WIP versions

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-3-03 @ 21:21

Ah, DO NOT install in program files! Maybe the problem with the patching process is related to that.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby VicRattlehead » 2017-3-03 @ 22:14

My MW4 Vengeance install is in Program Files and I didn't have any issues patching it.

Maybe the game install is modified? Did the patch show any error messages? I used the MW4pr2.exe file from Microsoft's website to patch my game and it came with an .rtf file with a documentation of the possible errors that can occur with the patching process.
VicRattlehead
Newbie
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 2016-11-12 @ 08:08

Re: WIP versions

Postby Nucleoprotein » 2017-3-04 @ 22:57

Dege wrote:The CPL has this feature. If it finds a config file in its folder then adds the folder into the list along with selecting it, by default. :)
It was requested by VEG for his NFS3 patch.


I have tested this and yes it works but ONLY when path is present in dgVoodooSetupPaths.dat, can you make it to work without that ? I think this is a bug :P
Nucleoprotein
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2016-7-02 @ 20:53

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-3-05 @ 11:30

Is it really really NOT possible to implement in D3D8 the bilinear blit stretch or to force it in some tricky ways?
In Commandos 2 is such a nice feature to enable with resolution forcing! (see the screenshot below, 1440x1080, NO exe mod)

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby UCyborg » 2017-3-05 @ 23:52

Something to play with, DirectX 6.1 SDK samples. Not necessary to run the installer, extracting samples folder and setting the following string in registry to the path of samples\multimedia is enough:

Code: Select all
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\DirectX\DX6SDK Samples Path

With D3DRM Fly-FS sample for example. screen doesn't clear to black when view goes into the void.
UCyborg
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 2015-9-04 @ 11:10

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2017-3-09 @ 11:16

lowenz wrote:Is it really really NOT possible to implement in D3D8 the bilinear blit stretch or to force it in some tricky ways?
In Commandos 2 is such a nice feature to enable with resolution forcing! (see the screenshot below, 1440x1080, NO exe mod)

Image


Blitting is DDraw only (it's a 2D operation). In D3D8 all of the 2D hw-functionality is removed, except for a simple texture/memory copy.
When D3D8 came out, the Microsoft guys told the developers to replace their 2D-codes with using textures through the 3D hw when porting their stuffs.
So, bilinear blit stretch corresponds to bilinear texture filtering in D3D8.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 955
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-3-09 @ 15:37

So in Commandos 3 how we can achieve that smooth result for the HUD when the resolution is forced to 1440x1080? Forcing bilinear/trilinear in dgVoodoo2 or we must live with the actual grained HUD?
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Nucleoprotein » 2017-3-09 @ 20:38

@Dege
I think you have missed my post (viewtopic.php?p=567912#p567912)
Nucleoprotein
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2016-7-02 @ 20:53

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-3-10 @ 21:50

Perfect! Thanks! (for Commandos 3 and other D3D8 2D - interfaces - games)
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-3-12 @ 09:49

Commandos 3 1280x720->1920x1080 filtered (as Dege says :D ). The only problem is the presence of wrong shadows caused by the fact that the lighting system is tailored for a 4:3 frame (game-specific issue).
But it's a beauty :D

Image

So the bilinear filtering apply to HUD too, it's really awesome!
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2017-3-16 @ 08:10

Unfortunately I have a period again when there is too much on my plate. So, I'm going to share what I have now, soon, because development is going really slowly.
Recently I started with DX6 SDK samples and found more problem with them than I expected (issues with D3DRM is well known to me from various demo stuffs. But even with immediate mode samples I experienced problems).
At least, I already fixed some of them.

BTW, Guys, I'm going to move posts related to tech demos into a new thread.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 955
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Nucleoprotein » 2017-3-18 @ 18:20

@Dege
Do you plan to add dumping and overriding textures ?
Nucleoprotein
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2016-7-02 @ 20:53

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2017-3-19 @ 19:21

Nucleoprotein wrote:@Dege
Do you plan to add dumping and overriding textures ?


Well, some day, yes. Now there are a lot of other things to fix. :neutral:
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 955
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2017-3-19 @ 19:28

I share a new WIP:

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP32.zip

WIP32:

(I know I promised that I'd note any new development or fix right when it's done, but... again... I try it by heart)

- Control Panel
* Visual cosmetics
* New option 'Center app window' - when a game controlling the mouse input is being run in windowed mode then
it's a pain to move it's window into the screen, so I thought it's a valuable option (was a request too),
but it can conflict with the mouse input or the app itself
* Adding the folder of the CPL app automatically to the folder list if a valid config file can be found there

- Adding support for plain surface format A8L8 (DDraw) (Matrox G400 Tech Demo)
- Adding support for depth buffer format D24X4S4 (D3D8) for the Internal Virtual Card
(Matrox Parhelia Reef Tech Demo)
- Adding support for volume textures (D3D8), though with limited number of formats
(Matrox Parhelia Reef Tech Demo + DX8 SDK VolumeTexture sample + general)
- Fixing fog in D3D3 (Shadows of The Empire patch 1.1)
- Fixing some D3D6 bugs (or, let's say incompatible things), using immediate mode D3D6 SDK samples
(lighting + some other bugs)


Unfortunately I couldn't yet fix the MW4 Vengeance-bug. :(
I'm going to post into the Tech Demos topic about Matrox tech demos.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 955
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Nucleoprotein » 2017-3-19 @ 20:09

@Dege
Thanks for new WIP!

* Adding the folder of the CPL app automatically to the folder list if a valid config file can be found there

I have problem with this - path is added to ComboBox but not selected by default.
I'm testing without dgVoodoo.conf/dgVoodooSetupPaths.dat in %AppData%/dgVoodoo to simulate user environment in which those files does not exist (for HD patches/portable mode).
Nucleoprotein
Newbie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 2016-7-02 @ 20:53

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-3-20 @ 00:40

"This demo can only run on Matrox etc/etc/etc." message for Parhelia demo :|
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2017-3-20 @ 08:42

Nucleoprotein wrote:@Dege
Thanks for new WIP!

* Adding the folder of the CPL app automatically to the folder list if a valid config file can be found there

I have problem with this - path is added to ComboBox but not selected by default.
I'm testing without dgVoodoo.conf/dgVoodooSetupPaths.dat in %AppData%/dgVoodoo to simulate user environment in which those files does not exist (for HD patches/portable mode).


But it should be selected by default. I've just tested again and it's working for me.

lowenz wrote:"This demo can only run on Matrox etc/etc/etc." message for Parhelia demo :|

OK, now understand what the problems is: I didn't patched the demo to 1.1.
That may check for VendorID after all, will have a look at it.

Update: Yes, 1.1 requires Matrox vendor ID, even the max supported version of pixel shaders is checked against (1.3 required).
So, I added 'Matrox Parhelia-512' as a new card type.
Some correction on MSAA: if 'Use Fragment Anti-Aliasing 16x' is enabled in the demo config then the demo tries to init D3D8 with 16x MSAA which won't succeed, so the demo re-tries it with 4x MSAA instead.
If the option is disabled then there is no MSAA at all.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 955
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2017-3-20 @ 17:18

Happy&ready to test the new WIP32 when uploaded :D
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby daniel_u » 2017-3-20 @ 18:03

Dege wrote:I share a new WIP:

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP32.zip

WIP32:

(I know I promised that I'd note any new development or fix right when it's done, but... again... I try it by heart)

- Control Panel
* Visual cosmetics
* New option 'Center app window' - when a game controlling the mouse input is being run in windowed mode then
it's a pain to move it's window into the screen, so I thought it's a valuable option (was a request too),
but it can conflict with the mouse input or the app itself
* Adding the folder of the CPL app automatically to the folder list if a valid config file can be found there

- Adding support for plain surface format A8L8 (DDraw) (Matrox G400 Tech Demo)
- Adding support for depth buffer format D24X4S4 (D3D8) for the Internal Virtual Card
(Matrox Parhelia Reef Tech Demo)
- Adding support for volume textures (D3D8), though with limited number of formats
(Matrox Parhelia Reef Tech Demo + DX8 SDK VolumeTexture sample + general)
- Fixing fog in D3D3 (Shadows of The Empire patch 1.1)
- Fixing some D3D6 bugs (or, let's say incompatible things), using immediate mode D3D6 SDK samples
(lighting + some other bugs)


Unfortunately I couldn't yet fix the MW4 Vengeance-bug. :(
I'm going to post into the Tech Demos topic about Matrox tech demos.


Splinter Cell 1 & 2 alt tab/focus lost doesnt occur anymore. Cool.

SC 1:
-Shiny texture bug still there.
- Z-Fighting is present still

SC2:
- has the big plus sign/ cross sign appearing from time to time in the middle of the screen, still
- loss of detail when mouse move
- color of the light. Nothing changed.

You can see the issues in the main post of SC games thread.
User avatar
daniel_u
Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: 2015-1-11 @ 12:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2017-3-20 @ 18:14

OK, here is the updated WIP, 32.1: :)

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP32_1.zip
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 955
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest