WIP versions

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: WIP versions

Postby Deffnator » 2018-9-18 @ 21:26

Dege, i did more tests with WCIV
The Win95 Patched version(DOS) version still has the same black screen menu flickering and resolution problems, But it works Flawlessly with Sol's DDhack with the -i command line activated(Direct Draw rendering uses this command line)

as for the GoG DvD version, HCI left the source code for DDRAW patch, it may be useful to fix said problems with DGvoodoo.
I have linked below the source of the patches used on the GOG release of WC4 DVD. These are, basically, modified versions of Gulikoza's DXMCI and Jari Komppa's DDHack, tweaked in order to make the two patches play along with each other. Some of the changes I introduced involved adding a few game specific DLL-patches, in order to directly interface with the EXE at points that were useful, such as hack subtitle text coordinates or accessing the game Bitmap objects directly.

These changes were hacked together in a bit of a time constraint at the time, so no effort was made in order to maintain compatibility with other games (and there are a few warnings in there that have no place to be there...). Still, it compiles and works fine for WC4DVD, as long as you patch the DLL reference DDRAW.DLL to DWRAP.DLL on the game EXE (this was done on the GOG EXE). The purpose of this change was to allow the DD wrapper and real DirectDraw to work side by side, therefore allowing DirectShow to work without further wrapping DirectDraw interfaces.

And here are the sources, i hope they are useful to the community!

Thanks go out to Gulikoza and Jari Komppa for the original patches!

hcl.solsector.net/wc4gogsrc.zip


Here's the original thread with the development, Mario deserves everything good in his life for this one :)
https://www.wcnews.com/chatzone/threads ... ess.26080/

EDIT:Tested the DvD version with D3DRM, it recognizes everything, but it thins the entire desktop resolution to 320x240
Deffnator
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2018-9-05 @ 01:03

Re: WIP versions Alone in The Dark The new nightmare and GTR

Postby batterymandark » 2018-9-19 @ 21:38

Hi Dege , as some may know, Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare, have white boxes glitches in-game
with or without dgvoodoo.
***check your PM for rest**

also did you get my added information about the dashboard issues in GTR fia racing.?

Video here that I made to show the different:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jr4iz_R ... p9QWN78m26
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-9-20 @ 10:41

Guys, thanks for the reports!
I only fixed RIM Battle Planets by this time because I've mainly been being busy working on the main branch (the next version).
For 2.55, I'm planning to release 2.55.4 with the recent fixes (including GTR racing if I find the bug) but I'm not sure if that version should be patched further beyond that.

Update: Indeed AITD4 has white textures, but it's an OpenGL game. :(
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1295
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Firtasik » 2018-9-20 @ 11:21

11 1 111 11 1 1 1 1 1 11 1 1 111 1 111 1 1 1 1 111
User avatar
Firtasik
Member
 
Posts: 419
Joined: 2013-7-21 @ 19:07

Re: WIP versions

Postby batterymandark » 2018-9-20 @ 13:42

Dege wrote:Guys, thanks for the reports!
I only fixed RIM Battle Planets by this time because I've mainly been being busy working on the main branch (the next version).
For 2.55, I'm planning to release 2.55.4 with the recent fixes (including GTR racing if I find the bug) but I'm not sure if that version should be patched further beyond that.

Update: Indeed AITD4 has white textures, but it's an OpenGL game. :(


about GTR you don't get the bug or you haven't figure it out yet?
Also sorry about the AITD4 , I didn't pay enough attention , since its only the intro video that are in DDRAW, but msi afterburner report opengl in game menu indeed.
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-9-21 @ 11:17

I gave GTR a go again but I couldn't reproduce the glitch. But I have a guess.
Could you plz try it out with the WARP renderer to see if it comes with that too?
I don't have an AMD card anymore but my guess is it's the same problem that appears with some other games like NOLF2 and PSOBB where text is rendered corrupted on AMD's.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1295
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby batterymandark » 2018-9-21 @ 15:06

Dege wrote:I gave GTR a go again but I couldn't reproduce the glitch. But I have a guess.
Could you plz try it out with the WARP renderer to see if it comes with that too?
I don't have an AMD card anymore but my guess is it's the same problem that appears with some other games like NOLF2 and PSOBB where text is rendered corrupted on AMD's.


I did tested it with my NV1080, and it gives the same black dashboard inside cockpit. Software Warp as well. all thou the game run in 5 fps in warp mode :-P

one way would be to test it in virtual machine , but a virtual machine that support dx10, since dgvoodoo require it minimum.
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: WIP versions

Postby kaiser77_1982 » 2018-9-21 @ 16:35

Hello Dege

I am a newbie in wrappers and I have just known your wrappers. I have a stupid question... you say that you wrap DirectX 1-7 and Direct3D 8.1 to D3D 10... what games do they fail in d3d 10?

Thanks
kaiser77_1982
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-8-30 @ 14:50

Re: WIP versions

Postby batterymandark » 2018-9-28 @ 20:10

batterymandark wrote: one way would be to test it in virtual machine , but a virtual machine that support dx10, since dgvoodoo require it minimum.


I did fire up vmware 15 free edition today, installed windows 7 x86, and tryed to launch the game,
i did run fine native in my guest os with full resolution, but it refuses too boot with dgvoodoo, even if i spesefic selected directX 10 and added D3DCompiler_43.dll in the game folder.
and i did run it with a clean dgvoodoo config file.

And as far as i understand VmWare 15 player support DirectX 10.1
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2018-9-28 @ 21:09

In Mortyr there's still this problem with mesh shading:

Image

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 992
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2018-9-28 @ 21:25

Interesting fact: using WARP mode dgVoodoo2 can render the first moments of the starting pre-recorded demoplay, with real GPUs (NVidia, Intel) this is impossible and you got a nice BLACK screen (for 1-2 seconds) :D

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 992
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-10-06 @ 19:30

I forgot to release 2.55.4 with the recent fixes. Now I did it.

@batterymandark: Unfortunately I couldn't reproduce the GTR FIA bug. For the time being, I don't know what the difference between my and your machine. So, let's fix this issue in the next version.

batterymandark wrote:And as far as i understand VmWare 15 player support DirectX 10.1

AFAIK VMWare doesn't support an optional DX10.1 feature that dgVoodoo needs (D3D11_FEATURE_D3D10_X_HARDWARE_OPTIONS).
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1295
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby batterymandark » 2018-10-07 @ 10:25

Dege wrote:I forgot to release 2.55.4 with the recent fixes. Now I did it.

@batterymandark: Unfortunately I couldn't reproduce the GTR FIA bug. For the time being, I don't know what the difference between my and your machine. So, let's fix this issue in the next version.

batterymandark wrote:And as far as i understand VmWare 15 player support DirectX 10.1

AFAIK VMWare doesn't support an optional DX10.1 feature that dgVoodoo needs (D3D11_FEATURE_D3D10_X_HARDWARE_OPTIONS).


Oh well, no biggie. i can allways test more options my-self, like testing the game on a laptop with and without dgvoodoo
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: WIP versions

Postby kaiser77_1982 » 2018-10-07 @ 10:28

Dege wrote:I forgot to release 2.55.4 with the recent fixes. Now I did it.

@batterymandark: Unfortunately I couldn't reproduce the GTR FIA bug. For the time being, I don't know what the difference between my and your machine. So, let's fix this issue in the next version.

batterymandark wrote:And as far as i understand VmWare 15 player support DirectX 10.1

AFAIK VMWare doesn't support an optional DX10.1 feature that dgVoodoo needs (D3D11_FEATURE_D3D10_X_HARDWARE_OPTIONS).


Hello Dege, I say you this here becuase I can't send PMs. I am writing a book about 3dfx, could I use the photos of games of your web in my book? Thanks
kaiser77_1982
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-8-30 @ 14:50

Re: WIP versions

Postby Deffnator » 2018-10-08 @ 22:07

Dege wrote:I forgot to release 2.55.4 with the recent fixes. Now I did it.

@batterymandark: Unfortunately I couldn't reproduce the GTR FIA bug. For the time being, I don't know what the difference between my and your machine. So, let's fix this issue in the next version.

batterymandark wrote:And as far as i understand VmWare 15 player support DirectX 10.1

AFAIK VMWare doesn't support an optional DX10.1 feature that dgVoodoo needs (D3D11_FEATURE_D3D10_X_HARDWARE_OPTIONS).


hello Dege, the black screens, flickering and resolution problems still persists on WCIV-95 and the DVD version with directx/legacy rendering from the GoG patch
https://www.wcnews.com/wcpedia/GOG_WC4_Video_Patch
http://hcl.solsector.net/wc4gogsrc.zip

also WC3 now has blue VGA mode skies if using the 3d hardware card option
Deffnator
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2018-9-05 @ 01:03

Re: WIP versions

Postby batterymandark » 2018-10-10 @ 15:44

Dege wrote:I forgot to release 2.55.4 with the recent fixes. Now I did it.

@batterymandark: Unfortunately I couldn't reproduce the GTR FIA bug. For the time being, I don't know what the difference between my and your machine. So, let's fix this issue in the next version.

batterymandark wrote:And as far as i understand VmWare 15 player support DirectX 10.1

AFAIK VMWare doesn't support an optional DX10.1 feature that dgVoodoo needs (D3D11_FEATURE_D3D10_X_HARDWARE_OPTIONS).


Dege, when you tested the game, did you run it in 16 bit color mode? so here is what I just discover.

1: when selecting 32 bit color in config , the cockpit dashboard texture looks like you see into a void, or skybox. moving the seat position the texture act like a blurry skybox.
2: when selecting 16 bit color in config, all textures render correct. the MOTEC display shows the text correct. Also the lotus dashboard have correct textures.
3. I think the mirrors are supposed too work, they just show a solid color. "Not virtual mirror but actual car mirrors"
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-10-16 @ 17:29

Altough I still didn't do much testing with D3D9, I share it:

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP51.zip
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP51_dbg.zip

=========================
WIP51:
=========================

Altough this is versioned as 2.55.5, it's compiled from the main dev branch (I was sluggard to raise version).
This version contains a lot of refactored code, so I might have broken things in spite of continuous testing.

- First version of D3D9 (shader model 1.x) is added (quite untested)
- Refactored code


I only tested D3D9 with:
- Far Cry (patched to 1.4)
- Splinter Cell 3 (patched to 1.05)
- Stalker (doesn't work, DllMain game)
- http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=9450
- http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=9424
- http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=10542
- http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=10742
- http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=10999
- http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=12071
- http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=11248
- http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=15092

Unfortunately I had to make a little patching for SC3 to use it with dgVoodoo (crashing when setting display mode). Needed things cannot be implemented on the wrapper side.
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/SplinterCell3_1.05_dgVoodoo_patch.zip
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1295
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-10-16 @ 18:33

Obvious question, but I see no way to check if a game needs shader model 2+, so I have games that have problems that I'm unsure if are of interest (they could rely on shader model 2+ features without telling me).

Is there a way to check? Should I report all D3D9 games with issues anyway?
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby UCyborg » 2018-10-16 @ 19:55

I don't know what The Suffering uses, but it crashes in D3D9.dll.

Edit: Should check the dbg version.

Edit2: Fullscreen crashes in D3D9.dll, there is a strange message about creating implicit swapchain with some strange resolution below 640x480, might have to do with the fact that it creates a really small window.

Windowed mode goes further, shows messages about created Direct3D9PixelShader9, then the engine bails out with an error message about initializing display, which happens when there are missing features AFAIK. Didn't see any error message on the dgVoodoo side.
UCyborg
Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 2015-9-04 @ 11:10

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-10-16 @ 22:01

Act of War: Direct Action
Just goes into a loop after opening FMVs (which do not work either).

AquaNox 2
D3DERR_INVALIDCALL (992)

Beyond Good & Evil
Game crashes after black screen, config program crashes silently.

Caesar IV (demo)
Unhandled exception: No valid devices were found.
Type: 汣獡⁳䵔汩㩬䔺杮湩㩥䐺䐳㨺潎慖楬䑤癥捩獥硅散瑰潩n洀[택肹�͠ၰ劘೧'
File: C:\TMill\Source\Engine\D3DDeviceManager.cpp
Function: TMill::Engine::D3D::DeviceManager::FindValidDeviceSettings
Line: 1354

Company of Heroes
The procedure entry point D3DPerf_SetMarker could not be located in the dynamic link library C:\Program Files (x86)\THQ\Company of Heroes\Spooge.dll

Earth 2160
An error has occurred while initializing Direct3D.
Insufficient graphic card properties or configuration / driver problems could be causing this.
Try running the game in safe mode (-safemode execution parameter).

F.E.A.R
Black screen. Game still runs. Log mentions shader version unsupported.

Ghost Pirates of Vooju Island
Crashes silently.

Halo
We have detected that one of the Halo PC files is missing or corrupted. We recommend removing and reinstalling the game. (shaders\fx.bin).

Pretty sure this requires shader model 2.0, though the log does not mention it.

Lego Star Wars
Black screen. Runs best with shader model 3.0, but should have a fallback but not sure if it's for 2.0 or 1.0.

Need for Speed Underground (demo)
Silent crash.

Neverwinter Nights 2
Could not find any compatible Direct3D
devices.

The application will now exit.

Paraworld
Freezes. Relatively short log with only one line other than reading config files:
[2708] [dgVoodoo] ERROR: Direct3DCreate9: Invalid SDK version parameter (80000020)
Last edited by ZellSF on 2018-10-16 @ 23:08, edited 4 times in total.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests