolution forcing too (has high resolution, but text does not scale):
Gunlok 2017-12-06 19-16-16-29.jpg
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 935
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2017-12-07 @ 09:49

lowenz wrote:Raven Shied still has a problem (the old problem) loading a level in fullscreen mode :(
And about RS, dege, take a look at this strange surface problem (simply rotating the viewport with the mouse):


Didn't yet re-try the game but what is this surface problem?

lowenz wrote:About Blade Of Darkness.....did you tackle the intro video codec issue?

No, and it's not really a codec problem. If this game is launched in fullscreen then it gets into a deadlock through dgVoodoo when exiting from the movie cutscene.
The video playback system does the screen mode switching and some other tasks on different threads which leads to the deadlock.
Unfortunately handling the rendering window in DXGI isn't compatible with old DX/DDraw, that's why it happens, and currently no idea how to resolve such situations.

ZellSF wrote:Not that you've said you fixed any of them, but the following are still broken:

End of Twilight
Europa 1400: The Guild
Hogs of War
Paradise Cracked
Stratosphere

Yes, they aren't fixed yet.

DerTodIstEinDandy wrote:
lowenz wrote:The feature is ALREADY present (virtual Vsync) but not working :p


That's interesting. Is it going to be usable with force real vsync option? Are these two settings going to be independent?

FPS capping can be achieved by two ways with dgVoodoo:
- either force v-sync to cap it to the monitor refresh rate
- and/or force a custom refresh rate in resolution combo box in the CPL - this one isn't working for DirectX. Glide only. :D

ZellSF wrote:I didn't notice the MSD3DDeviceNames option earlier. Hundred Swords actually works with this option and resolution forcing works (and looks pretty great) too:
H_SWORDS 2017-12-04 18-18-04-10.jpg
Also don't know if you keep a list of problem games, but Shadow Watch was fixed in 2.53 (broken text in 2.52).

Micro Machines V3 no longer hard freezes if I tell dgVoodoo2 to only allow it to enumerate 640x480, sadly it will just crash now. See attached log. Any chance you can look at this? I can't find any way to get this playable with hardware acceleration on a modern PC at all. I would recommend getting a ripped version, the installer on the CD doesn't work well on 64-bit OSes.

RIM - Battle Planets spams this:
Code: Select all
[6544] [dgVoodoo] ERROR: Direct3DVertexBuffer (25796478)::ProcessVertices: Invalid parameters.
And Grand Prix Evolution's log is pretty short:
Code: Select all
00000001   0.00000000   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: Reading config from file D:\GPe\dgVoodoo.conf.   
00000002   0.00013670   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: INI file based version of config file is successfully read.   
00000003   0.00018304   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: DDraw is successfully loaded: D:\GPe\DDRAW.DLL   
00000004   0.00021939   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: Reading config from file D:\GPe\dgVoodoo.conf.   
00000005   0.00032410   [6308] [dgVoodoo] INFO: INI file based version of config file is successfully read.   
00000006   0.00209741   [6308] [dgVoodoo] ERROR: DirectDrawEnumerateA: Enumerating primary device has failed.

Good catch, thanks!!
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2017-12-07 @ 09:53

ZellSF wrote:Not WIP related but I tried Lands of Lore II in PCem and got the same glitches. So Lands of Lore II's Direct3D renderer is just sort of bad.

Your options are dealing with the Windows version (seams in 3D rendering edges, random bugs introduced by modern CPUs), the DOS version (have to deal with messy DOSBox/Glide wrapper integration, wonky performance) or some other emulator that can emulate a Voodoo card (but then you'll be limited to 640x400 and 16-bit color).

If you select ATI Radeon as graphic card you also get some other new glitches, but they're similar to DXGL. I'm starting to think this is just another result of a flawed Direct3D renderer:
LOLG95 2017-12-03 22-07-10-34.jpg
While setting dgVoodoo2 to GeForce gets rid of that glitch, it's not so nice with other things. GeForce:
LOLG95 2017-12-03 22-14-01-09.jpg
Radeon:
LOLG95 2017-12-03 22-06-19-14.jpg


As for the appearance, the only difference between GF4 and ATI8500 should be the colorkeying. GF4 cuts more from the texture than ATI8500.

But I'll re-test this game on Win10 FCU as it seems to have some other problems as well, as WaltC said too.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1000
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-12-07 @ 10:38

Dege wrote:Didn't yet re-try the game but what is this surface problem?

Take a look to the screenshots I've posted.
Simply rotate the view with the mouse in the first mission and you'll see the terrain shading that totally changes.
Bumpmapping problem?
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 815
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-12-07 @ 11:03

.....or Z-fighting issues (oil puddles):

Image

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 815
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest